Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7184 out of 5 by 174.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice looking but not comfortable Had to send this back...it looked really nice and seemed good quality but it was stiff and didn't fit her right, she was not comfortable at all and refused to move or lay down. 
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good dog blanket I'm not into "Dog Clothing"! this is as functional as a turnout  blanket for a horse.  My do works with me and when it's wet and cold this is the ticket and Levi hasn't destroyed it yet!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Looks great, fit perfectly. I wish personalization was available on belly strap as shown in site picture. It is keeping my baby warm, dry and clean.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but lighter weight than I expected. I bought two blankets, one for my smallish Lab and the other for my very small Beagle. They are beautifully made, very pretty and sturdy. They run VERY small. I measured both dogs carefully and ordered the recommended sizes and had to send both back for the next larger size. The return was very easy and I got the replacements fairly quickly. The blankets would have been five stars except that they are lighter weight than I expected, but good for most Central Texas weather. Hind leg loops would help on the larger size.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love these blankets for my dogs. I ordered the XL since it said to measure up and they are a little long on my Dobies, but still work fine. I love the easy Velcro features for easy on and off.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy On, Easy Off, and Easy to Keep Clean Have been very happy with the SmartPak Thinsulate dog coat for my short-haired Border Collie. He's a very active year-old male now living in Wyoming, so protection from wind and cold is important when he is out working or gallavanting. With this active a dog, it was easy to teach him to "get dressed" and "get undressed" with this two-strap coat. It stays in place even when running at full speed. It's light-weight, yet keeps the wind at bay. Highly recommend this product~
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat for a fox terrier! It fits! I can't believe it. The back is short enough that it fits a dog with a tail that stands straight up! Good quality. Little pricey, bit I expect it will last.
    Date published: 2013-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this coat stays clean, stays on and resists tears. I've had two of these for a couple years now. We have 5 dogs at the barn and they run, play and bite each other all day long. This coat keeps my vanilla lab short hair dog warm all day and stays on. Stays dry in the rain.Can't use fleece as it holds all the hay and shavings. The smooth lining on this one sheds all that. He would be miserable without it. Thank you so much for carrying it, please don't ever discontinue this one. The only thing is he's a thin lab build 65 lb and he's in the largest size so I am saying it runs a little small. I used to have a more muscular build lab 90 lb and a taller doberman suzuki cross both with longer backs, and the largest size would have been too small for both of them. So if your dog is really big, maybe Smart Pak would consider offering larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit! I have a lab puppy that loves to run around in the snow and this blanket keeps her dry and warm and stays in place!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 4 and love them! I recently ordered 4 of these blankets, one for each of my dogs and although they run a bit big they are perfect and keep them cozy! I even had each one of them embroidered with their name and they look great! They stay on and are very adjustable with the Velcro.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I ordered a jacket for my Spaniel mix and was so impressed with it that I ordered another one for my whippet mix, who is touch sensitive. They fit perfectly, are easy to put on, which my whippet appreciates and they look great. They are warm without being bulky. They are wonderful!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it! I have an American bulldog, so I was a little worried about the fit. The velcro straps make this jacket adjustable and fits great. My dog has short fur, so not a lot of jackets work great when it's below 0 and windy out... this one sure did! My dog would even wait for me to put it on him, and sometimes would refuse to leave the house just to go potty without it! I've had this jacket all winter long, washed it a few times, my horse even pulls on it, and it's stood up well! No rips, tears or fraying. I would definitely recommend this, and will be buying a new one if the current one ever gets worn out
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute dog coat We ordered two of these this year for our beagles. The dogs run all over the farm in their coats and these coats have held up well so far. Plus the coats look adorable on the dogs.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicer than it looked in the photo This is a really nice dog coat. It is lightweight so my dog moves freely. Even though it is light in weight, it is a nice and warm coat. We also discovered it is water resistant when we got caught about a mile from the barn when a downpour started. The only thing is that it is a bit long in the body for my dog. He was right on the line of sizes and the recommendation was to order the larger size. Several dog owners at my barn ordered these when they went on sale. All had great feedback. Most ordered the monogramming also and it is really nice and good looking. If I had a recommendation for the company, it would be to have the option for a harness hole in the body. I simply added a button hole with my own machine to access the harness lead.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Have bought two for my and a friends boxer. The way the coat goes on is very simple and it doesn't hinder their movement or bother them. Durable, good company to do business with.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat This is her second coat---only because she outgrew her first one. Keeps her warm and dry, excellent fit! Great coat, great value! Thank you, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from highly recommend I have ordered 3 previous blankets for my dog and none fit him. I saw this blanket on sale before Christmas and decided to give it at try. It fit perfectly! I love the way it fits him and he loves it too!
