Product Image
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Himalayan Salt Licks

Hilton Herbs
- Item #14870

Mini (1.63lbs), Small (2.2lbs), Medium (6.6lbs) or Block (4.4lbs, 2"x4"x8")

**Small and Medium include a rope. Mini is pre-drilled with a hole but does not come with a rope. 4.4lb Block does not come with a rope and fits in most standard salt block holders.

A 550 million year old source of minerals and trace elements for your horse or pony. Mined from the vast and ancient Himalayan mountains, transported down steep passes on the backs of Yaks, and providing the mountain people with one of their main sources of income, these salt licks must be the purest form of salt available.

The distinctive rose pink color comes from the salts’ high mineral content, such as iron, potassium and magnesium, which are all vital for maintaining health. Mass produced salt licks are produced using salt with minerals added in the manufacturing process. That is not the case with Himalayan Salt where the minerals are naturally found within the salt.

Himalayan rock salt licks are literally 'rock hard’, this means that horses and ponies are unable to bite chunks off the block, a problem that can occur with the softer ’pressed’ salt licks. These licks are also much more weather resistant, which means they can be safely left outside in the field for horse to 'self dose’. Our experience has shown that horses do prefer these to other salt licks. 

Click Here for Himalayan Salt in SmartPaks!

Learn more about Hilton Herbs

View our Mineral Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Himalayan Salt Licks is rated 4.845 out of 5 by 516.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going, going, gone I tried the small one and it was gone in two weeks. I now have ordered 3 med. one for each horse. They are licking it constantly.
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt lick I've been giving my horse these salt licks for a couple of years now. I get the larger size and hang it next to his feed tub. He happily licks it during meals and cribbing sessions. The large salt lick lasts about 5 - 6 months. Easy to hang. I rotate it every so often to even the wear out.
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two for One I added this salt lick to my order to qualify for free shipping, but it was a greatpurchase. Not only does it serve as a salt lick, it is also a stall toy that can occupy his time. My horse already has a huge salt block in his stall, but this stays cleaner since it is up out of the bedding.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Salt is salt..... My only disappointment is that it came with no rope. No big deal, can use baling twine, but it would have nice
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love, This Salt! My mare absolutely LOVES this salt. I had a different brand of Himalayan salt that I was using before but the place where I had been buying it from stopped carrying it. The barn owner where I'm boarding her put a mineral block out in the field - she was not impressed. Then, I saw this salt and ordered her one for her stall and she will just stand there, ears all floppy and eyes closing, licking it, just as happy as can be. If I could give this product six stars instead of five, I would.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This product is a nice treat! They arewell made and my horse really seemsTo like it besides giving himSupplements he needs.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! Excellent product, just as advertised. My horse loves his salt!
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse Doesn't Touch It My horse has never used his regular white salt block, so I thought I would try one of these. It's been in his stall for several months now, and he's completely uninterested. I've even tried putting carrots on top of it, thinking that if he licked it by accident, he might start using it. No luck. I gave it to a friend and am going to try something else. I gave it three stars not because of quality, but just to indicate that it's not a sure thing for all horses. And since my horse doesn't eat the regular blocks, either, it's probably him, not the salt block!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Salt Lick My horses like this salt better than the others I have tried.  Since giving them this they have increased their water consumption which I am happy about.  I have previously bought the big block elsewhere but I much prefer this one that comes pre-drilled and with a rope.  It hangs from a tree branch and works great.  I am a repeat customer for this product
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses prefer natural salts I started buying Himalayan salt blocks for my horses some years ago.  They were all over it like white on rice, and could not get enough of it initially.  Now, a few years later, they still like them, but are not so fast at consuming them.  I attribute this to them getting enough of the micronutrients to now be able to slow down on their consumption.I board my horses, so I don't always have control over what horse gets put into my horse's stall.  Every horse that gets put into my stalls just swarms all over this salt in preference to cheap pressed salt blocks, much to their owner's amazement.I really believe it's the superior mineral content.   I know that I use natural rock salt myself and can taste the difference between natural salts and processed salts with 'free-flowing' agents, etc., which now taste pretty bad to me in comparison.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse eats this salt up I don't know why, but my pony loves this salt block. I pay a little more to get it the square/fit in the holder size. It doesn't take long before she licks through it and it moves to her feed bin. Then she finishes it off from there. She will eat every inch of it, in no time. Hate that the block is more expensive for the amount, but oh well. Really, it's not that much money anyway.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the durability I bought this a month ago and i'm glad i did. My horse loves it.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting Product My horses loves these!  Long lasting, easy to hang.  One large (medium) size last me almost a year.   Everything SmartPak offers is top quality!! 
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! I suggest the larger size..I have this in his stall for the winter months. It keeps him busy and gives him the minerals he needs! You won't be diappointed!  Lisa Allen - Portmouth OH
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite salt lick My horse loves these salt licks.  He ignores other types.  Expensive but long lasting and worth the price since my horse actually uses it daily. 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last forever! I have used these salt licks for 2 years now and they are fantastic.  I purchase the large one and it lasts nearly a year in Fritz's stall!
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality, durable salt block I had the smaller version of this block that my horse finished a few months ago so decided to splurge on the large one (that can also be hung up). This block is very hard and durable. It doesn't break or degrade easily and is quite weatherproof. It never gets soggy or crumbly. My horse likes it. My only complaint would be that the rope that the block comes with is a cotton-y fiber so it gets gross with licking and becomes hard to untie/remove. This time I just used some nylon rope that I had and now can move it easily. I will always buy this over the Redmond blocks or other white blocks because it lasts so much longer. I just wish they were cheaper.
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love this! My horses love this salt on a rope and it keeps them busy when they are stuck in the smaller pens.
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought this After my mare ate the regular feed store small salt block in two days, I got her this Himalayan Lick instead. It has been a few weeks and even with her using it regularly it still has a long way to go.
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these. My horse  loves them. They last a long time. Good size. 
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love these! I purchased the Himalayan Salt Licks because I found my horses were not using the white salt lick in the pasture. They love these, in fact after one of my horses had finished his I caught him reaching over his stall door and sticking his tongue through the bars on the horses stall next to him to lick his Himalayan salt lick! I will continue to purchase these to supplement the salt and minerals that are in the grain. These horses are all easy keepers and do not get the recommended amount of grain because they get too fat, so they need salt and mineral supplements. These do not break up like the regular salt blocks, so they last a lot longer and the horse only licks what they want, not a bunch of loose salt in the bottom of the feeders.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty My horse loves this salt lick. Immediately upon putting him in his stall after riding him, he begins to lick it. I love that fact that it is very natural. Great product.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Himalayan Salt Licks My horses loved it.........should have purchased the larger size....next time.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt lick It's insane how much my mare loves this stuff. I bought the largest size at 6 pounds about a month and a half ago. It'll be gone in another month. She drinks a ton of water with it, and I couldn't imagine not having one of these in her stall. It's so nice to know that it's not just a combo of chemicals/enzymes. I will continue to buy again and again! Be prepared though, horses love this way more than the blocks you get at feed stores.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Salt Lick My horse prefers the himalayan salt lick over traditional salt licks.  They uphold in moisture very well.  My horse also loves the salt lick on the rope as it doubles as a toy.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! This salt lick is perfect. My horse loves the taste (more so than traditional compact salt blocks). It has also held up well for over 4 months in his stall. Those two things alone are enough, but the price is also great and it was easy to hang up with the included rope. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it I have found that my horse prefers these much more than the standard salt block. The rope is wonderful and simple. Great product! Will buy again.
    Date published: 2013-10-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.