Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat

SmartPak
- Item #13910
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Warm, waterproof and the hit of the dog park!
 
So fabulous looking, you’d never guess there are 220 grams of Thinsulate™ insulation inside keeping your dog toasty warm and dry…without a hint of added bulk. Durable 600-denier outer shell stands up to rain, snow and the most enthusiastic playmates. VELCRO® Brand chest and belly closures, for easy on/off and adjustability. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

What size coat does my dog wear?  Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7258 out of 5 by 124.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy coat! We purchased this for our pitt bull mutt cross to keep her warm during the cold winter months in Colorado, she has no hair and freezes!! We needed something warm, sturdy, and girly! So far it's been excellent. It's also held up exceptionally well to her rough-housing around with the other doggies at the barn. When it's dirty a quick run through the washer and it's good to go. Only complaint is that it was smaller than expected, I measured my dog as directed and picked the appropriate size on the website, however it ended up being just a hair short, it still works fine, but it was smaller than expected. Other than that, I am extremely pleased with the product!! It's very sturdy and holds up to the antics of a VERY energetic dog!!! And the best part? It's PINK! Nobody will ever mistake her for a boy dog ever again ;)
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIce Dog Jacket but not the most durable Advertised as having ripstop materials, this is partially true, on the exterior only, the interior is a lightweight covering over the thinsulate insulating material. One of my boxers tore up the interior of the jacket in about 1 hour after putting it on her. She removed all the "thinsulate" material and spread it all over the yard. The rip-stop exterior was in fine shape so now she has to wear it with no insulation inside. My other boxer doesn't eat things so her jacket is in original condition.Oh well, another "long lasting item" eats the dust!
    Date published: 2011-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love this product! I love this product, I've looked everywhere for a great coat that keeps my girl warm but not bulky, she loves it too, easy to get on & off, and she can still play with the other dogs, and very durable, I also had it personalized, looks beautiful.... A+
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make Sure You Measure! I got this blanket in the hopes of keeping Java dry and (relatively) clean during trips to the dog park.... it's constructed exactly like a turnout sheet with attention to those fit-and-finish details!Unfortunately my dog is wider and longer than the largest size could accomodate, so I begrudgingly returned it. On the upnote, the staff was very helpful in trying to find a similar product that would fit properly and the exchange process was simple and fast!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful item! We bought this for our dog after reading other reviews and when it arrived and he tried it on we realized that they were right!This is a great item, and the price is great as well!He doesn't have to step into it, it just lays on his back and has 2 velcro straps. One near his neck and the other under his belly.Looks nice, fits great, and it keeps my buddy warm!
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Blue and Pink Thinsulate Coats Bought one of each for my 2 dogs (IG and Whippet) Love them both. Highly recommend and already have done so. Thanks SmartPak
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Coat It made a very nice gift for my friend, a dog lover. She appreciated it a lot.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing purchase Keeps my dogs warm and dry, while allowing them the flexibility to move and jump and climb stairs. A great product.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So cute!! So cute that I had to get it for our dog, but runs small.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blankets I ordered 4 of these blankets - two were mediums, one XL, and one XXL. The blankets are all very well made and although they're lightweight, they provide a great source of warmth and protection from the wind. Using the measurement guide posted, the sizing came out just right for all of my dogs. My only dislike is of the belly strap on the XXL. My athletic Lab is very deep chested and has a slim "waist". The belly strap fits just behind his rib cage where he is narrower and the strap is too long. The blanket isn't as secure on him as the others and it tends to slide from side to side. For this reason, I would be nervous about leaving his blanket on him during the day while I'm at work. Otherwise, the fit of the other blankets is great and I was really happy with the quality.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBlue/Pink Thinsulate Dog Coats These are great, easy to put on and take off, keeps the cold Oregon rain off and the occasional snow flake. I just ordered more for the other dogs!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! This is a great coat! According to my daughter, Jennie 'prances' when she wears it - she knows she looks cute! And it keeps her warm (and dry) in the cold NJ wind! Would definitely recommend!!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! I love this blanket - it fits my new dog (who I just adopted from a local shelter) perfectly. I like that it's lightweight yet it keeps him nice and warm every morning and night while I'm at the barn taking care my horses. And the Smartblue plaid is beautiful - an added bonus!!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I am so glad that I found this incredible Thinsulate Dog Coat for our very large Boxer. It fits him beautifully and looks really nice as well. The coat is so easy to put on and take off, and it actually keeps him warm. It is not binding at all like so many other dog coatsThanks so much for offering such a great Dog Coat.
    Date published: 2010-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Great Blanket The only complaint I have is the neck/shoulder area was a little tight on my dogs but they are very broad and have thick necks. Great blanket though and great price (they look good too!)
