Product Image

Bute Less™ Pellets (formerly B-L Pellets)

Equine America
- Item #14195
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Same formula, new name!! Bute Less Pellets, formerly B-L Pellets, help with the discomfort associated with normal daily exercise. Bute Less Pellets contain Devil's Claw and Yucca, two of nature's most powerful herbs, as well as Vitamin B-12. Bute Less Pellets earned top honors from The Horse Journal in 2007, making them a top-ranked natural pain relief formula! Bute Less Pellets ease the aches and discomfort caused by training. Do not feed to pregnant mares.

View our Anti-Inflammatory Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Bute Less™ Pellets (formerly B-L Pellets) is rated 4.7432 out of 5 by 148.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product After talking to my vet about the soreness and stiffness in my very grumpy horse. We gave him a shot of the HA and to help support his joints added Grand HA along with BL Pellets for any soreness. Love his reaction to these additions. He is so much happier and moves so much better after a short warm up.
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful to my horse My horse eats and digests this easily, and it seems to be helpful keeping him supple
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from B-L Pellets Easy to administer, works well! My old Appendix QH gelding developed ringbone. I had him on bute for awhile, until he developed diarrhea. Then I switch to B-L pellets. I thought this product worked better than bute, to relieve symptoms of this debilitating arthritic condition. And, it did not upset his digestive system...no more diarrhea.
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from B-L pellets I use this product along with MSM for my old, arthritic mare. This has helped her joints more than any of the chondroitin/glucosamine products I have tried.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from B-L Pellets do Wonders! Been giving B-L pellets to my senior retired roping horse - he no longer ropes, just lopes after a few cows and pleasure rides now and again. He gets around great and the B-L pellets help him get moving faster in the mornings. This is the second senior horse I've given these to - it's obvious these help them get up and around faster. Recommended product.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from B-L pellets Great product. I put our spotted draft on it for hind leg welling. Vet said it liked like wind puffs. Swelling is gone....we had been dealing with that for6 mos
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I bought this supplement off the recommendation of my veterinarian for my 24 y/o Thoroughbred. He's got some mild arthritis in his hind end, and I wanted to keep him as comfy and flexible as possible. It's been working GREAT! Red's stride is full again, and he's able to be worked 2 to 3 times a week! And he's 24!! I'm so impressed with the product that I'm thinking Red will be on it for a very long time!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not help much I have a horse that was diagnosed with navicular and has be chronically lame on his front left and feels better on bute so thought I would try a natural anti inflammatory and heard a lot of good things about B-L pellets. But honestly after a month didn't see much change in comfort so switched to Smart TLC will see if that seems to help more.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from B-L Pellets - Two Thumbs Up! Having the pickiest eater, I had my doubts as to whether I should even try B-L. My horse loves the pellets, and I am pleased with the results. I have added it to her daily feed ration. The taste agrees with my horse, the cost agrees with my wallet!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product!! This is my go to product for all of my horses except my broodmares. It is deffinitely a staple in my tack room! It is super easy to feed and they just gobble it right up! Whenever one of my performance horses gets hurt or sore I usually use just this and skip the bute completely! It is very affordable to feed short term and it helps them in more than one way.I like to feed this product a lot more than B-L Solution but since this has less yucca etc. in it I use the Solution often aswell.My only complaint is that I wish I could feed it to my broodmares too, especially since one of them had her tendons cut when she was 2 (because she foundered and they needed to put her back to work ASAP...this was before I got her) and is chronically lame. It would be nice if they came out with a 'toned down' version that didn't have the devil's claw in it.LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from like that it is pelleted I like that this is a pellet and I can see if they are eating it. It took my horse a couple of days but he decided he would eat it and he can be a picky eater.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought Honestly? I wasn't sure if this supplement was making a difference for my 27 year old arthritic mare or not-UNTIL she went off it. We tried low dose bute and she was VERY uncomfortable. When we moved up the bute dosage to a gram she wouldn't eat her grain. Needless to say, she is back on BL Pellets.It's very palatable and really does help-she is pasture sound, thank goodness. She may need injections to be riding sound (if she ever will be), but it's still a great product for the price. I think it's beneficial for all but the most severe cases.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product All I can say is, there's a darn good reason why the Horse Journal picked BL Pellets as their Product of the Year, twice.