Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.3516 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so experience The reviews on this product are wonderful but my horse was consistantly more interested in pulling it down than eating it. Unfortunately there are no hanging recommendations on the product (height etc. would be helpful). Looks like a good product so probably worth a try if your horse likes stall toys.
    Date published: 2008-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Passing Away The Rainy Days Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls are a life saver for those rainy days when my horse is stuck inside. She used to get very antsy and weave a bit when her routine got messed up by the weather and she had to stay in. It gives me piece of mind knowing that she has something to keep her occupied on those days. Unlike some of the previous reviews, it takes her MONTHS to go through an Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Ball. I have been overly pleased with this product. Another great pick SmartPak!
    Date published: 2008-06-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horses loved them - but HUGE mess These balls went over really well with our drafts; however, they are a little pricey to last for only a couple of days. Also - be prepared to have a horse with a sticky, gooey mess on his face, and it is not easy to get off (think a little kid with gum in his hair...you get the picture). They were fun; but we probably will not do them again - too messy.
    Date published: 2008-05-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse=Confused Well, maybe it's just my horse, but he has NO idea what this ball is. It has been hanging in his stall for about three weeks, and the only thing that has touched it has been birds eating the seeds. I tried offering the ball to him in my hands, and he ignored it (and this is a horse who absolutely LOVES treats and molasses). Maybe I should try a different flavor, but it wouldn't be worth it if he doesn't do anything with it.
    Date published: 2008-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the hanging ball! My horse LOVED this ball. He wouldn't touch any of the other boredom toys I tried, but he won't leave this alone. He even runs it over his body. I do have to use warm washcloths to clean up his lower jaw but that just means more loving time with him while he is being stalled for an injury.
    Date published: 2008-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Delicious Well, many people have left comments about how great Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls are. I am here to agree whole-heartedly with them. My young Quarter Horse gelding is a bit timid and when I first put the ball up in his stall he wouldn't go near it. However, I left it there overnight and the next day I went back to the barn and it was almost COMPLETELY GONE. He enjoys them very much, but because they are expensive treats, he gets them only when I leave him for 30 minutes to do chores around the barn. He is one of the horses that will devour these wonderful balls. I'm thinking of raising it higher in his stall so that he has to work a little harder to get at them. Overall, this is a fantastic treat and he's always wondering whether I'm going to leave him with one.
    Date published: 2008-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for horses AND their people! This is the treat I've been looking for - not only can my horse not find a way to chomp chunks out of it, but it can keep him occupied and happy for hours...and it is HIGHLY amusing for the owner as well!
    Date published: 2008-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They really do love it... I have 3 very different horses. My paint couldn't wait for me to hang it so he could start on it and although he's only in his stall for a couple of hours a day, he finished his ball in 4 days. My Appy likes his but only will lick when everything is quiet in the barn. My Clydesdale on the other hand is a little afraid of it, but wants it so bad. Although his is now 1/2 gone, (after 4 days) it still scares him on occasion when it swings. Because they are not cheap the only thing different I will do is not keep them hanging for all time, only when they have to stay in.
    Date published: 2008-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Balls are Great! I love the Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls, and my horse does too. It makes him less anxious and stressed when he has to be inside, and his behavior has improved in regards to his nippiness for treats. I was a little unsure whether he liked it initially, as he ignored it his first couple days, however, I started seeing little pieces missing and I know he has been working hard at trying to eat it. Once I hung one up in Luke's stall, other boarders at my barn have been going out and getting their own, and loving them as well. These treat balls are great!
    Date published: 2007-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's hanging balls My baby seemed to really enjoy this product, however, every day I had to spend a few minutes wiping dried sticky grain off his forehead with a damp washcloth. If you don't mind doing that, it's a great product. If I purchase another one, I'm going to need to find a different place to hang it.
    Date published: 2007-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from uncle Jimmy's horse treats I have used the Likit horse treats and was dismayed that one of my horses was able to eat the whole treat within 10 minutes even though it was properly hung in his stall. I tried Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls and found that my horse loved it and was unable to devour it. He was still playing with it after I left the stables. Thanks for a great product both my horses love it!!!
    Date published: 2007-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for stall rest. Due to a number of injuries, my gelding has been on and off stall rest over the course of the past two years. He's bored and his behavior and ground manners were becoming a bit much to handle. Most stall toys don't entertain him, but I bought him one of Uncle Jimmy's treat balls and he spends hours playing with it. Each time I go to visit him, his face is caked with sticky molasses and he almost looks happy (just a few more days of stall rest, ol' boy!).
    Date published: 2007-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT My horse is picky about his treats (what horse in the world hates apples??) but he was instantly in love with this ball. It's been in his stall for a week now, and while I can tell that he's been working on it diligently, there's still a lot left. I was leery of the price at first, but when I realized how long this thing lasts, it's well worth it! I'm planning on getting another one as soon as this one runs out! What a great idea!
    Date published: 2007-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more lonely in NC A few days ago my boy was suddenly solo in the barn. He spent a lot of time pacing and bellowing to the horses next door. I hung up a ball last night and heard not a peep out of him after that. I walked into the barn this morning to a white, caked face and a happier horse. (a few swipes of a washcloth and it was gone) It is amusing to watch him TRY to bite it, too !!
    Date published: 2007-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse My show mare has always hated being cooped up in her stall, either at home due to bad weather or at a show... I purchased this treat hoping that she wouldn't chew through it or be terrified of it like other stall treats! Well it's still in her stall. I have one that travels with us! She no longer paces when she's bored or flips her water bucket up down! What a WONDERFUL stall toy!
    Date published: 2007-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sticky horse I have to say the hangin' ball is durable. My horse bites through other treats in about 15 seconds. However... the amount of molasses extending more than halfway up my horse's head was a bit annoying. He certainly had fun, but over a week later I'm still picking the stuff off. I wish it were a bit less permanent (on his face) but love that fact that he enjoyed it.
    Date published: 2007-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts a long time! I love this treat, because my paso fino gelding cribs. I used to use a different type of treat and he'd eat them in 10 minutes (forgetting about the whole "licking" concept) by biting them. Now, I hang this ball in his stall and it takes him a full week to get through it! I love it! He cribs a lot less now, and he loves them!
    Date published: 2007-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Idea! My horse back in NY is not a "Stall Toy" type, but I put it in his stall and he checked it out brazenly. The next morning he had a very sticky muzzle, he loved it! And there was hardly a dent in the hanging delight. It reminds me of a bird seed feeder, what a cool concept, I'm sold!
    Date published: 2007-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat! It is hard to write a review for this without sounding dirty so get your mind out of the gutter and here we go: Jimmy's Hanging Balls were bigger and heavier than I expected. I like that it is such a hard, dense treat because I think it will take my horse a long time to eat through it. It is also super easy to hang up in the stall with the embedded rope.
    Date published: 2007-02-06
    • 2015-02-28T08:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.