Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers

M. Toulouse
- Item #14427

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for a closer contact in the saddle.

Each pair of Stirrup Leathers is tanned by French tanning methods.

Black 54" or 60", Chocolate or Cognac, 48" or 54" long. 1" wide.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers is rated 4.5517 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Leathers, but a couple issues. These are rather thick leathers, I did not have a problem getting them on my stirrup bars, but I do think for some this will be an issue (I own a Beval). They are large enough they could cause a bump under the rider's leg in some saddles, but they seem to work well with my saddle. The metal does hang out underneath my saddle skirt...however you can't see this when I'm in the saddle. I think they are a good value for the money and the color looks great with my saddle, but these will not be a good buy for everyone.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice leathers, nice price I got these to replace the Wintec ones that were showing severe cracking at the buckle. These are thick, (a trainer who wanted to adjust my stirrup length made a drama out of pulling them through), but once they are on, I leave them.The leather is soft, and I like the thickness, it helps stabilize my leg. I don't know about durability, I've only had them a month.Overall, these are much nicer than the Wintecs and I would recommend these.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Thick I had to return these leathers. I had purchased two pair of this brand a number of years ago and I was very pleased with them and one pair was wearing out. So I ordered a replacement pair. But these new leathers are not constructed the same. They are quite a bit thicker and I could see that they will be difficult to adjust from horseback. So I returned them for a pair from Kieffer. We will see how that goes.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice - but didn't work These are nice, soft stirrup leathers, however I had to return them as I needed longer ones and I couldn't get them to easily fit through my irons - too thick on the rolled edges.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leathers! I really like these leathers. They are good looking and very soft.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought these leathers to go with my new (to me) calfskin saddle. These are the thickest leathers I have ever seen! They're about 1/8" thick at least, if not 1/4". They slid onto the stirrup bars fine, but just looked so bulky compared to my old $40 leathers.I'm 5'8 and I had to put the 54" on the 2nd-to-last hole for them to be long enough for me on my close contact saddle.I will say, the leather is butter soft and feels like it would have been awesome quality, but I just didn't like them enough to spend $90 on them-sent them back to try the Prestige leathers instead.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leathers! These leathers are extremely nice. They are soft and look great.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I was very impressed with this leathers when I purchased them because they are very buttery-soft and easily pliable. I treated them with Leather CPR to ensure that they would soften up and lay flat before I used them. I got them to go with my M Toulouse Premia because it has doubled leather that I didn't want to risk scratching. These haven't left a mark yet, and I don't think they will. I would recommend them for anyone looking to avoid stirrup leather rubs on their saddle, and to extend the cosmetic appearance of a new saddle.The only possible thing I don't like is that they are thick. This makes it a little difficult to get them on a saddle (mine was new, so it was even harder - the bar was tight against the leather behind it), but it can be done fairly quickly if you alternate pulling the top and bottom of the leather over. They are also a little difficult to adjust; I was able to while mounted, but it took a minute, so it's easier to adjust from the ground. However, I think they may become easier to adjust after they've been conditioned more and broken in a bit. They do lay flat, and I don't feel bulk under my leg. They seem like very sturdy leathers that are unlikely to stretch or break.Note: Don't use glycerine soap on them - they will darken permanently. I would recommend using Leather CPR as it doesn't change the color and easily takes out scuffs and dirt.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I originally ordered a pair of these; however, ended up replacing them with the Prestige leathers after unexpectedly discovering them when I was desperate for a pair and had to buy some THAT day at the local tack shop. These are nice, but oh man the Prestige are stirrup leather heaven. I never thought a stirrup leather could make such a difference! I do like the buckle of these, I have a calfskin saddle and had no issues with scratching or rubbing like others mentioned. For the price, I think these are a good buy. If you don't want to spend way more than you need to get these and don't let yourself look at the Prestige leathers next time you're at the tack store :)
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from M Toulouse leathers I am so far happy with these leathers. They were soft and fairly supple out of the box and loosened up with oiling. I ordered the cognac color, which was somewhat light to begin with, but it darkened a few shades with oil and now matches my medium brown Zaldi Star almost perfectly. They are a bit thick, but I also think they will hold up longer and stretch less that way. I am 5'6" and the 54" size is the perfect length without having a long end out of the keeper.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Match I put these on my Bates C. (brown) saddle. This color was like a custom match. With the metal piece, you can not feel in under your leg at all. I really love these!
