Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Wahl Chromado

Wahl Clipper Corp
- Item #14775

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Wahl Chromado is quiet enough for problem ears and head shy horses. Strong enough for stubborn fetlocks and bridle paths. Take the Wahl Chromado anywhere with the long lasting 90 minute cordless convenience. Includes cord/cordless clipper, charging stand base, detachable blade set w/5 adjustable sizes from #9 to #40, four snap on guide combs, cleaning brush, clipper oil, blade guard and instructions.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Wahl Chromado is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Too Bad I borrowed these clippers from a friend to clip my horse for a show.Pros: These did really well for the eyes, ears, muzzle, and jaw. They also stayed really cool even after using them for a long time. I left them plugged in for the most part but it was really nice to be able to unplug them to get the other side. They're really quiet which is great for clipping the ears. I didn't have any problems with my horse, and it has been a while since she was clipped last.Cons: It took longer than other clippers I have used to get through the bridle path which was less than an inch long. I also had to clip her legs from hoof to knee/hock. It took about 1 hour per leg with these and I trimmed off most of the long stuff before starting. I couldn't get more than a small amount of hair at a time (a thin strip up the leg at best) and it became very frustrating. I certainly feel like these should cut through the thick hair faster.Overall, I think the price is a bit steep but if the convenience of leaving the cord behind out weighs the cons then these are a sound investment.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best clippers I've used I finally decided to get a high quality clipper that wasn't cheap and easily broken. I went through several hand-held, battery operated Wahl clippers and an Oster corded touch up clipper. This clipper fit the bill nicely. I just needed a quiet, cordless clipper for mouth, ears and fetlocks. I have had these for several years now and I'm still using the original blade. Great buy and very well made!
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Clippers So far I love these clipperes. They are quiet, easy to use, and powerful. I love not having to be attached to a cord. If they hold up like my last set of Wahls, I will be extremely happy with the purchase
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best clippers ever! Absolutely the best clippers I have ever purchased! They're very quiet, the battery truly does last for 90 minutes without charging (I tested it the first day!), and I love how adjustable the blades are (between the 5-in-1 blade itself AND the guides that come with it). It is even powerful enough to do some minor body clipping. I tested it by trimming up my wooly mammoth's legs and face, then giving him a quick gullet trim. They had no problem with anything. Plus, if you reach the battery limit, you can plug the charge cord into the clipper and continue clipping OR use the mount and just let it charge. Best cord/less clipper out there in my opinion!!
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great clippers very quiet clippers. I was able to clip the face and ears of my 3 year old without any problems. He was fearful of louder clippers that I tried. Battery life is good. I do wish the blades stayed sharper longer, however. Overall, happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best clipper I've ever owned I own at least a dozen clippers, and this is by far my favorite. My horse loves it. It is quiet, efficient, and I love the cordless feature.
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it! My horse usually jumps around like he's being tortured when I clip him with my regular larger clippers. These are so quiet that he doesn't budge, even relaxes. I can get his neck, face and legs with no problem. It is a little hard to get larger areas even because of the small size of the blade but between my bigger clippers and these, I can get his whole body.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Clippers Overall I went ahead and spent the money on these clippers hoping that they would be quiet enough for my head shy three year old TB. They were very quiet compared to normal clippers and worked great (neither the noise nor the vibration were the issue with my TB, it was the movement so the clippers were irrelevant). The variable blade lengths were very helpful for transitioning from muzzle to legs without having to change attachments or actual blades. The only downside to these clippers was the price and the lack of a carrying/storage case. The battery indicator was also deceiving, in that the lights just went from all on to all off instead of showing the remaining battery left. This was only a minor issue due to the included power cord that could be used directly or through the charger.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, light and sharp - love these clippers! I have a large warmblood who requires at least a trace clip in the winter. These clippers are quiet, hold a charge and without the cord my gelding finds them very non-threatening. Some say they are too small for larger clip jobs - I disagree. Three seasons running they've done an excellent job on large and small areas.
    Date published: 2010-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best clippers ever! I've had these a week. Instead of viewing clipping as a chore, I now view it as fun. These clippers are quiet, they don't heat up, they hold a charge well, they cut at various heights, what more could you ask for?! Some reviews say you wouldn't use them for body clipping but I did and while it took a bit longer since these are somewhat smaller than other clippers, their ease of use and ability to smoothly cover hard to reach/difficult to clip areas makes up for the bit of extra time. Price is reasonable.
    Date published: 2010-10-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from MY HORSE IS VERY HEAD SHY HATES CLIPPERS-I THOUGHT THEY WOULD HAVE LESS NOISE MY HORSE WILL NOT LET ME NEAR HIM EXPENSIVE
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet Clipper Biscuit can be nervous when introducing new things. This clipper is very quiet and fits nicely in your hand. I also like the indicator feature for the battery life.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent clippers. These clippers are quiet and easy to use. I had wasted my money on cheap clippers from my local tack shop that I couldn't use because they were loud and cut poorly. My new Wahl Chromado clippers are exactly what I need for trimming whiskers and bridle paths.
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisfied The motor is so quiet that my horse didn't spook at all. Very happy with the purchase. Was able to clip around the ears with no trouble at all.
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your Horse Will Thank-you! .Most likely the BEST clippers ever.Very quiet didn't bother the horses and i love the cordless feature and if the battery runs out just plug it in and finish up!Very light weight easy to use.Looking for great clippers to remove the long winter hair I strongly recommend these.
    Date published: 2009-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Wahl Chromado clippers LOVE my clippers! Quiet, powerful, portable. I like the light that shows when batteries are getting low. Can go from very close clip to coarse clip, in the touch of a switch. Best clippers I've ever had for clipping everything from ears to fetlocks. I like being able to use it cordless as well as plugged in.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent everyday clippers My horse is nervous about clippers and the cords that are usually required, so these cordless, quiet Wahls are wonderful! I've body-clipped him with them as well, and the adjustable blade (5-in-1: 9, 10, 15, 30, & 40) is so wonderful for switching to different ranges! When the battery runs out, I just plug in the cord and continue right along. I recommend these highly to anyone.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.