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket!!! This was one of the best purchases I have ever made! I absolutley love the jacket, and my dog does too! He can't wait to put it on every morning :) The fit is great - just right, and it's very warm to! And...it's adorable!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fitting Doggie Coat I purchased the SmartBlue thinsulate dog coat for my puggle. The size was perfectly matched to the sizing in the book. The coat covers almost all of the dog, with the exception of his tummy. I have found the SmartPak products to be of high quality and a great value. I would reccommend SmartPak products for all dog owners' pets.
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and dry pooch we loved the coat for our miniature poodle..the fit is perfect per measurements suggested..the only issue was the belly strap was a tad too long.We ended up cutting about an inch off and sealing the end.Lucy is warm and toasty and looks very stylish. We are very happy with the product as a whole and the price was great! thank you smartpak!
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Personalized Dog Coat I don't know yet about the wear and tear of this coat, but am very pleased with the fit. The fact that the rear of the coat is darted makes it fit over the rear end of the dog very nicely so it doesn't flop back and forth like other coats. Also very neat that they personalize it with your dog's name. The service was extremely quick even with personalization...it shipped the day after I ordered it!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fitting coat yet! I have a dog that is part everything, this coat actually fits
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Greyhound Coat I bought this for my Greyhound to keep him warm and dry this winter. I was concerned that it might not fit his long, narrow body because he is such a tall, skinny guy. However, the XXXL coat adjusts to fit him very well across the front of his chest and the length is good. He also looks very handsome in it!
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ordered 3 of these. A S,M and XL, they are all fantastic. I let smart pak choose the color of the embroidery which was a good choice. The way the plaid goes on the different sizes they had to do my small in white and my other two in navy so it looked right. Thank you smart pak! Great Blanket and Great value!
    Date published: 2010-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality dog coat! I ordered one each in pink and blue for my two dogs. Both dogs were between sizes and just slightly above the measurements for the XL size, and I am glad I went down to XL (rather than going up to XXL) since the XLs fit them both perfectly. The fabric and construction look super sturdy and easy to clean, and I like the piping. The darts on the rear are a nice touch also, which give a nicely tailored fit. My only disappointment is that I guess I should not have picked black thread for the monograms, because the name on the pink coat was not centered over a pink area, and it is hard to read, since the last two letters overlap black stripes. I was hoping it would be nicely centered as in the stock photos, but I guess that doesn't always happen. So FYI, it might be best to pick an entirely different color thread.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful coat I literally wanted a turnout type rug for my dog and the SmartPak coat is excellent. The velcro is quick and easy to deal with and her coats have held up well.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not long enough The XL isn't long enough along the back for my German Short haired Pointer. Other than that the blanket is fine.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE IN EACH COLOR I purchased the first coat for our golden retreiver puppy - in pink - at the Equine Affaire. I was immediately drawn to the color, somewhat Burberryesque, and with the two velcro closures, it looked as though it wouldn't require too much wrestling to get her into it. It didn't and she practically puts it on herself now. So I purchased another in blue for our older golden. He's a big boy, but the XXL covers him right up. I'm very pleased, the coats were a reasonable price, are warm, repel water, clean up nicely. and are very fashionable.
    Date published: 2010-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coat I have a pug and she is difficult to fit- large stomach, but short in length. This is the only coat that fits well. Also, he doesn't urinate on it, like has been the story with other coats. I love it and seems warm too!
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dressed Lab Living in the High Desert of Calif., our winters can get pretty cold, sometimes single digits. I started noticing my 11 yr old lab mix curled up as tight as he could get in his straw filled dog house each morning. He is normally a very happy and active dog but seemed very stiff and depressed. So I purchased the SmartBlue Thinsulate this winter to help add another layer to keep him warm. I thought he would hate it because he has never worn a blanket of any kind in his 11 years. Well, he loves it!! He runs up and puts his head through the front opening and stands perfectly still while I adjust the belly strap each evening. He now proudly trots around the yard sporting his bright blue blanket (I'm sure he would have preferred a camo color for which he loves to hunt). He is capable of tearing things up which he has not attempted at all while wearing it in the last month of having it. He no longer acts stiff and is quick to get out of the dog house to help me feed in the morning. The size I got was an XL which was what the size chart indicated to fit and it fits perfect.
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I have a mini beagle and he never wanted to go outside to do his thing when it was windy or really cold. After i bought the coat, he goes out no matter what! I think its a little big for him but its fine because it covers his legs. I would definatley reccomned this coat!!
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog Coat Around! We have had this coat for about 2 weeks. She loves her coat and it keeps her nice and warm even on those below freezing days. its extremely well made i love this coat!!she measures 15inches down her back so I got her the medium and It fit her perfect!
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    • 2015-03-06T09:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_113
    • loc_en_US, sid_3910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.