Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #13907
Please note that the SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnouts are being offered at a discounted rate due to an imperfection on the label of the blanket, small pink dots can be found. This does not affect the quality of the blanket, only the aesthetics. Click here to view the label

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Add to your SmartBlue® and SmartPink® collection with our fabulous SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Turnout Blankets.

Featuring tough 1200 denier waterproof polyester outer with a polyester lining. Thinsulate lining provides the equivalent of 220g of fill without the weight. Polished stainless steel hardware, double buckle front closure, elastic leg straps, tail flap, shoulder gussets, dual belly surcingles, and fleece at the wither. 

20% of our net profit on any SmartPink® Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

SmartBlue® or SmartPink® Plaid w/black trim. Sizes 51 - 84.

Imported.

For turnout blankets, we recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse

Get Free Embroidery when you sign up for Barn Saver Shipping.Click here for details.
You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPink® & SmartBlue® Thinsulate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.726 out of 5 by 146.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and indestructible ! I bought this more than a month ago and after use and abuse it looks as good as it did the day I took it out of the package. My rough and tough 5 year old Appy has given it a run for its money and it looks like new! The fit and features are super!
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a nice looking, affordable blanket! I was looking for an affordable new mid weight for my gelding. He goes out with the turnout bandits, so 1200 denier was a must, as I needed a blanket which can withstand being tugged at and group turnout. I was surprised at how handsome and classic this blanket was, and liked it EVEN more once I tried it on my horse.My horse is notoriously hard to fit, and I've kept him in 75/76" blankets but due to many review suggestions, sized down to a 72". I am very glad I did! The cut of the blanket is quite flattering, and generous and I was pleased at how lightweight the turnout is due to the Thinsulate material inside.I am still waiting to see how durable this blanket actually is, so may write a followup review, but the cut, look and weight are awesome for my horse so far. I even got this on sale which made things even sweeter!Please definitely size down, enjoy that you are also supporting Breast Cancer Research with your purchase and enjoy this wonderfully attractive turnout blanket!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Turnout Blanket I bought this for my paint mare...and it is a great fit for her.  I needed a turnout that sat a bit high up on her neck and yet long enough in the body.  It is all that and then some...
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I got the SmartPink for my chestnut QH mare. She is very very stocky with a big hind end and muscled chest, all in less than 15.3H. I was a little worried this item may not fit, but I was pleasantly surprised! It isn't too big on her at all and doesn't restrict her. It fits everywhere it needs to. She hasn't sweated on warmer days up into the 60's and is nice and warm during our cold snap right now (down to the 20's in Northern California!). She seems much happier than the other horses and I am pleased with the quality. Plus, the pink plaid is a very nice bonus.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good Blanket This blanket I think is a good quality blanket. It fits pretty well and it's warm. During the cold weather we've been having in North Carolina, when I put my hand under the blanket to feel his temperature he seems quite cozy! But it doesn't seem to get too hot either when it's sunny or not as cold outside. Of course I wouldn't put it on over 30 or 35 degrees. My horse is a 15h Morgan/QH cross, so he's very stocky with very broad, square shoulders. I felt like this blanket was a little tight in the withers and shoulders, but it fit him well everywhere else (I included pictures, not very good quality). A lot of reviews said to go down a size from what you would usually order because this blanket runs a little big, but I think if you have a stockier horse you can probably get away with the normal size you usually get. This blanket has withstood my horse who is turned out 24/7 with a group of 5 other geldings, two of which are young and like to play, and he really enjoys rolling. Thought it doesn't fit my horse perfectly, I think it is a good quality blanket and worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is a very cute blanket and it looks adorable on my daughter's pony! It seems well made and the fit was perfect. I wish that it had clips on the front because trying to do up the buckles in the freezing cold is not fun, but other than that I really like all the features. I'm hoping it holds up really well. It seems quite sturdy, but only time will tell!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Love the color, we have one of each: SmartPink plaid, and SmartBlue plaid. Our horses have free choice access to shelter 24/7 year round. If weather gets extreme is the only time they are stalled. These blankets keep them dry is torrential rains and warm in cold weather and warm and dry when the weather is cold and wet. 2 of the three blankets we have had and used for 5 years, and still going strong. They stay in place very well and fit great.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! But still waiting for a matching neckrug! Love this blanket set, the pink plaid looks lovely on my palomino mare. I am getting ready to order the blue plaid for my palomino gelding. I just really wish SmartPak would make matching neck covers for these blankets!
