Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rain Maker

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13483
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rain Maker formula leaves hooves strong and pliable, while enhancing color and sheen. Special natural ingredients are combined to give Rain Maker hoof moisturizer its unique "Triple Action" formula: attracts moisture to the hoof, increases moisture absorption, and retains moisture once it has been absorbed. Rain Maker penetrates deep to improve texture and elasticity.

Sizing It Up

32 oz. container w/ brush

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rain Maker is rated 4.6757 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! My horse has always had healthy feet, but on occasion they chip or crack. I started using rain maker (once or twice a week) and his feet are healthier than ever, never crack, and never chip! I stopped shoeing him and just keep him barefoot now! It is a little pricey, but it definitely can save you money! To bad some gets stuck at the bottom and you can't get it all out... But a can lasts a long long time!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Much like Jelly The consistency changes depending on the weather. It does do a good job of protecting hooves though. I just don't like how it gets so jelly-like, once you have used most of it it sticks to the bottom of the jar.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used this dressing on my horse's bulbs and underside of their feet when the weather is really hot and dry. It seems to protect and moisturize from dryness and cracking, preventing existing chips from getting worse. I like to apply it right after riding and untacking, giving the feet about 10-15 minutes to soak up the hoof dressing before walking back to her stall (which by that point prevents it from just coming off with the dirt when she walks). I would probably recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing I use on my horse's hooves I like to put this on in the spring and fall during the "muddy season" since my horse's feet dry out the most then. I like to put it on and let is soak in for 10-15 minutes before I let him get shavings all over it in his stall. It works well to put it on before giving them a bath because then it sticks and doesn't wash off.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for a horse pedicure! We use this on our horses hoofs to help keep them healthy. It has helped with cracks and dryness of their hoofs and our farrier was impressed with the results.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLANT PRODUCT FOR HOOVES i BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT OVER THE SUMMER BECAUSE WE HAVE BEEN HAVING A VERY DRY SUMMER..ALL THE HORSES HOOVES AT MY BARN WERE GETTING CRACKED AND NOT GROWING...I USED THIS EVERYDAY AND NIGHT AND WITHIN 3 WEEKS I HAVE SEEN A DRAMATIC DIFFERENCE IN MY HORSES HOOVES...GROWING OUT NICE AND THE CRACKS ARE DIMINISHING.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good paint on Horses feet have always been good but develped cracks from being exteemly DRY from the drought this summer--so decided to try this product. Worked very well and fixed the dryness.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some like it, I don't. I know a lot of people at the barn who use this, but I have recently given mine away and switched to another hoof conditioner. Rain Maker does do a good job of keeping your horse's hooves from getting soaked during bathing, but I found that it tends to leave a layer of buildup if used daily. The smell is terrible - I call it bad barbeque sauce. The consistency also changes greatly with the weather, and in the summer it can get so thin that it drips everywhere.I guess that it is fine for occasional use to protect feet in the wash stall, but I switched to a product that does not contain animal proteins.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Hoofs!! Rain Maker is thick enough to apply just where you want it yet thin enough where it doesnt cake on heavy. The heat for the hoof softens this product so I feel I'm not wasting it as the oils tend to spill. Stays put turned out better then any other so I know it has a chance to do its job!!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True You can try cheaper hoof conditioners, but you'll always end up coming back to Rain Maker if your horse suffers from dry, cracked and hard hooves. One application lasts for days.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from only hoof dressing I buy love this stuff ~ 'course, it freezes in the winter if kept in an unheated tack room, but otherwise it's great!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good standby Always a great help in getting and keeping hooves in great shape! Every tax box needs a bottle!
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from have used this since owning my 2nd horse I've used this brand since 1993 ~ once I purchased Hoofmaker instead and regreted it ~ I prefer RainMaker as it contains tar and seems to soak into the outer hoof wall better
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market Living in Texas where we go from extreme dry to extreme wet it always a challenge keeping hooves healthy looking. This is th ebest I have found for any type of season.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hoof Protection Very easy to use and provides excelleant protection to hooves.
    Date published: 2010-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoof conditioner Bought this for my aging TB cracking hooves. Moisturizes for days and coats evenly. Great old standby product.
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite hoof conditioner I love rain maker! Easy to apply, and keeps my horse's feet in great condition. But, it gets a little hard in the winter if it's kept in the cold (obviously), and, unfortunately the brush doesn't reach the bottom of the can! Regardless, this is my favorite! Much better than others I have tried!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I always use Rainmaker on my mare. It is thicker than the other brands, and stays on longer. She always gets compliments from my farrier on her great feet! My ONLY complaint is they don't make the brush long enough, so you can never get it all out of the can!
    Date published: 2009-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS REALLY WORKS!! I HAVE USED RAINMAKER FOR FOUR YEARS AND I LOVE THE RESULTS I HAVE GOTTEN!!MY HORSES HAVE ENDURED VERY MUDDY CONDITIONS WHICH PULLS THE MOISTURE OUT OF THEIR HOOVES...WITH RAINMAKER I DON'T WORRY BECAUSE IT MOISTURIZES AND CONDITIONS THE HOOF SO THAT THE MUD IS ONLY A NUISANCE..I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!!!
    Date published: 2009-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product This hoof supplement/moisturizer has been recommended by both my farrier and veterinarian for the use of cracking/split hooves and the prevention of both. I have had great farrier visits since using this product consistently. He is even barefoot in the back now!
    Date published: 2009-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My farrier recommended this product to me years ago and have been using it ever since. Keeps my horses feet well moisturized during the hor summer months.
    Date published: 2009-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I have been using Rainmaker on my gelding's hooves for years to keep them moisturized in the dry sandy climate here, which is especially hard on his heels. The product always retains its nice thick and gooey consistency unlike a couple of other brands out there, and the can seems to last forever.
    Date published: 2009-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stains Great stuff for the hooves but be careful - it permanantly stains any clothing it gets on.
    Date published: 2008-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried & True I was so happy to see that SmartPak had added Rain Maker to their already pumped up product line. Rain Maker has been my favorite hoof conditioner for ages! I'm happy to be able to purchase it from SmartPak.
    Date published: 2006-05-08
    • 2015-02-27T07:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_3483, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.