Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle

Item #14213

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely?

The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, not eating and drinking.

Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is resistant to rust, rot and mildew. The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle has a comfortable padded noseband with four-point attachments to prevent pivoting and rotating. Muzzles fit most halters.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle is rated 3.4737 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best alternative we have found. We have used this muzzle for about 3 years & find that it works better than anything else that we have tried for a difficult, smart horse who can crib no matter what is used. We do replace it 3-4 times per year (he wears out the bars!), but it's far less expensive that the colics we were treating when he was able to crib through the straps. We have two going at all times so we can keep them clean. He has a breakaway nylon halter for each of them and a nice halter for being groomed and trailering, etc. We also tape the velcro straps which helps to keep the stitches from being rubbed loose. I wish the stitching would hold up better and that they would make the bars replaceable or stronger. Our horse has no trouble eating through the muzzle, but I usually take it off for him to eat his grain and replace it as soon as he's finished.
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted a week Very expensive and only lasted a week , he rubbed it till he tore it apart all the nylom was worn from rubbing . aluminium grill got stepped on and honestly I wouldn't buy somthing so expensive again.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works but not durable This is the best cribbing deterrent we have used so far. Sadly, the velcro and stitching holding it on are already ripped. He can still crib but not as badly, and can't get enough force to pull fence boards down. Not entirely thrilled with the lack of durability and effectiveness, especially considering the price. Will try to repair it and keep using it.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Comfortable Muzzle I recently purchased the Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle for my Foundation Qtr Horse. It fits & works much better then the old metal cage model I was using. This one is nicely padded & did not rub the hair off his face or create open wounds. It fits well & allows him to easily eat & drink. I would definately recommend this style to anyone. If I need use of a muzzle I will use this humane model.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse stilll cribs! My horse figured out how to crib with this thing on. I had it pulled up as snug as it could go and he still was able to flip it on ledges and crib. He also had a very difficult time eating his grain and even his hay with this. It worked for about a day... it's also fairly heavy... would probably work best as a grazing muzzle, but even for that i wouldn't want my horse having to wear it all day. It's pretty ridiculous looking too. Another cribbing bust! although I did purchase cribox after this muzzle failed thats also offered on this site for my cribber and it works awesome. Highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well as a grazing muzzle I bought this muzzle to be used as a grazing muzzle. The grill at the bottom of the muzzle allows my horse to still graze a little bit and not be so frustrated. So far, its working great.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cribbing Muzzle I bought the cribbing muzzle/free to eat because I was worried about my barrel horse. He would stand in one place and crib all day (even with the miracle collar, nutcracker, etc) I was at my wits end with him and wanted him to do other things, like enjoy being with the other horses in the pasture. Well it worked for about a 3 days and then he discovered how to hook the bottom part over a corner pole and crib anyway. So, alas I am back to watching him stand and crib anyway. Maybe it would work on a horse that is not as smart as mine, but I feel that cribbers are exceptionally intelligent!!!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Solution So Far! My 17hand Thoroughbred windsucks when he's bored... and given his personality, that occurs often. I tried the nylon/web halter version of this mask, and between Huey and his pasturemates, it was torn apart within a few weeks. This mask, however, is still in pretty good shape two months later.My only complaints are that the bars are starting to bend recently and that I ended up having to duct tape the velcro attachments to prevent Huey's pasturemates from helping him remove it.Really, overall, a great, effective product. Definitely the best solution so far.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work for MY horse My horse (Boomer) nearly destroyed the nylon webbing on his muzzle in less than 2 weeks. He turns his head side-ways and grabs / cribs on the side of our run-in shed through the webbing. Also, Boomer is unable to get to the food around the edges of his corner mount feed bucket, and gets extremely frustrated trying to grab hay from his hay rack. The manufacturer needs to go back to the drawing board. I'd be happy to let them test new models on Boomer!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works The cribbing/free to eat muzzle works. The horse was able to eat his grain and hay through muzzle without problems. He could also graze in paddock without cribbing on the fense post. It works perfectly for a cribber who needs to add weight. It's been on for four days and so far no rub marks like a cribbing strap or collar. The only negative thing about the muzzle is it takes time to velcro it onto the halter but once on it stays and fits well using a regular halter.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.