Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Fieldsafe™ Halter

Horseware Ireland
- Item #13886

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

VELCRO® brand breaking points are designed to release at a given pressure. The Field Safe Halter comes with two safety release straps. One has release strength on average of approximately 88lbs and the other approximately 176lbs. You can assess the risk and choose the level of release relevant to each situation and your type of horse. The Field Safe Halter is nylon with velvet padding on adjustable nose and headpiece. Pony (fits average ponies), Cob (fits average horses), or Horse (fits large horses and warmbloods). 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fieldsafe™ Halter is rated 4.3611 out of 5 by 36.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saving Money on Leather Pieces While a calm horse generally, my horse does seem to panic if he feels pressure on his head. If the pressure doesn't release, he's at a serious risk of flipping over. I bought this halter to try to avoid having to constantly replace leather breakaway pieces. So far, it's working perfectly for that reason!A couple of critiques: 1. The padding on the halter is exceptionally low quality. My horse doesn't wear this halter except when in the barn (he is turned out and stalled bare-headed), but if he wore it more often I would worry about rubs. 2. The hardware does seem like it might break easily. 3. From an asthetics view, the halter is kind of ugly, especially with "Fieldsafe" written so largely on the side.All in all, I'm happy with the halter. It does it's job and easily releases my horse when he panics, and is very easy to immediately reattach. If I want something nicer, I just use our nice leather halter.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety halter I bought this for my older horse after he started having trouble in cross-ties after an unfortunate incident. Long story but he was going through safety halters like mad. The leather pieces are expensive to replace. One time the leather breakaway didn't break, he pulled back so hard that one of the metal pieces on the halter broke and he slightly injured himself. I liked the idea of a Velcro piece so you don't have to replace leather. I only had one time where this halter relesed since my horse is *mostly* cured of his head-tied problem now. And I was glad that the halter released before my horse pulled hard enough to hurt himself! I use the lesser of the two attachments so it releases sooner. They do run small, as I bought the cob for an average horse head and it fits well. I have been using this halter for almost a year and it has held up well. I bought one for my other horse because it works so well.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter for my escape artist Love this halter for my 1600 pound draft cross. He hates being caught so I need to leave a halter on him. I feel safe with him wearing this at all times. The only reason I had to get a new one was that he brokethe throat clip.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst purchase My horse wore this for 1 week. He caught it on something in his stall. The velcro did not pull apart but one of the rings broke and pulled apart. So disappointed because it was more money then I wanted to spend but it came in red and He looks great in that color. This is the first time I have been unhappy with a Smartpak product.
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit XL horses The halter is described as fitting large horses, but it doesn't. I have a shire x with a typical draft head. The nose band was way to tight to use.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good safety halter This halter is a great idea, the velcro releases if necessary and you dont have to keep buying replacement leather pieces. I have not had mine release yet so I can't comment on how that works, but the halter is pretty well made, only issue I can see is that the thin padding inside the noseband and crown piece doesn't look like it will stay intact for very long. It does run large, my horse usually does fine in a regular horse size, but the cob size they recommended fits well.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, safe halter The Fieldsafe Halter is an excellent quality product with an extra safe design. One word of caution - the sizes run partially large. The customer rep did explain that to me, but I was still surprised by how large they ranNormally I would order the "horse" size for my quarter horses. Due to the customer rep's recommendation, I ordered a "cob" for this particular young horse. It was still too large.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not buy again I have ordered 4 of these halters. All four have fallen apart from halter tag games within three months. This is not a durable halter in my opinion.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Yeah!! It works! No more broken head stall strap! Use only on the crossties, so I use the lessor strength breakaway tab, and it works!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Great quality, very hardy. Velcro works great and I like the 2 options you have (breaking free with different levels of pressure). I use this to trailer and tie our horse so if she freaks out she will get free before she hurts herself. Love it !!
    Date published: 2010-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just ok, but practical Wasn't blown away by this halter, it's o.k., durable, gets the job done. Runs large. Wish they had it in better colors and then I think I'd like it better. But, I do have to remember it's not a show halter, but a practical halter for pasture safety.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Idea.......... I bought this halter for my horse when he was at a training facility that required halters 24/7. He's a gray and his hair rubs out instantly from a halter. I tried sheepskin and pretty much everything else. Yes this halter still rubbed him bald. It may have been better than some other ones, but it isn't perfect in that aspect. Also there was an incident where the halter broke, there is a piece missing and I can't find a place to order the spare parts. It's useless now, so for the price it only lasted about 6 months. Good idea, but needs better execution!
