Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.7812 out of 5 by 361.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second one, love it. Lightweight, cool and comfortable. I use this for schooling and wish I could wear to show! This is my second one, only because first one after 8 years finally got stinky. Great product, great price. Love the colors too.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd one! I use this helmet for schooling because it's light, and comfortable and easier to keep clean than other helmets. My old one is about 8 years old and finally just got too stinky! This one fits even better and I know my head is protected.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I See What All The Hype Is About! I had suspected for a long time that my helmet(s) never fit correctly. My helmets with adjustable framework in the back always bounced all over no matter how I tightened them. Sometimes they'd slide back on my head to a really dramatic angle, to the point where I was always tugging the visor down. Everything I've read about proper fitting suggested that's not okay.The Tipperary Sportage does not move once I put it on. I really feel like it's perfectly encased my head. I like how streamlined it is and how closely it hugs the back of the head-- no more bulbous "bubble"-like helmets!Graphite is a neat, subtle color. And the lightly padded straps are nice. Also comes with a black Tipperary satchel!Very reasonable price point between the "starter" and "designer" helmets.The Medium is perhaps a tiny, tiny bit too snug on my head with the thin pad in the back (and a little too loose with nothing). But I'm thinking that when all the padding gets broken in and compressed just a little bit, it will be perfect. I'm sure a Large would be too loose.Those removable pads are, however, the source of my one concern. The Velcro that holds them in is heavy-duty, but I wonder how easy it will be to eventually lose them? Or to have them break down TOO much with the rigors of constant use and sweat.
    Date published: 2014-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the nice fit I bought this helmet a few days ago because I had a fall and its not recommend to use the same helmet after a serious fall. When I tried it on, I wasn't sure about the fit on the back of my neck but now I love it!!!! :D The only thing I didn't like was when I took out the foam blocks from the back of the helmet it became a tad to big, but thats kind of expected :)
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me, but affordable & well vented I have no idea what shape my head is (I only know it's big!) but this helmet was wide and gapped on the sides on me. (In the past I've had good luck with Ovation and GPA helmets.) Front to back was a good fit. Seems like it'd be a comfortable, lightweight, very well ventilated helmet. I am looking for an affordable hot weather schooling helmet, and this would have been perfect. I'm not totally crazy about the styling (seems abruptly flat in back, almost like something from a motocross-type sport) but it's fine for a schooling helmet.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very lightweight I bought this when I needed a new helmet due to a fall. It fits me well and I especially like that it extends further down the back of your head for additional protection (at least it seems to?). I only wish it had a liner that could be washed after many uses, as we all know that helmets can get a little yucky from time to time. I am looking into buying a liner of some kind that will not affect the fit. Overall a good, comfortable schooling helmet.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! I first ordered this in size small, following the sizing recommendations, but had to move up to a medium, which fits beautifully and is so comfortable I forget I have it on. Can't say enough about Smart Pak's free shipping both ways. When I returned the item, they even sent me e-mails noting that they had received it, and that they were crediting my account. GREAT customer service!
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Tipperary Sportage This is our second Tipperary helmet. I love the full coverage at the back of the head and my daughter (who actually wears it) says it's the most comfortable one she has worn - even in the AZ heat.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels like it was made for my head! I just recently purchased this HelmetAnd it's the most comftetbel helmet IHave ever worn
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! I have had mine for a few years now and it is like new. The Troxels always gave me a headache. This one fit perfectly right out of the box. Like putting a cloud on your head. It has the most air flow of any helmet and it is very light weight.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great helmet to ride in & have on hand in trailer I keep a couple inexpensive light helmets with truck & trailer and inbarn so I'm never without.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable! My daughter says this is the most comfortable helmet she has ever worn. The quality is excellent and we are very happy with our purchase!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable, secure, Good fit for 21" pinhead Comfortable helmet that FITS my adult 21" head. The small is perfect for my size, even though my head is more "oval" than the helmet. Another reviewer mentioned the small was also perfect for her. I found the MD was too large, and could rotate the side over my forehead slightly. The small is snug, but comfortable, just right. I have ridden in it for a week, and it feels great: no pressure headache and no shifting. I forget that it is on, except that I feel protected. Only oddity is that the harness seems to be generically sized, so will be removing
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling helmet! I LOVE my tipperary helmet. It is lightweight comfortable and most importantly, comes in a small enough size to fit my head in order to ensure a safe fit. Before purchasing this helmet, I'd been schooling in a very expensive helmet as it was the only style I had found that was truly small enough and wasn't designed for children (hot pink, patterned, etc.). So if you have a small head and are looking for a comfortable, affordable schooling helmet, the tipperary (size XS) may be for you.Conversely, when purchasing a first riding helmet for my fiancé, we ran into the opposite problem - we couldn't find a large enough helmet until he tried on the Tipperary Sportage XL.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everyday helmet Bought to replace same type of helmet that was damaged in a bad fall recently. Lucily the helmet kept me from injury which I know I would have had if I hadn't been weraring it. It stays in place nicely and fits well.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Non-stuffy I love this helmet though I haven't had it for too long it fits amazingly in a way my charles owen never fit! The air vents make it really nice so it's not too stuffy. Like I said I haven't had it that long so I can't say how the durability is.. I've gotten many compliments and it's perfect for a non-expensive schooling helmet!
