Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Deluxe Grazing Muzzle

Item #13693
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature.

Sizes run slightly large so please order a size down if your horse may be in between sizes.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is rated 3.9359 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! I had been using the Best Friends muzzles and it was always rubbing my mare. I had to make shift a fleece barrier to cushion it. I needed to replace the muzzle this year and decided to go through Smart Pak since I buy my dog food through here too. I have been using the muzzle for a few days and there are no rubs!!! The BF muzzle rubbed her the first day. The basket is so soft! I'm super happy with it so far.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good grazing muzzle I bought the small size for a pony. It fits him well. He's been wearing it several weeks and it has only come off once. It came off because the throat latch strap was not through the loop from the back of the muzzle. When putting on this muzzle you have to make sure the two pieces are attached as they easily slip apart when removing the grazing muzzle. That is my only complaint.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing muzzle I care for a Tennessee Walker that suffers from Cushings Syndrome and keeping her weight down and stable is a key to controlling her condition. She is turned out daily and the Delux Grazing muzzle humainly restricts her intake but still gives her the freedom of her pastuer. This aids her overall disposition. The results are excellent.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing muzzle Really help me manage my laminitic mare and overweight gelding during pasture turnout. Easy to clean. Eventually the hole gets enlarged and the muzzle needs to be replaced but overall good value. Generally last 1 to 1 1/2 grazing seasons.
    Date published: 2011-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from doesn't work for every horse I suggest finding a friend who has one to try it out first. I bought three (one each for my 2 PSSM horses and 1 cushing's horse). I returned one before using it because when I put it on the two PSSM horses they just came into the shed, looked sad and pathetic and "stalled" themselves (defeating the purpose, which was to get them to move around without getting late day, high sugar grass) It was very hard for them to breath in, and just annoyed them enough not to bother grazing at all. The quality is great, they couldn't get them off, but then again I didn't really give them a chance to try. Very expensive, but worth it if it works out for your horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product & Fits Great! At first I thought this muzzle was too large! But it fits great, it's comfortable for my horse & it stays on!!!! It is so well made, the quality is amazing! Well worth the price. My horse who loves to eat, he looks healthy & is maintainig a healthy weight now! I've recommended to all my friends at the barn!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delux Grazing Muzzle Best of several we've tried.Mask itself lasts a long time until hole in bottom is so big, horse starts to get too much grass. Pls always supply at least 2 extra plastic throat latch clips-or sell extras by bag -they break quickly when horses rub trying to unseat muzzle and muzzle worthless without them (: A very good product overall and better than locking horses in dry lot where they are miserable Would be great if these came in brighter colors so easier to spot when rubbed off- maybe red or yellow?
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever I thought it was too large, but it fits great & is comfortable for my horse!! He looks great & fit!!
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workiing well... My mare, Arriba, became very overweight in an extended stall rest period for a check ligament injury. She now has Cushings and is Hypothyroid, so we can't take any chances that she'll founder. I recently moved her home, where the pastures had not been grazed for quite some time. The grazing muzzle is the only thing that is keeping her from over-eating - she is very food-motivated! So, thank you!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is the second deluxe grazing muzzle I've purchased for my mare. First one lasted most of two seasons, the only wear was the rubber bottom wearing away too big of an opening. The new purchase seems to have thicker bottom--were manufacturers listening to the reviewers? I would suggest that the bucket circumference be given along with the sizes. I mistakenly purchased a cob size for my 15.2 horse and she was badly rubbed in one use. The description indicating that the sizes run large could be misleading. Overall, a good product.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for weight control Works well for keeping the weight off of my insulin-resistant Morgan
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hope quality remains good I have used this brand of grazing muzzle for several years and they have held up well. Tried a cheaper brand once and my horse tore it up with in a week. But the bottom of the muzzle is not as thick and durable as when I first bought them and I am concerned they will continue to cheapen the construction of this muzzle.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from OK.... BUT The muzzle does what it is supposed to do, it cuts down on the amount of grass intake. But at what a cost!My horse has scabs all over his nose and absolutely hates the muzzle. I think it cuts down on his eating because he spends all day, every day trying to remove it. And his face and nose are raw and bleeding. And he can not breathe. The muzzle is so well constructed that there is almost no space available for air. My poor guy sounds like Darth Vader and everyone at the barn thinks I am a monster for making him wear this.There are other, new designs which seem to take breathing and the horses delicate facial structure. And if you are going to buy this product I recommend the Muzzle Protectors, which cost as much or more than the muzzle itself!The Best Friend Muzzle is no friend indeed!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe Grazing Muzzle Has worked very well for my grass-belly pony that does not get ridden regularly. He doesn't seem to mind my putting it on him after his handful of morning grain before turning him out to pasture. It is lightweight and easy to install. I highly recommend it as an easy way to get off unwanted and unhealthy weight.
