Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #13907
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Add to your SmartBlue® and SmartPink® collection with our fabulous SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnout Blankets.

Favorite Features

  • Tough 1200 denier waterproof polyester outer with a polyester lining
  • Thinsulate lining provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight
  • Polished stainless steel hardware, double buckle front closure
  • Elastic leg straps
  • Tail flap
  • Shoulder gussets
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at the wither. 

Imported

Sizing It Up
SmartBlue® or SmartPink® Plaid w/black trim. Sizes 51 - 84.

For turnout blankets, we recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7081 out of 5 by 161.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I actually bought this blanket when my horse was younger and smaller and then I gave it to a friend for her mare when my girl matured and out grew it. I loved the blanket, and each time I saw my friend's horse wearing this beautiful blanket I thought about getting my mare another. Finally I did and I love having it again. It looks beautiful, has a great feel to it, and keeps my mare warm and dry.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! This is a great blanket for my SR TB. fits him perfectly! Keeps him nice and warm, easy to layer with a stable blanket for the frigid nights, and he still can move freely! Id buy another one! Love it. looks better then I thought it would.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ole Sway-back Mare now Fashionista Pleased with the weight and fit. Repels winter elements to satifaction (rain and cold). I live in the deep South, and sometimes the temperature will be 28 at night, and it may be 62 degrees the next day before I can get out to the ranch to remove Lillie's blanket. Therefore, I was concerned about purchasing a medium weight blanket, but this blanket wicks away sweat well. The blanket makes this ole sway-back mare look like a fashionista! I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute! I bought this for my small pony in a size 63. She looks adorable in it, I also have the matching dog one, and I would easily buy this for my big mare. It seems very sturdy and the features are nice. IMO it runs a tiny bit small but not a ton. Has held up well considering she is turned out with seven others.
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket for the Price I've had this blanket for 2 months so I can't speak of durability--but this is a great purchase. This is a lightweight blanket that my teensy self has no problem putting on and taking off, which I wish I could say for all the blankets I've dealt with. People actually assume it's a lightweight instead of the medium-weight that it is! The blue plaid color is striking on my black-bay, and the quality is clearly very good for such a reasonable price. My skinny OTTB stays nice and toasty in inclement weather. I would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Turnout, great price! I bought this turnout on sale at the Natick store and it has been worth every penny and then some. It is lightweight, but still provides excellent warmth. While my other two mare's blankets have pulls and small holes in them from where the horses nip at each other, the SmartPak blanket has held up extremely well. I plan to buy them for my other two mares for next winter. I did not find that the blanket ran large like others have said. My mare normally wears a 75 and I purchased a 75. The blanket I bought fits true to size.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Great fit on my lanky 20 yr old Thoroughbred gelding. The lining keeps his coat shiny underneath and all the mud and water out. Great product at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout blanket Very nice blanket. Only received a four because I have only had it 2 months and has been used little. We are having a warm winter. The blanket looks great, fits great, and is water proof. I couldn't ask for more. Sizing runs true. So far no rips, tares, or blemishes of any kind even with my busy paint trying his best.
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to blanket! I think I have reviewed this blanket before, but I am leaving another one just as a testimonial to its durability. I ordered my first one of these in 2009, and it lasted my pony 2 years (he LOVES to roll. everywhere.) The only reason it ripped was because he was turned out by a careless stablehand who neglected to see the belly strap was not fastened securely, so it got stepped on and ripped. I ordered another one because I love the blanket and the color. My pony has everything SmartBlue, and he has had it since I knew SmartPak existed. He is a larger pony, so I have a hard time finding blankets that fit him properly, but this one fits him perfect. It also keeps him very warm, even in bitter cold temperatures, and it holds up well in snow and rain. He is always dry, cozy, and happy. I've gotten tons of compliments on it as well. I just ordered another one because the one he has now is starting to rip, but I blame that on my new 3 year old that loves to play and nibble on everything, including his big brother's blanket. Also, the coloring on this holds up well even in the sun. It had just started to fade out this year. I love this blanket, and I will continue to use it as my turnout as long as it is offered.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and stylish Ordered this for a horse that had never been blanketed. Through a harsh MN winter with temps well below zero, it has kept him warm and dry. He seems to like having it on. It has stood up well to continual use so far. Saw they run a bit large, so ordered one size down and that works for us. Hind leg straps are stretching out quickly as other reviewers note, so will replace those. Pleased so far.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute turnout! I bought this for my small pony and it looks and fits great. She is a size 63 so she looks adorable. My dog also has the matching coat and hers has been very durable though I can't speak for the horse one yet. Seems to be made very well.