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet Have been using this helmet for a few weeks and love the fit. It is very lightweight and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I purchased this helmet after reading the rave reviews. I have been using a Troxel helmet with the dial fit and it often gives me a headache. This Tipperary helmet fit perfectly right out of the box and feels custome made. I look forward to many years of use.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features.. Purchase 1 month ago. Very nice fit and light weight. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great hit but the chin strap let go... I have worn these helmets for years and love the fit. Yesterday, though, I got spun off my horse and dragged for a bit trying to hold on to the reins...not a wise decision. When I finally did let go, I found that my helmet was 20 feet behind me on the ground with a the chinstrap catch undone! Maybe had it held I wouldn't now be  dealing with a broken nose and two black eyes....
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and not too bulky! I didn't like western troxel and been avoiding to wear it.  I tried friend's Tipperary out. Wow I love how it feels on my head snug, not bulky and light. And don't look like giant bowl being worn.  So had to order one for myself. 
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet I've worn this helmet twice now, and I LOVE IT! Super light weight, and nice vents. Fits amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Great helmet for the price, very comfortable and cool, well ventilated! Also looks smart:)
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for my big head! I'm on the smaller side however when the rest of my body stopped growing, my head must have kept going. In my 20+ years of riding I've never found a helmet that really truly fit comfortably AND looked stylish, I always had to sacrifice one for the other. I was a little leery when I purchased this helmet because my head measurement was juuuusssst under the max measurement for a Large. I thought for sure I'd get the helmet, try it on and hate it for being too tight. I was so wrong! Fits amazing, so comfortable and I don't look like a weird mushroom head! Highly recommend this helmet to any other fellow big headers!
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely helmet I love this helmet. It fits great, looks stunning and can be adjusted easily to my head size. I'm not wearing a bubble when I ride.I buy a new one each year since I wear it every day, and it does get dirty with sweat and fine grit from the barn.
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I was having issues with the Charles Owen jR8, because it was wobbling side to side after having it for a year and a half. I decided to try this one, since the reviews were very good. I could not be more pleased. It fits very well, no wobbling, and no uncomfortable pressure in the forehead. The extra padding that comes with the helmet is great, as you can stick it wherever it is needed. I ordered it on a Monday, and it arrived on a Wednesday, amazingly fast service. Talked to an extremely helpful person via the chat feature, which helped. I wear a 71/2 in the CO, L in Tipperary. Thanks so much Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love this helmet! It actually FITS! It looks great. And it seems to cover more area on my head than the Troxels I used to wear. I recently ordered one from SP. My young child's head measured for a large. I let her use mine, but then I could see within minutes of her first lesson it wasn't going to work. So, when we got home I called SP and told them I needed a medium. A few days later it arrived. It fits her perfect! Hey, I'm no carpenter or tailor, so my measurement was off. But, not to worry. Even if the medium didn't fit, I knew SP would let me exchange it, no problem. SmartPak and Tipperary Sportage Helmet, what could be better? Seeing my daughter ride for an hour with a perfectly fitting helmet and a natural seat to envy!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I was in desperate need of a new helmet, and several friends recommended this helmet to me. I love the way it looks and fits! It is really low profile, and the ventilation is awesome! Very happy that I got it!
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks silly on my tiny head I bought this helmet a few months ago after reading many good reviews on it but I ended up returning it much to my dismay. It looks cool and nifty online and on other people's heads but I am pathetically tiny-4'11'' and while it did fit snuggly/comfortably, I looked like a bobble head. I find it is very difficult to find a slimmer profile helmet. Otherwise it was of excellent quality and has many vents for cool summer rides. I ended up going with the Troxel Intrepid- the chin strap is fussy to adjust on that one but it looks good on me so I kept it. I'm sure this bobble head issue is only applicable to dwarf sized noggins. I wish I could have kept the Tipperary.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, very protective helmet for a great deal! I love this helmet. I use it for everyday use & it is very comfortable & cool, & cleans very easy with just a spray of the hose. It gives a stylish look while being extra protective, especially at the back of my head/brain stem. This helmet has protected me through many bad falls without ever cracking or compromising my protection & is cheap enough that I can replace it without it hurting my bank account. This is my 2nd Tipperary Sportage. Super affordable for a great helmet. Buy this helmet!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    • 2015-02-28T08:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_331
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.