Product Image

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.4337 out of 5 by 83.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great treat/toy! My horse had to be on stall rest for about 3 weeks after needing stitches from a kick. As he is young and we normally work 6 days a week, I knew 3 weeks of stall rest would be tough! He absolutely loved this treat! I also loved it because it took him a lot longer to eat it than other treat toys. It did make his white nose brown and goopy, but it was totally worth it since he was happy!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devoured. I admit, I hung this ball against a wall, for lack of hanging options from the ceiling. It was gone in less than 48 hours! Needless to say, my horse loved his tasty treat, and was likely highly entertained for those 48 hours, but it's a little pricey to be purchasing very often. I was really looking for a longer-term solution to keeping my horse occupied while in his stall, and this wasn't quite it. Might be nice for shows, though, when he needs an extra treat and it only needs to last a day or two.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's I purchaced this hanging ball as my mare is on stall rest and I felt as though I should get her some things to keep her busy. The uncle Jimmys was very frustrating for her when it was hung in the middle of her stall as she could not really get at it. I left it hang for 2 weeks then finally decided to move it aginst the wall. She eat's at it now and it has still lasted quit some time. Over all good treat if they can get access to it.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from At first my 4 yr old mare was terrified of the ball hanging in her stall but once she got used to it she went wild with it. After a week or two it seems that she has grown bored with it though. Unfortunately it is VERY messy and sticky! It left a sticky, crusty mess anywhere it touched on her body, especially her face. Baby wipes worked reasonably well at removing the mess. I probably would not purchase it again just because she isn't that interested in it anymore and it made such a mess on her.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these! These long lasting treats keep my horses happy when they need to be in their stalls. I always keep some on hand for rainy days. Be prepared that your horse will have a sticky face but a warm cloth is all you need for clean up.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stall Entertainment! I have a stalled horse, and non-edible horse toys don't entertain him. I used to buy a similar product from another company because they were cheaper, but decided to try SmartPak's because of the free shipping. Compared to what I used before, the Uncle Jimmy's are bigger and last MUCH longer. My horse's record for the other kind was 3 hours. His record for the Uncle Jimmy's is 8 days, which is a much better value even though they are a few dollars more.There is a sugar free version that SmartPak doesn't carry. If anyone was wondering, flies are still attracted to it and it doesn't last as long as the regular flavored ones (the texture is different and my horse just devoured it). I am sticking with the flavored ones (molasses is his favorite) from SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining! My super picky TB loves these! He will not eat any of the Likit treats, but this gets him excited. I do hang it up against a wall, but it still lasts at least two weeks. He spends half of the day inside, so this provides him with some entertainment when he isn't eating his hay. It does leave his nose a bit sticky, but nothing that a baby wipe can't handle. So worth it!
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these but be ready for a mess! My horse absolutely loves these! BUT I will only feed these in the summer when I can wash him off easily because he has a tendency to end up wearing some of it. The molasses will get all over anything that touches it including your horse! Also some horses will eat this faster than they should so you should monitor your horse at first to make sure they don't eat all of it in one sitting.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy but sticky horses My horses love the balls! Really depends on the horse as to how long they last. With one horse it lasted 2 weeks, other horse has gone over a month. Make sure to hang it where they can not pin it against a wall. Only negative is they leave a sticky residue on their heads, necks or wherever they touch the ball. But nothing water and towel can't fix. Definitely will buy again, gives the horses something to do besides eat our fences. Love It!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! I use Uncle Jimmy's during the cooler weather to keep my horse entertained. They last a long time for him and he really enjoys them. My only problem is when it gets really hot and humid they are so heavy that they do fall off the string!! I use Pony Pops when it is hot since it can be put in a holder, and these when it is cool enough for it to stay put. My horse enjoys both products.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the cranky mare! I got this on a whim for my horse. She varies between wood chewing and cribbing. It's more out of boredom, so I got her toys. She hated her toys and wouldn't touch them. I gave her a Uncle Jimmy ball and she loves it. I handed it to her like an apple before I hung it up, Then each time I brought her into her stall I showed it to her and would hold it for her to grab on to. Now there Is a slim trail on the wall and chunks missing. I'm super excited she is keeping herself so occupied!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution for the Bored Horse on Stall Rest I bought a batch of these this winter when we had hoof abscesses making the rounds (thanks to an especially wet winter here in the Pacific Northwest). They were an absolute godsend - each one lasted for at least a week, even in the stalls of the most dedicated munchers. You do have to follow the directions, though, which specify how to hang them so that they can't be trapped against a wall. Two of our horses (smarties!) did figure out how to foil this strategy by working together to trap the ball (we have pipe panel stalls, so they can reach across), but even then, the balls kept them happily entertained for several more days. Only downside? A sticky nose! :)
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT It is messy but with a warm towel and some scrubbing it does come off. I don't think the messiness would ever deter me from buying this since my horse just has a blast eating/playing with these. He is VERY VERY PICKY and wont eat many treats or the regular lick-it brand things but loves uncle jimmys. I am glad to see his face covered in it because I know he was having a great time and really enjoying it. It even tastes good yourself if you give it a lick ;] I love it and would not rather buy any other horse treat product. I am very picky too but this really is excellent.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I had heard about Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls for years but never tried it out. While my horse was on lengthy stall rest and miserable I picked one up hoping it would keep his interest for awhile. HE LOVED IT! He happily spent hours trying to devour it. We've been hooked ever since.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amusing name but very messy Admittedly I have only used it with one horse but I won't be buying any more as they are just so messy - my horse's face is covered in sticky goo which is a nightmare to get off - just glad that he is chestnut and I didn't give it to my grey horse!