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watch your old guys, they'll think they're young! I have a 27yo TWH that is very stiff and sore from arthritis. Some days, it's painful to watch her move.I have spent a LOT of money on all kinds of top-dresses and joint supplements and none of them offered a negligible difference. About a week after starting B-L pellets, I noticed she was moving more fluidly. About a month ago, we had a cold snap, and all I could think of was that I needed to get the Bute out when I got down to the barn to turn her out. Imagine my surprise when she met me at the door with head held high and a nicker that said," let's go outside".When I turned her out with her barnmate, She actually ran off and did a little buck, both heels off the ground. I hadn't seen that in years. She is less mopey and has a nice spring in her step.I decided then, that my other 17yo TWH, Coco that has chronic laminitis and is prone to founder.. Who has been on a zero grain/ sugar diet and lives on coastal and Timothy and has always been ouchy, no matter what. I figured, what could it hurt. After about 2 weeks, I saw no more tenderfootedness when she was walking on the hard pack or concrete. She hasn't "run" when turned out in 3 years and started to run to the gate when it's time to come in. It's been about 6 months. Her feet are growing in very well. You can see good laminar attachment and the thermo graphs show no elevated heat.She run's around like a cheer leader and I've been trail riding her barefoot with no residual tippy toing or hoof pain. I don't know if It truly was the B-L Pellets in Coco's case, But I will NOT take her off of them. I got my girls back on track and because they are happy a, I am happy
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I tried this! My 16-year-old OTTB has arthritis in his knees, though he is still ridable. He has been on BL for about 2 weeks now, and I noticed a real difference. He stumbles less, seems more comfortable walking downhill, and wanted to jump the trail logs on our last ride (he loves to jump, but stopped wanting to jump things over a year ago).I've tried a variety of joint supplements and never noticed much difference with any of them. This really works.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has really helped my 12 year old show quarter horse. Jr. was having issues in the cold Pa winters and with B-L pellets he is so much more frisky.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works really well on coming 24 y/o mare A few months ago, I retired my mare, put her on this product and took her off all joint supplements, including injections. She is moving so well - better than she was on the joint supplements - that I'm going to start riding her again in Spring. The barn manager, who never knew her in her younger says, saw her trotting in the field a couple of weeks ago and told me she was stunning, that she can see now why she was a star in her younger show days! It's such a great feeling when my old mare gives someone a glimpse of what she used to be. My guess is that while joint supplements help only with arthritis this product helps with other types of inflammation.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healing Help Three months ago, my mare strained a muscle near her sacrum and was in a lot of pain. I tried different supplements, prescription muscle relaxers, heated blankets, and liniments to help relieve her, but she was still hurting. A week after being on a combination of BL Pellets and MSM, I noticed a huge different in her movement, and she seemed to be in less pain. I think that her smartpak supplements helped her to heal faster along with massage therapy and a strict therapeutic riding schedule.BL Pellets helped make my mare comfortable and recover faster, but, as a warning, I have been told that horses with blood sugar problems have bad reactions to this product. My suggestion is to always monitor your horse after being placed on a new supplement. Good luck and happy horsing!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have noticed an improvement in my horse since I have started adding this supplement to his feed a month ago. He is an extremely picky eater and doesn't mind this supplement at all.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for elder equines. We have seven elders in our sanctuary with varying degrees of arthritis. B-L pellets have proven to provide relief for all of our elders but one.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Has the ability to ease my mare's arthritis pain without the side effects of bute.
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unsure I've had my 12 yr friesian and 19 yr old thoroughbred on this product for 3 months and have not noticed any difference to be honest. Neither horses are lame, I just bought it for their comfort in case they are stiff some mornings. But I'm not going to say that it wouldn't work for other horses. My friend swears by it, so I'll still reccommend it.
    Date published: 2011-10-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Reduce Swelling This product does not seem to make any difference. At first, you may think it's "secretly" working, but it's not. My horse still consistently stocks up, and doesn't show any difference in his comfort level. It seems cheap, but since it isn't effective, so it's just a waste of money. :(
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very excited! We are very excited about this product! Our little mare has been fighting with joint issues for two years, and has been on a bute program for way too long! Using BL Pellets has allowed us to reduce her normal high dose down to .5 grams daily in a matter of 6 weeks - and if she continues to respond this well with any luck we will be bute free at the 3 month mark! So glad our vet recommended this product!
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my older horse feel so much more comfortable. Amazing!
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.