Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Loose Ring

Happy Mouth
- Item #14748

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increase your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel center core.

The double jointed mouthpiece provides independent action on each side of the horse's mouth. Good for advanced training. Won't interfere with horse's palate. 4 1/2", 5", 5 1/2" or 5 3/4". 23mm thickness.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Loose Ring is rated 4.381 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit I had never used a Happy Mouth bit before and quite honestly ordered this one by mistake. But, I'm sold now. My horse loves his new bit. Thank you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great "nearly nothing" bit This is a very lightweight bit and both horse I've used it on loved it and went well in it. However, one of the horses chewed on it as I was putting it in his mouth and taking it out - which resulted in rough edges and required frequent replacement of the bit. (I think I bought 6 of them for him before I gave up!) My other horse has not made a mark on his; after 20+ rides it still looks brand new. So...how good a value it is depends on whether your horse chews on it or not.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Our mare loves her new bit! She was having problems sticking her tongue out when she got relaxed. Now she has something to play with with the roller and it is show legal. Thank you Happy Mouth!!
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money So I was using the Happy Mouth Mullen on my horse and he is a very very anxious chewer and I never had any problems with the plastic. I switched to this double jointed one because I needed a little more stop and a little less go and he loves it HOWEVER, the plastic on this one is already chipping away! The cost of the bit is super reasonable though so even if I have to replace them every few months, it is worth it!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the bit, but not durable One of my favorite bits to use, especially on young horses. However, if the horse tends to chew at all, the plastic on the bit can get chewed up and become sharp at points. I have had to replace this bit at least once because of this. But I love the results this bit gets so I do not mind buying another!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Just bought my second one of these-one for each bridle! I won't ever ride my sensitive mare in anything else ever again-she's far too happy in this! Finally found the bit that works for both of us!
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Mouth Bit Order arrived in good time and correct. Bit is just what I ordered. Packaging secure and am pleased with process.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for some horses Some horses who are afraid of moving to the bit seem to like and trust happy mouth bits and do really well in them. Others seem to find them too big and thick for their mouths and spend their time trying to chew them, spit them out, or gagging on them. I'm not a fan of the loose rings as they can pinch.
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Missing chunks after only a month This is my second happy mouth bit, and the second time that the horse has bitten chunks out of it.Within 4 rides, this bit has a chunk missing near the joint; the edges are sharp and I would image would irritate and/or cause sores on the roof of the mouth and tongue. What bothers me most is that the very first reviewer had the same issue. I am not happy, and since this is the second happy mouth bit with a completely different horse, it's the bit and not the horse. I'll be staying with plain old rubber, thank you!
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for a horse that chews the bit My horse has already bit nicks into this bit after only a few rides so I am putting into my collection for use on my "next" horse. I'm afraid he will continue to chew away at it and the nicks will cause cuts/sores on his bars & tongue. I purchased the bit hoping it would reduce his chewing on the bit but not so. Maybe the lightness and flavor caused it to be more of a "toy". The bit is exactly as described, soft, flexible and comfortable, which I would not recommend for a horse that truly chews on the bit.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit for the "Bitless" This is the 3rd Happy Mouth bit I've purchased in the last 3 years for my horse. It's very light weight and seems pretty non-intrusive for a bit. I prefer to ride in my Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle but my instructor likes me to have a bit and I've found that many other people are more comfortable that my horse is will remain "under control" if he's wearing something in his mouth...so this is our compromise.The downside - and the reason I've bought 3 of them - is they are soft and are fairly easily damaged by the horse's chewing on them. This leads to the bit having rough spots. Since they are inexpensive, replacing them is no big deal. My priority is my horse's comfort and he's very content with this bit.
    Date published: 2009-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit This is a great bit for a horse with a busy mouth. My horse loves it I have switched to using it mainly for jumping due to after they get worn down you need to replace them. That would be the only downfall for a happy mouth. You have to make sure to check it over often to make sure the horse has not chewed it so much that it could be hurting their mouths. :)
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.