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Rain Coat Our climate is wet and we live with two large dogs. While the weather doesn't bother them (Great Pyrenees), we do get tired of wet dogs in our small house. This coat fits our small Pyr (80 lbs) pretty well and is easy to get on/off. It really helps to keep them dry--they don't need any insulation but it doesn't bother them. It's not easy to find coats to fit really big dogs and this was also an excellent price.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice coat I bought this and am very pleased. The sizing was true to the listing online and it fits my 50 pound mutt very well. I was fortunate enough to get it on sale, but I think it's worth the full price. Jack rolls around in it (see pic) and it stays put. I like that all the fastenings are velcro, so it's really fast and easy to put on and take off.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Turn-Out! I have a 77 pound goldendoodle. I bought this specifically to cut down on the snow balls and the wet coat that he always came in with, especially on stormy days. I bought the XXLarge and it came just to the beginning of where his tail is. He probably could have gotten the next size up but I was afraid that it would drive him nuts over his tail. The coat is lightweight and repels the water perfectly. We don't even unstrap the neck portion. We fit it to him once then just pull it over his head and attache belly. Takes seconds and dries quick. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket My (large) Golden Retriever loves this coat as much as I do. It keeps him warm and dry, and is a snap to get on & off. It also stays in place because of the hip darts- and my guy really puts that to the test while rolling around in the snow!
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made Dog Coat Two of our farm dogs were needing new coats so we bought a green and a blue. The coats are well-made, fit the dogs nicely, and they are easy to put on and take off. One dog has been running all over farm and through the woods and has yet to loose her coat to a local coyote.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great dog blanket Keeps my vizla warm enough to stay out and play with the hairy dogs.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cody loves it! I bought this for my border collie when it is raining. I should mention that he is a house dog as much as an outdoor dog. This well made dog coat keeps him dry and less muddy. As a picky border collie, I find that he likes wearing his dog coat on trips to the mailbox and the barn. I guess Cody just has good fashion sense.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the money The fit of this jacket is perfect. Plenty of room in the chest and comes just down over his tail. The shell is water and wind proof. Just like a good quality horse blanket. Lots of velcro for a custom fit. Not as insulated as I would have liked. Feels more like a shell with a nylon liner. He seems to stay warm until we hit single digits.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protects from wind & rain!!! Bought this coat for my young Dobie. Due to the blanket type style, it should fit him quite a while. Quick and easy to put on and take off. Quality made. THANKS SMARTPAK :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value - great blanket! I have two Giant Schnauzers that get a good clip so get chilly. These dog blankets fit great, my dogs don't rip them off each other, and they look great. Size chart was right on and plenty of velcro strap for a great fit on both. Loved them so much I got an extra one for each for the horse trailer!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Style The quality seems great, the style is classic and simple, and it is easy to get on and off. **make sure you look at the size chart for measurements**I only had 4 stars for durability because we have only had this for a short time.The fit is great but I would not expect a large to fit the dog I got this for. SHe is a pound mix and probably weighs about 35-40lb and she wears a large. I couldn't Imagine how many X's you would have to put before the L to fit a german sheperd or a Lab.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat Great product. Durable and keeps by two dogs warm in all types of weather. Very easy to take on and off the dogs. They also look great, we are getting alot of coments on how well the dogs look in their winter coats. This site was a great find.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.