Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

?Sizes: Small (13""), Medium (15""), Large (18""), X-Large (21""), XX-Large (24""), XXX-Large (27"").

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7398 out of 5 by 196.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from added to fleece one for cold overnite in trailer Top notch construction. Washed great as well. I love garments for man, dog, and horse from Smart Pac
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog approved Sammy & I moved from CA last spring. This is her 1st dog coat and it is perfect. I like that it is warm but light due to her age & arthritic hips. Well made, nice looking. I ordered 2 different sizes and was able to return free the one that didn't fit. My shopping experience couldn't have been any easier and great price too. It arrived just in time for a morning 2 degree walk. Sammy loves it and that's good enough for me!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I got this for my male Welsh Corgi that weights 33#. I ordered a large and it fits perfectly. I love the little darts in the back that will help keep it in place. I already have thinsulate turnout blankets for my horses so I knew this would be great warmth without the bulk. So many times the belly band on blankets is made really wide and I particularly wanted a narrow band as being a small short legged dog a wide band hits him to far back if you know what I mean! So the belly band wraps at mid body. Easy on and off also another plus. One more thing, I worried that a Large would come to far down on his legs making it difficult to walk but it doesn't, it allows for easy shoulder movement. This will also be great for dog shows and walks. Love it!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one! I've tried several coats and believe this is the one! Very happy with the fit. It will allow me to move without being constraining. I think it will be warm too! I am a boxer, about 75 lbs. My grandma got me an XXL for Christmas. Recommended by my boxer buddy who has one too. Mine is navy blue. I look very handsome, I'm now ready to go for walks in snow or cold!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Terrific coat! Repels rain and is warm too. Nice color.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Farm/House Dog Even though my dog hates all things clothing, she has been kept warm, dry, and relatively clean with this blanket. I love that it matches all of my SmartPak blankets and my other custom bags (since my colors are Hunter green, burgundy, and tan). Love it, and will buy more in the future!
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute and functional I ordered an XXL for my 70 lb lab puppy which fits great with room for him to grow. Stays on great, plus he looks adorable and stays warm at the barn!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Great! I got this turn-out coat for my very old Golden Retriever. I was looking for things to keep her old bones warm, she lays out on the deck most of the day, or under it, even if it's snowing. I can't say she loves it, but she allows me to put it on her & she enjoys it because I make a fuss over her & tell her she looks so nice in it. I got the hunter green with maroon trim & it is a good color with her fur. It stays on fine & covers her well. With the velcro it's easy to put on & take off. I looked at others that had a buckle in the middle of the chest & didn't think that would be comfortable. I like Thinsulate products, so I was glad to find it as a lining for this coat. Very happy with it so far.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality & overall great product! The heat is not lost after a walk when I removed the coat. My dog was warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Best dog coat I've purchased. Excellent quality and fit. Washed well.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two paws up! My name is Fern and I'm an active young Australian Cattle dog. My mom bought me this coat because I am out at the barn in all kinds of weather and in the winter I sometimes end up wet and shivering. This coat is easy to run and play in and the green looks sharp with my blue heeler markings! The easy Velcro closures mean I don't have to sit still for very long while my people put it on, so like that too. My dad worried it might make me look like a pampered poochie but he put it on me for our guys-only camping trip in the Appalachian mountains so I think that speaks volumes about the cool factor. Buy this coat and recieve lots of happy puppy kisses!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! This just came in the mail a few days ago. While the cold weather hasn't hit us just yet, it is definitely on the way. Vixen already has a thick coat, but I wanted a little something extra just in case that nasty Polar Vortex comes back. She is an 85lbs German Shepherd, about 25" from the base of her neck to the start of her tail, so I got her the XXXL which ended up fitting just right. She's tried it on a few times and it hasn't slowed her down and it doesn't seem to bother her. VERY easy to put on and take off. We will be keeping this product!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Jacket! I just got this in the mail and I love the colors and the quality. It was everything as described. It is a very nice jacket and fits well. I ordered a 3X even though the chart says for my dog a 2X was fine. But the 3X really fits well.
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice coat This helped my boy a lot this winter. He's a big boy, but the wind gets to him.This isn't a blanket, to add insulation, but it does great to keep my dog dry and sheltered from the wind.
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this coat It keeps him warm, but isn't binding. He runs and plays in it, and it's held up well.
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits We have a freakishly large corgi and the large fits himperfectly. It is simple to put on and take off and comesout of the wash like new.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adorable but not daycare tough Think halter tag for dogs.... Great looking -- but they don't stand up to dog teeth or mischief Had to get an XL for a 50lb pup to cover to his tail and add Velcro to keep the extra strapping from flapping around
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice coat This coat does run big. I got the large and should of got the medium for my Jack.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit and features and service! I bought this recently and after a size change we got a great coat and great fit for my dog.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight and easy on/off. I have 3 big dogs and each one has his own smartpak coat. I've had two of the coats for 4 or 5 years. They wear well, are a great weight, and are so easy to get on and off!! Great when we walk in the rain or wind - or when it's really cold!
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog blanket Easy to get on and off!  Dog seems happy/comfortable wearing it!
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice looking but not comfortable Had to send this back...it looked really nice and seemed good quality but it was stiff and didn't fit her right, she was not comfortable at all and refused to move or lay down. 
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good dog blanket I'm not into "Dog Clothing"! this is as functional as a turnout  blanket for a horse.  My do works with me and when it's wet and cold this is the ticket and Levi hasn't destroyed it yet!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Looks great, fit perfectly. I wish personalization was available on belly strap as shown in site picture. It is keeping my baby warm, dry and clean.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but lighter weight than I expected. I bought two blankets, one for my smallish Lab and the other for my very small Beagle. They are beautifully made, very pretty and sturdy. They run VERY small. I measured both dogs carefully and ordered the recommended sizes and had to send both back for the next larger size. The return was very easy and I got the replacements fairly quickly. The blankets would have been five stars except that they are lighter weight than I expected, but good for most Central Texas weather. Hind leg loops would help on the larger size.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love these blankets for my dogs. I ordered the XL since it said to measure up and they are a little long on my Dobies, but still work fine. I love the easy Velcro features for easy on and off.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy On, Easy Off, and Easy to Keep Clean Have been very happy with the SmartPak Thinsulate dog coat for my short-haired Border Collie. He's a very active year-old male now living in Wyoming, so protection from wind and cold is important when he is out working or gallavanting. With this active a dog, it was easy to teach him to "get dressed" and "get undressed" with this two-strap coat. It stays in place even when running at full speed. It's light-weight, yet keeps the wind at bay. Highly recommend this product~
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat for a fox terrier! It fits! I can't believe it. The back is short enough that it fits a dog with a tail that stands straight up! Good quality. Little pricey, bit I expect it will last.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this coat stays clean, stays on and resists tears. I've had two of these for a couple years now. We have 5 dogs at the barn and they run, play and bite each other all day long. This coat keeps my vanilla lab short hair dog warm all day and stays on. Stays dry in the rain.Can't use fleece as it holds all the hay and shavings. The smooth lining on this one sheds all that. He would be miserable without it. Thank you so much for carrying it, please don't ever discontinue this one. The only thing is he's a thin lab build 65 lb and he's in the largest size so I am saying it runs a little small. I used to have a more muscular build lab 90 lb and a taller doberman suzuki cross both with longer backs, and the largest size would have been too small for both of them. So if your dog is really big, maybe Smart Pak would consider offering larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit! I have a lab puppy that loves to run around in the snow and this blanket keeps her dry and warm and stays in place!
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    • 2015-03-05T10:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_178
    • loc_en_US, sid_3877, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.