Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market. Made of lightweight, high density ABS material the Sportage 8500 has superior resistance to high impact. Returning is the functional low profile, drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation with and the added feature of a reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions. The helmet's ventilation system has increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride. The harness is made of black, soft touch leather with reinforced nylon. Visor is a soft rubberized, low profile flexible visor. 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.7931 out of 5 by 319.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels like it was made for my head! I just recently purchased this HelmetAnd it's the most comftetbel helmet IHave ever worn
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I have had mine for a few years now and it is like new. The Troxels always gave me a headache. This one fit perfectly right out of the box. Like putting a cloud on your head. It has the most air flow of any helmet and it is very light weight.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great helmet to ride in & have on hand in trailer I keep a couple inexpensive light helmets with truck & trailer and inbarn so I'm never without.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! My daughter says this is the most comfortable helmet she has ever worn. The quality is excellent and we are very happy with our purchase!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, secure, Good fit for 21" pinhead Comfortable helmet that FITS my adult 21" head. The small is perfect for my size, even though my head is more "oval" than the helmet. Another reviewer mentioned the small was also perfect for her. I found the MD was too large, and could rotate the side over my forehead slightly. The small is snug, but comfortable, just right. I have ridden in it for a week, and it feels great: no pressure headache and no shifting. I forget that it is on, except that I feel protected. Only oddity is that the harness seems to be generically sized, so will be removing
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling helmet! I LOVE my tipperary helmet. It is lightweight comfortable and most importantly, comes in a small enough size to fit my head in order to ensure a safe fit. Before purchasing this helmet, I'd been schooling in a very expensive helmet as it was the only style I had found that was truly small enough and wasn't designed for children (hot pink, patterned, etc.). So if you have a small head and are looking for a comfortable, affordable schooling helmet, the tipperary (size XS) may be for you.Conversely, when purchasing a first riding helmet for my fiancé, we ran into the opposite problem - we couldn't find a large enough helmet until he tried on the Tipperary Sportage XL.
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everyday helmet Bought to replace same type of helmet that was damaged in a bad fall recently. Lucily the helmet kept me from injury which I know I would have had if I hadn't been weraring it. It stays in place nicely and fits well.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Non-stuffy I love this helmet though I haven't had it for too long it fits amazingly in a way my charles owen never fit! The air vents make it really nice so it's not too stuffy. Like I said I haven't had it that long so I can't say how the durability is.. I've gotten many compliments and it's perfect for a non-expensive schooling helmet!
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet Have been using this helmet for a few weeks and love the fit. It is very lightweight and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I purchased this helmet after reading the rave reviews. I have been using a Troxel helmet with the dial fit and it often gives me a headache. This Tipperary helmet fit perfectly right out of the box and feels custome made. I look forward to many years of use.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features.. Purchase 1 month ago. Very nice fit and light weight. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great hit but the chin strap let go... I have worn these helmets for years and love the fit. Yesterday, though, I got spun off my horse and dragged for a bit trying to hold on to the reins...not a wise decision. When I finally did let go, I found that my helmet was 20 feet behind me on the ground with a the chinstrap catch undone! Maybe had it held I wouldn't now be  dealing with a broken nose and two black eyes....
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and not too bulky! I didn't like western troxel and been avoiding to wear it.  I tried friend's Tipperary out. Wow I love how it feels on my head snug, not bulky and light. And don't look like giant bowl being worn.  So had to order one for myself. 
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet I've worn this helmet twice now, and I LOVE IT! Super light weight, and nice vents. Fits amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Great helmet for the price, very comfortable and cool, well ventilated! Also looks smart:)
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for my big head! I'm on the smaller side however when the rest of my body stopped growing, my head must have kept going. In my 20+ years of riding I've never found a helmet that really truly fit comfortably AND looked stylish, I always had to sacrifice one for the other. I was a little leery when I purchased this helmet because my head measurement was juuuusssst under the max measurement for a Large. I thought for sure I'd get the helmet, try it on and hate it for being too tight. I was so wrong! Fits amazing, so comfortable and I don't look like a weird mushroom head! Highly recommend this helmet to any other fellow big headers!