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product If your horse has to wear a halter when turned out all day then this is the halter for you. The velvet inside the halter is so soft and doesn't rub the hair. I feel so safe with the velcro that she will never be caught and no annoying replaceable leather straps. Safe for the trailer too because of the break away feature. Fully adjustable and I love that it has the snap under the throat. Best Halter.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Concept Bought this halter to replace halter with breakaway crown. I bought the recommended size for my 17h horse, and it fits him beautifully. The green color is your standard hunter green. The velvet-type lining seems a bit cheap (why not regular padding?), and the nylon webbing of which the halter is made is slightly less substantial then your average nylon halter--feels like single ply instead of double ply. I just got it, so I can't attest to its durability yet. The horse has only worn it for 3 days, but without any rubs so far. All in all, though, it seems like it will do its job and unless it doesn't hold up well to regular use, I would happily buy another one.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good everyday halter a little expensive for what it is.The colors are awful.
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Safe Turnout Halter I love the fact that this is a break away halter (if your horse wears a halter during turnout) and that I don't have to buy the leather replacement straps that other break away halters require.Very cool design.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product I actually won this halter in a contest, and I love it. I would probably not have ordered it for myself, since my horse doesn't wear a halter in turnout, but it will be perfect for when the farrier comes. My horse sometimes pulls back in the cross ties when the farrier is working on him. I can't always be there, and I've tried to tell my mom that she shouldn't cross tie him, but she doesn't always listen ;) So in our case, it will be the Parent Safe Halter! It seems very well made and I like the fact that there are 2 different "fuses" so you can choose the amount of force required to activate the breakaway. I only chose 4 stars for durability because I haven't used it long enough to evaluate this.
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Handsome/durable This halter is great! The soft lining on the interior to the durable quality as a whole make this a nicer halter than fancy leather ones I've owned. It stay cleaner to, especially since the dust where I live is atrocious, and dust loves oiled leather! It also doesn't break just like that. I've ridden in it, and it holds up against the abuses of my 6 yr old mouthy gelding. Very happy.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Using this on a hard-to-fit Morgan, it's working out well and we like the safety features for outdoor turnout.
    Date published: 2009-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter This is a replacement for my mare's 4+year old Field Safe halter. The old one is still useable and solid, but the velvet is getting worn - so have this in her locker waiting for it's turn. After leather crowned halters ran dye down her face and Chicago screw tab halters unscrewed themselves we found the Field Safe and have both been happy! This one is a little stiff, but I am sure that it will soften up after a some use and a couple of washes. The only reason that this is rated 4 in value, is that her 1st Field Safe is so old, it cost less than $20.!
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter really nice halter. this will be the halter i purchase for all my horses now.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish I had thought of it! The Field Safe Halter is great. I like the soft lining which is against the horse. I like the flexibility of the velcro in making it fit well. And most of all I like the safety of the halter.I just took two leather halters to the Amish repair shop. In the future I will only buy the Field Safe Halters. I was able to convert another halter with the extra velcro that comes with each halter. Maybe I shouldn't mention that.
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses who pull back After going through 3 leather halters in a month from my gelding pulling back, I bought the Fieldsafe. It works great. The Velcro releases under pressure (I use the 88lb strength) and the halter does not rub or burn the horse's skin as can happen with nylon. I cannot attest to how it holds up or works in turnout as my horse is turned out halter-free; but if you have a horse who occassionally pulls back, this halter breaks immediately without a lot of fuss. Plus it's simple to put back together. It does run a little big - even on my 16.2 warmblood.
    Date published: 2009-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed The new facility we moved our horses to requires that all horses turned out have halters left on. After much research on turnout halters I settled on the FieldSafe halters. Upon their arrival I was disappointd. The nylon was hard and the padding was not what I would have considered sufficient to leave on any of my horses for 8 hours. I packed them up and sent them back before I even took them out to the barn.
    Date published: 2009-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Field Safe Makes Me Feel Safe I feel great knowing that my horse is turned out in a Field Safe Halter. I used to get nervous turning her out in a traditional leather halter, the old breakaway standby, because I have seen so many that didn't break when they really needed to. I really like that the halter comes with two different strength velcro pieces. And the best part- it can be put back together after 'breaking away'! The only thing that would make this halter a little better was if it came in more colors than just Red or Green.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A smart and safe halter! I just love the design of this halter. I have never seen anything like it. Instead of the typical leather safety release piece this halter uses a Velcro safety release. The safety release comes in two "strengths" so you can choose how much force it will take to release the halter. This is an EXCELLENT choice for horses that get turned out in their halters because it is a sturdy and washable nylon safety halter.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.