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchased this turnout in December and love it. It is such a nice blanket that 2 other riders in the barn now have them for their horses. :D My major reason for purchasing the thinsulate was lightness and ease of use. It't resfreshing to be able to blanket a horse with a warm blanket and not struggle to put the blanket on. Started out with a 75 but exchanged it for a 78. My horse is just turning 5 and I thought it would be wise to purchase something he "could grow in to". Love the warmth of the blanket, he's clipped on his underneck and chest and the weather has been into the single digits and he has been toasty in the barn. When the temps are really cold (low 20's) and it's windy I toss a lightweight turnout over it for outdoor use. Wish Smartpak offered a neck cover for it.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from SmartPink thinsulate turnout blanket So disappointed in the quality of this blanket. I didn't even remove it from the clear bag and I could see the fabric at one of the main seams was already fraying...needless to say I won't even be taking it out of the bag and am returning it.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific midweight blanket This blanket strikes a nice balance between insulation, moisture proofing and weight -- perfect for chilly damp days and eves in northern California. Nice hardware, easy on and off. Plus, it looks stunning on my rose-gray WB mare -- as if it were designed just for her!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout but runs big This is a great turnout with thinsulate. My horse that would wear a 78 in a Baker sheet would wear a 75 in this blanket. My horse that wears an 80 in Baker wears a 78 in this blanket, however it is still big. I like the durability and the cut.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This is a pretty and good quality blanket. It's done a good job of keeping my horse warm and dry. I like that it doesn't weigh much. I wish that it had snaps for fasterners rather than buckles and those strange slotted metal thingies. I like that it has velcro on the front. Fitwise - I think the length is true but wish there was a little more room in the shoulders. It definitely is tight across the shoulders and snugger than I like across the withers.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute blanket! Love love love this blanket! Fits my Warmblood mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mine didn't hold up very well To be fair, I bought my blanket three years ago but it has gotten very light use. It appears as though the newer versions are constructed a bit differently and they look better made. My horse is a 68" and I bought a 69" and it is really, really long on him. He's a large & long pony with short legs so I dealt with it but now the entire blanket is unraveling and coming apart at the seams. It has only been laundered professionally 3x. He has had a turnout sheet for more than 10 years with heavy use and that just got ripped this year so I can't say that he abuses his blankets, far from it. He is very clean. His blanket has stiching across the top and sides and that all has come unstitched with ripping across these seams. Maybe I just got a bad blanket. In the future I will never buy a blanket with seams or this particular "smart plaid" style. It's going in the garbage after this winter.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it great blanket, very pretty, does run large but am happy with my purchase
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Light weight. Easy to handle. Horse seems to like wearing it. Good fit on the horse. Just replace those leg straps first thing.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit my belgin!!! Love this blanket!! Not only dose it fit my huge belgin draft mare but it matches all my saddle bags:) my horse love this on cold nights and turnouts and I love it because it's not as bulky as a normaly heavy weight blanket
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough, Terrific Blanket Just purchased my second SmartBlue Thinsulate Blanket. The first one has lasted more than three years and my boy is tough on his blanket. His old one only has one small worn place in the lining after three seasons of abuse! The only reason I'm getting a new one is that he finally outgrew the first one. No question about getting another SmartBlue Thinsulate. It is the perfect weight for our fairly mild winters, stands up to mud rolling and roughhousing, is very light to put on and off, and best of all, fits in my washing machine! I was very excited to see that SmartPak has replaced the formerly pitiful leg straps with hefty new ones, so no need for the substitute leg straps I bought. Since the leg straps were the only bad thing about the first blanket, I'm giving this new improved version five stars all the way!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leg straps are awful! I have 2 of these turnouts for a gelding and a mare I own and they are good quality overall EXCEPT the awful leg straps! They stretch out immediately and you have to replace them. This is a flaw that should be fixed by SmartPak. Other than the leg straps, the blankets have held up well and seem to keep the horses warm and dry. If you decide to buy this, you might as well order separate leg straps at the same time.
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is the first time I had my horse in a winter blanket. She is a 30 year old Morgan mare. So far, this blanket is wonderful! Not only is it very stylish, but it seems very durable and warm. She stands out from her herd mates when she's wearing it. I love it!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have only used this for a few days, but the quality feels good and the color looks AWESOME on my bay mare!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Blue thinsulate turnout Great quality& fit!!!! I feel assured my filly will stay nice and warm in this blanket!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! I just received this blanket for my medium pony. I ordered a size 66, and it fits her beautifully. The blanket itself is very pretty and is made of a very nice material. I got her name monogramed on the blanket, and the quality of the monogram is just beautiful. Such a great price for the blanket! I am very happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the blanket I needed I really wanted a blanket for those cold, wet, days. Something really water proof with a bit of added warmth. This seems to fit the bill. I have a 12y/o QH/TB cross. Weatherbeeta fits him really well and he is usually an 82'', but sometimes a 78''. Other reviews said this blanket runs large so I got a 78. It fits him great in the body but is a little tight in the neck. I think it will work, I just hope it doesn't rub his shoulders. It's really nice looking and looks like a good quality blanket that will last years.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't Be Happier! My Hanoverian/TB mare has a wide chest, leaving her prone to rubbing sores from her blankets. Not with this one! It fits her perfectly, and she looks super smart. True to size, washes well, durable. My mare puts her blankets through the wringer, and this one has survived 2 years without a snag!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BLANKET!!! I purchased this blanket for my Arabian mare, who of course is hard to fit. It fits her beautifully and has stood up to several years of wear now, after a wash it looks brand new again! I have since purchased one for another arabian mare and loved it on her as well! I am a FOREVER SmartPink & SmartBlue turnout user!!!! LOVE THEM!!
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    • 2015-03-06T09:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_152
    • loc_en_US, sid_3907, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.