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle - Not Impressed Poor fit: creates rub marks on sides of cheeks and sores under jaw where muzzle rubs when horse pushes against ground to grazePoor quality: the rubber 'nose' in the muzzle wears out quickly - with my pony it takes about a month to increase the size of the half dollar sized hole to a 3" wide oval. With my horse it took ONE DAY to do this!Unfortunately there aren't other options out there so I am forced to buy a few of these each summer to keep the horses from overgrazing.
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great muzzle This is a durable muzzle. It is easy to adjust and horses don't mind it once they are used to it. They can easily still try to nibble and also can drink water.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd Buy it Again. My mare must wear a muzzle. I've tried several and this is one of the best I have found. It stays on very well and is durable. I put a fleece cover across the poll because the strap seemed a litte thin to me and I was afraid it would rub her.
    Date published: 2010-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Grazing Muzzle The quality is excellent. It has a lot of adjustments you can make. It was shipped when promised.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comes off too easily The muzzle works fine if it is on the horse, however, Miss Kitty was able to rub it off using her front leg. I had it adjusted so that her lips were less than 1' from the bucket bottom. The halter nylon is too stretchy. I have to watch her constantly so I can grab her if she removes it. (She is insulin resistant - NO GRASS ALLOWED!) Fotunately, she is easy to catch! I am sure she will quickly learn when I catch her, the muzzle goes back on ;-( HOWEVER, I did get to see her run and play in the pasture for the first time in months!
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy I've owned several muzzles of this brand. I've been happy with all of them.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed to Purchase I needed to purchase the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle for my "chubby" gelding. The leader of the herd, made sure he had the best of the hay and the most of it as well!The vet was just out to do well checks on the rest of the herd and my daughters gelding is also overweight... so he is getting one too.Thanks to SmartPak, I have good quality products to choose from!
    Date published: 2010-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessary for the "easy keeper" on pasture I keep my "easy keeper" mare in this grazing muzzle whenever she's in the pasture from spring through fall (almost 24/7). She's become an expert at getting grass through the hole, but the reduced intake helps keep off some of the pounds and prevents founder. Because she wears it so much, I use sheepskin pads to protect her nose from rubbing (I also buy her a larger size to accommodate the pads -- without the pads she's a cob size, but with the pads she's a horse size). The muzzle also does a decent job of staying on -- if I let it get too loose she can slip it off though. Is a good investment for any low-metabolism horse on rich pasture.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to keep the weight off my easy keeper. My Saddlebred seems to get fat off of air, so this is the only way he can graze without becoming obese. I always feel bad putting it on him, but because he associates it with going out, he never objects. He has a small cob head, but I found the cob size had too small of a bucket and caused a lot of rubs. I have the full horse size on him now since it has so much size adjustment.
    Date published: 2010-03-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best One on the Market This grazing muzzle is the strongest one out there. I have tried them all. I still have to replace it every few months on my agressive eater who drags it across the ground and wears the hole into a big circle. Wish it was even thicker on ;the bottom.
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from grazing muzzle Excellent muzzle for the money.. second one purchased
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fit This is the 4th grazing muzzle I have purchased. The first 2, were also the Best Friends brand. They lasted for 5 years. Then I purchased a different brand and it only lasted 1/2 a year. So I went back to this Best Friends grazing muzzle.Although I have only used the deluxe version (halter muzzle combo) for 1 month I can already tell it is WAY better then attaching the separate muzzle to another halter. The deluxe version is lighter (not as much weight on their head) and far more adjustable than using a conventional halter.Overall, I am very please with the quality and design of this grazing muzzle.
    Date published: 2009-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I ordered this muzzle to replace one I bought at the local tack shop of a different brand. This one fits well and STAYS ON. Generously sized. The horse size fits both my large quarterhorse and warmblood horses. The warmblood always requires an oversize item and the horse size fits him. He does not have an overly wide head just a very long head. My horses are keeping trimmer with an overabundance of grass available right now. This muzzle does not rub excessively either.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Let me qualify that my horse breaks most things and should be in research and development for horse products! This only lasted one night before the plastic buckle broke. Not sure how he did it but by morning it was off.
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not such a good fit for my big boy While I really liked the quality construction of this muzzle, it did not fit my very large warmblood well. After only one wearing, he had rubs all over his face and on his chin. The rubs on his face I probably could have corrected with sheepskin, but the rub on his chin was something that I could not overcome. This muzzle is being used by a number of other horses at my farm for several weeks/months without any issues, so overall, it's an excellent product - it just didn't fit my particular horse very well.
    Date published: 2009-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe Grazing Muzzle This is great because it has a halter which can be adjusted for different sizes. The breakaway is a very nice feature and an extra clasp is provided. The muzzle did not rub the horse. It did limit grazing intake and that made them somewhat angry at me when I took the muzzles off. But it's a great way to keep them from eating so much and they can still exercise and not create all the mess in the stall.
    Date published: 2009-07-13
    • 2015-03-03T09:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_72
    • loc_en_US, sid_3693, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.