    Date published: 2013-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnouts I have been ordering these turnouts for my horses for many years. They are perfect for temps from 20 degrees to 55 degrees. You can go higher if the horses are not in the sun.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorite blanket! Bought the blanket for a small-ish WB in size 78 and couldn't be happier. She has a strong, solid build but is not super-tall, and this fits her frame perfectly. And the rose-grey plaid on my grey mare looks custom made for her! She has a mouthy gelding barnmate who has yet to rip the outer shell, despite a full season of trying. Great quality, perfect weight (for northern CA), durable, easy on-off, spectacular looks, good price. I'd buy another in a heartbeat.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good light blanket Really like the hook & loop at chest allowing me to angle chest closure to customize neck fitting. Great (forward) wither coverage, which can be a problem on Morgans. Had read previous ratings so ordered a size smaller and that fit just perfectly! I am very pleased with the SmartBlue (sorry I hate pink) and I'm sure my 26 year old girl enjoys the light, but warm, Thinsulate for this her lite blanket.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best perfect blanket For more than 40 years i haven bought second hand blankets. Why not, they are cheaper than new and they last until there is no guilt at tossing them out. Call me foolish! Little did i know that a thin blanket is lighter and easier to put on, a warm blanket means there is only one layer - faster for me, and water resistant means I don't have to change a sopping blanket in the pouring rain, plus a heavy rip free fabric contributes to longer wear and longer life. This is simply the best horse accessory I have ever purchased!!! Worth ever penny and i plan to replace all my old, used blankets next season.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality for the Price This thinsulate-filled waterproof blanket is an excellent buy and fills a much-needed spot in my horse's wardrobe. Its lightweight warmth is just what my 29 year old Arab needs on our occasionally cold winter nights. But, it runs big, and that makes it hard to fit. The 69" was too long on his tail and the 66" was too short on his tail. I chose the 66" to give him room to lift his tail easily. It works and he's a happy retired pony.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice California blanket Great weight for foothills of Ca where it gets 30-40 degrees at night in winter, plus its not too heavy weight-wise. My mare is not clipped, but has access to a barn stall. I do put a different higherfill blanket on when the weather dips below freezing.It fits well on my 14.1 Arab who is short backed. I like the shorter turnouts that don't hang low over her tail and get all filthy. Plus the old girl can get up and lay down easily in it. I would buy one again.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm buying one for each horse! I got one of these blankets early on for a retired horse who spends long hours out in the Oregon downpours. It keeps him dry - no rainrot for him and has endured being picked on, bitten at and washed with hardly any wear showing. It washes well. I am buying one for all the rest of my horses. 4 Years is a lot of wear for a horse blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRIGHT Pasture ornament I have used one of these blankets on an older horse for 4 years. Other than the tail flap being ripped off by one of the youngsters in the field, It has held up great! He is hard to fit due to jutting withers and he has done fine. It appears to fit my round barrel brood mare just fine also How is that?
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a cute blanket I bought this blanket twice! Once in pink for my small paint pony and another in baby blue for my grey large pony. They both look adorable and it keeps them toasty warm. Seem to be pretty durable as well. No problems with the fit.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I actually bought this blanket when my horse was younger and smaller and then I gave it to a friend for her mare when my girl matured and out grew it. I loved the blanket, and each time I saw my friend's horse wearing this beautiful blanket I thought about getting my mare another. Finally I did and I love having it again. It looks beautiful, has a great feel to it, and keeps my mare warm and dry.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! This is a great blanket for my SR TB. fits him perfectly! Keeps him nice and warm, easy to layer with a stable blanket for the frigid nights, and he still can move freely! Id buy another one! Love it. looks better then I thought it would.