    Date published: 2011-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved Uncle Jimmy I have tried many products to curb the winter boredum - this by far is the best product. Comes in regular and sugar free for those horses with Cushings. The horses can not get enough of the them.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horses loved them - I did not. Title says it all. The horses loved them. I hung them at eye level away from a wall as the intructions said. The horses played with them day in and day out for 2 weeks until they were gone.The bad side is that twice a day I was sponging disgusting dried on molasses, dirt, hay and who knows what else off of the horses faces. There are better treats out there that the horses love that do not create such a mess.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting I was expecting more. My younger mare immediately took right to it and then my older mare got interested too. They worked in tandem to lick on the ball. Really a great team effort! But, then that was it. I saw my younger mare mess with it once after that and then nothing. The ball looks the same as it did when I got it out of the box. Maybe it will be more enticing when the weather warms up. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Probably be better in a fully enclosed stall though too.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These kept my horse busy for... I think a week. So it's not really that great to spend $80 a month LOL, but I'd only buy it 2x a month in summer. In winter they get cold, so they stick together better & last longer, but in summer it'll get quite messy, & my gelding would get it all over his face, mane & neck, but nothing a baby wipe couldn't take off!! Other than that I think this is good to keep bored horses occupied! My boy loves every flavor!!
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse has not touched it yet ! The ball has been in his stall for 2 weeks, it is against the wall, to make it easier for him; he does not even lick it .... I do not understand ...
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes my horses very happy I love these balls. They are one of the only treats my horses really enjoy. They never really liked lick its. They can spend hours chewing on these, and they have liked each of the flavors. They are messy though, their noses are always covered in goo. And the balls don't last quite as long as they are supposed to. Make sure you hang them somewhere where the horses can't prop the ball against a wall or it will be gone within a day!
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse loved it... but it didn't last for very long My picky TB absolutely loves Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things. I tried a Hangin' Ball as a special treat. The horse LOVED it and gobbled it up. Even though it was hung from the ceiling and couldn't be pinned still anywhere, it only lasted 3 days. I'm not sure if my horse is just a pig or if these really don't last as long as they say.In short... my horse loved it, but it was pretty expensive for a short-lived treat.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them but MESSY! My horses LOVE these - but they are messy & sticky! Horse heads/forelocks need to be washed after eating these so get your wash cloth ready. They do last quite a long time too which is good.
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from my horse loves this! After reading the other reviews, i thought i would try this for my TB who, out of bordem started cribbing. It definately helped with the bordem, he LOVED it!!! but it only lasted about a week and the flies loved it too. other than that, it seems like a good product, just a bit expensive for me since it only lasted a week... i'll be trying another product next time.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse and Horse Lover's Treat Ball Horses love this and keeps them busy for hours on end. Balls last for awhile while horses enjoy the flavor and have a lot of fun.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse suddenly went lame and has been laid up on stall/mini paddock rest. He was extremely fit, so the transition has been a challenge. After scouting through the possible horse distractions, I found this one to be both hilarious and the best possible option. I hung it up according to the instructions 2 weeks ago. My horse LOVES it, but it also poses enough of a challenge that he has yet to put a significant dent in it - I wouldn't be surprised if it lasts 4+ weeks. (I also had two other horses temporarily placed in his stall, both of whom greatly enjoyed it). The only thing is that it does get his head very sticky.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVED it!! Great! The ball lasted for 3 weeks, and my horse enjoyed every bit of the ball. I got the molasses flavor! Great treat/toy for horses without turnout.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of fun We hung this ball where my horse couldn't pin it against the wall and it lasted much longer than I thought it would. He loves it and works at it while he's in the stall, keeping him occupied. Only drawback is a sticky nose.
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gone too soon... My horses loved this product and unfortunately inhaled it in a day. I initially had it hanging from the stall/run-in ceiling and they ignored it completely. The second I moved it, it was gone too quickly. For the price, I don't know that I'd order another, unless I were to once again hang the product from the ceiling. Otherwise, it disappears too quickly.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.