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Color match is off I just recently purchased the M. Toulouse Annice CC and both my saddle fitter, instructor and Smartpak CS rep all recommended that I get these leathers. I did not listen at first, but glad I did in the long run. My only real complaint is that I have two sets and one is too light and the other is just a tad dark.
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic leathers are a great price I had been looking at other more pricey leathers and decided to save a few bucks and try these out. This arrived in great time and came out of the box soft as butter and ready to use. so far they are holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers I bought these leathers for my Antares calf skin saddle because they were reasonably priced and had good reviews. The first time I rode in them they seemed incredibly bulky and felt weird on my legs. Every time I rode in them they become more uncomfortable. They are so thick when sliding my stirrups up for storage or switching stirrup length the leather like peels away I have never had leathers this thick and I will try to return them and ended up just buying a set of Prestige leathers....Not worth the few dollars you save...I would suggest paying a little more and getting different leathers
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Very well-made product my only complaint is that the leather itself is very thick, therefore harder to pull through and adjust length.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Leathers!! Bought these leathers to replace my Bevels on my Tad Coffin..The Color matched PERFECT!! Ready to be ridden in right out of the box! True to size,and no stretching so far what so ever!
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great leatehrs I just bought these leathers, and am so pleased! I would have given them a 5/5, but I've only ridden in them a few times. They are a good thickness and seem very durable, but are buttery soft. I was very concerned about finding leathers that wouldn't mark up my saddle, and these are doing the trick!
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from M. Touloue stirrup leathers Beautifully made, soft and flexible so no need to break these in. The color goes well with the Pessoa saddle I recently purchased.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leathers!!!! These are by far the best leathers I have ever purchased, great quality and match my Tad Coffin saddle perfect!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful!! Not only do they come out of the box as if they had been already broken in, they look as gorgeous as they feel. And their quality is oustanding for the price!! I felt as if I were stealing these for $90 as they look as if they probably cost around $150!!! Yes, they are a little thick and they do stretch. But only the slightest bit. They look wonderful with my M. Toulouse Celine saddle! I expect these to last me a long time!!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leather!!! Loving it so far, very happy with the quality of the leather. I had to return the 54" because it was way too short for Dressage and I got the best service ever!! Had my new leather sent straight away, and return the short one as soon as I got the return label. Thank you SmartPack!
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I am very happy with the quality of these leathers. I was nervous about getting the shorter length (I hate it when the ends are too long & these would need to be professionally trimmed) but it was for my jump saddle & the size is perfect (I am 5'2"). The darker brown isn't quite as dark as my Amerigo Vega Monoflap, but hopefully they will darken with use.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So worth it!! I've been envying these leathers for a while but I seriously doubted that the price could be worth it. I was so wrong! I have a synthetic saddle and for the past 4 years I have used synthetic leathers too. Now I know what I've been missing! I love these leathers so much! They are buttery soft out of the packaging and absolutely gorgeous. I am hard on my leathers so Im hoping they will be pretty durable, but so far it looks like they will be!
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality leathers These matched the color of my dark brown Vega monoflap perfectly. They aren't as thick as the prestige ones which I had previously, which allowed them to tuck more easily into the keeper. They are only slightly worn in after a month of use. Still a bit stiff, but that will improve with time, I'm sure.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft These leathers were nice and soft right of the box and matched my used Collegiate saddle well. The recessed buckle was very welcome and my only complaint is that the hole numbers do not match. I was off a number to get my stirrups even. Otherwise these leathers are nice!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from soft These softened up nicely when I oiled them a bit. They are very thick and hard to adjust as mentioned by other reviewers. The 48" worked well for me at 5'3" riding in my jumping saddle. Riding in them for two weeks so far they've stretched 1-2 holes.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality I really like these, except I have to exchange for a 60 inch. The leather is so soft, and I don't think they feel too thick. Hopefully they hold up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these leathers! I have these leathers on all three of my saddles. The leather is high quality and well worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product The leather on these stirrups is buttery soft and will not leave rub marks on the saddle. The metal rivet was a very thoughtful addition as there is no stitching to break.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.