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ole Sway-back Mare now Fashionista Pleased with the weight and fit. Repels winter elements to satifaction (rain and cold). I live in the deep South, and sometimes the temperature will be 28 at night, and it may be 62 degrees the next day before I can get out to the ranch to remove Lillie's blanket. Therefore, I was concerned about purchasing a medium weight blanket, but this blanket wicks away sweat well. The blanket makes this ole sway-back mare look like a fashionista! I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute! I bought this for my small pony in a size 63. She looks adorable in it, I also have the matching dog one, and I would easily buy this for my big mare. It seems very sturdy and the features are nice. IMO it runs a tiny bit small but not a ton. Has held up well considering she is turned out with seven others.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket for the Price I've had this blanket for 2 months so I can't speak of durability--but this is a great purchase. This is a lightweight blanket that my teensy self has no problem putting on and taking off, which I wish I could say for all the blankets I've dealt with. People actually assume it's a lightweight instead of the medium-weight that it is! The blue plaid color is striking on my black-bay, and the quality is clearly very good for such a reasonable price. My skinny OTTB stays nice and toasty in inclement weather. I would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Turnout, great price! I bought this turnout on sale at the Natick store and it has been worth every penny and then some. It is lightweight, but still provides excellent warmth. While my other two mare's blankets have pulls and small holes in them from where the horses nip at each other, the SmartPak blanket has held up extremely well. I plan to buy them for my other two mares for next winter. I did not find that the blanket ran large like others have said. My mare normally wears a 75 and I purchased a 75. The blanket I bought fits true to size.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Great fit on my lanky 20 yr old Thoroughbred gelding. The lining keeps his coat shiny underneath and all the mud and water out. Great product at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout blanket Very nice blanket. Only received a four because I have only had it 2 months and has been used little. We are having a warm winter. The blanket looks great, fits great, and is water proof. I couldn't ask for more. Sizing runs true. So far no rips, tares, or blemishes of any kind even with my busy paint trying his best.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to blanket! I think I have reviewed this blanket before, but I am leaving another one just as a testimonial to its durability. I ordered my first one of these in 2009, and it lasted my pony 2 years (he LOVES to roll. everywhere.) The only reason it ripped was because he was turned out by a careless stablehand who neglected to see the belly strap was not fastened securely, so it got stepped on and ripped. I ordered another one because I love the blanket and the color. My pony has everything SmartBlue, and he has had it since I knew SmartPak existed. He is a larger pony, so I have a hard time finding blankets that fit him properly, but this one fits him perfect. It also keeps him very warm, even in bitter cold temperatures, and it holds up well in snow and rain. He is always dry, cozy, and happy. I've gotten tons of compliments on it as well. I just ordered another one because the one he has now is starting to rip, but I blame that on my new 3 year old that loves to play and nibble on everything, including his big brother's blanket. Also, the coloring on this holds up well even in the sun. It had just started to fade out this year. I love this blanket, and I will continue to use it as my turnout as long as it is offered.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and stylish Ordered this for a horse that had never been blanketed. Through a harsh MN winter with temps well below zero, it has kept him warm and dry. He seems to like having it on. It has stood up well to continual use so far. Saw they run a bit large, so ordered one size down and that works for us. Hind leg straps are stretching out quickly as other reviewers note, so will replace those. Pleased so far.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute turnout! I bought this for my small pony and it looks and fits great. She is a size 63 so she looks adorable. My dog also has the matching coat and hers has been very durable though I can't speak for the horse one yet. Seems to be made very well.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchased this turnout in December and love it. It is such a nice blanket that 2 other riders in the barn now have them for their horses. :D My major reason for purchasing the thinsulate was lightness and ease of use. It't resfreshing to be able to blanket a horse with a warm blanket and not struggle to put the blanket on. Started out with a 75 but exchanged it for a 78. My horse is just turning 5 and I thought it would be wise to purchase something he "could grow in to". Love the warmth of the blanket, he's clipped on his underneck and chest and the weather has been into the single digits and he has been toasty in the barn. When the temps are really cold (low 20's) and it's windy I toss a lightweight turnout over it for outdoor use. Wish Smartpak offered a neck cover for it.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from SmartPink thinsulate turnout blanket So disappointed in the quality of this blanket. I didn't even remove it from the clear bag and I could see the fabric at one of the main seams was already fraying...needless to say I won't even be taking it out of the bag and am returning it.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.