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely helmet I love this helmet. It fits great, looks stunning and can be adjusted easily to my head size. I'm not wearing a bubble when I ride.I buy a new one each year since I wear it every day, and it does get dirty with sweat and fine grit from the barn.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I was having issues with the Charles Owen jR8, because it was wobbling side to side after having it for a year and a half. I decided to try this one, since the reviews were very good. I could not be more pleased. It fits very well, no wobbling, and no uncomfortable pressure in the forehead. The extra padding that comes with the helmet is great, as you can stick it wherever it is needed. I ordered it on a Monday, and it arrived on a Wednesday, amazingly fast service. Talked to an extremely helpful person via the chat feature, which helped. I wear a 71/2 in the CO, L in Tipperary. Thanks so much Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love this helmet! It actually FITS! It looks great. And it seems to cover more area on my head than the Troxels I used to wear. I recently ordered one from SP. My young child's head measured for a large. I let her use mine, but then I could see within minutes of her first lesson it wasn't going to work. So, when we got home I called SP and told them I needed a medium. A few days later it arrived. It fits her perfect! Hey, I'm no carpenter or tailor, so my measurement was off. But, not to worry. Even if the medium didn't fit, I knew SP would let me exchange it, no problem. SmartPak and Tipperary Sportage Helmet, what could be better? Seeing my daughter ride for an hour with a perfectly fitting helmet and a natural seat to envy!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I was in desperate need of a new helmet, and several friends recommended this helmet to me. I love the way it looks and fits! It is really low profile, and the ventilation is awesome! Very happy that I got it!
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks silly on my tiny head I bought this helmet a few months ago after reading many good reviews on it but I ended up returning it much to my dismay. It looks cool and nifty online and on other people's heads but I am pathetically tiny-4'11'' and while it did fit snuggly/comfortably, I looked like a bobble head. I find it is very difficult to find a slimmer profile helmet. Otherwise it was of excellent quality and has many vents for cool summer rides. I ended up going with the Troxel Intrepid- the chin strap is fussy to adjust on that one but it looks good on me so I kept it. I'm sure this bobble head issue is only applicable to dwarf sized noggins. I wish I could have kept the Tipperary.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, very protective helmet for a great deal! I love this helmet. I use it for everyday use & it is very comfortable & cool, & cleans very easy with just a spray of the hose. It gives a stylish look while being extra protective, especially at the back of my head/brain stem. This helmet has protected me through many bad falls without ever cracking or compromising my protection & is cheap enough that I can replace it without it hurting my bank account. This is my 2nd Tipperary Sportage. Super affordable for a great helmet. Buy this helmet!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good For People With a more Round Head I have had this helmet for a few months now. The quality is great for the price. The helmet allows for more air flow than any other I have ever owned. It came with a couple different sized pads to allow for adjustability. The only complaint that I have is that I have a more "oval" shaped head and I have struggled to find the correct adjustment. When I add the thicker pad to the back the helmet puts too much pressure on my forehead and when I use the smaller pad the helmet tends to move around more. I have found that if I put my hair up in a particular way I am able to use the smaller pad, however, that has taken a number of tries. Conclusion? It is a great helmet for the price, but people with a more "oval" shaped head be prepared to do some adjustments to find your perfect fit.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a helmet you want to wear! I bought the cocoa one. I received so many compliments on this helmet, how sleek it is and how it protects the back of the neck compared to other helmets. It is so light and breathy, I can barely feel it. It fits perfectly my small head and I like the visor which is soft and less likely to break unlike my old helmet which was made of hard plastic.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps in the heat! I purchased the tan helmet. I already have the same helmet in black/carbon. I feel this tan one is cooler in the hot summer. Really glad I bought it.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't Fit But Liked This helmet did not fit my head (wrong shape for me), however, it was well made and the price was right. Hated to return it.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I've been riding in the sportage helmet since 2007 and have found them to be comfortable and durable.More importantly THIS HELMET DOES IT'S JOB! I am purchasing a new one today after a NASTY fall this week. I busted my hip and hit my head so hard on a rock the helmet cracked. BUT I never lost consciousness and according to the scans at the ER I sustained no brain damage (concussion or otherwise). Another important point is this lid cradles the head in a way that I have had NO residual neck pain after the fall.I very much recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have been riding in these helmets daily on multiple horses in the Florida heat for years and years and they are so light comfortable and well ventilated I forget its on. I replace after any fall so the price is right for a working helmet. It's offered me very good protection in multiple falls over the years. I buy a new one after each fall just in case!
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet This helmet is so much for comfortable than my former helmet ( a popular brand). I am taking it to a horse ride that is 125 miles long, so it has to be comfortable.. Not hot and def not heavy.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.