Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412

 

FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.2396 out of 5 by 96.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use & it Works! I was not going to be available to spray my horse every day for a couple of weeks. I decided to give this a try and the person caring for my horse said he hardly had any flies bothering him. I would definitely recommend this product.
    Date published: 2009-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flies be gone! I have tried a lot of different things and i must say, this is the best one. my TB got Lyme disease last summer and my vet recommnded this as the one thing to use to protect my horse from future lyme disease (my mare recovered 100%).
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY EFFECTIVE FLY CONTROL Since using this product, my horse has relief from the annoying flies and gnats. Applied every 2 weeks, it works great. He can't wear the fly masks (stuck on ear accident), so this product has been a life saver for him. Thank you!
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from helpful with flies I thought it would be a good idea to buy this product to SUPPLEMENT my fly control at home. I knew I would still need to use regular fly spray. Overall, I do notice a difference in my horse's attitude towards flies. Earlier this spring, we had a ton of ticks. One day I picked of at least 15--literally. Since using the product, I haven't found any. My horse is also stomping/tossing her head less. It's not like flies avoid her, but there just seem to be fewer irritations. My only complaint is that the product is hard to use accurately. On the label, it says there are measurement markers (because you have to use a certain amount of the tube in specific areas on the horse), but I could not see them. This was frustrating, and my horse wouldn't stand still when I applied the tube, so I wasted a lot. You are supposed to use one tube every 14 days and I ended up using about 1.5 tubes. I don't know that I would buy this brand again, but I would be interested in trying different brands to see if they were any better.
    Date published: 2009-06-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for Ticks, but be aware.... This product has a couple downsides and a couple upsides but mainly we found it useful for ticks.First, if your horse is permetherin sensitive you may not know until you apply the product, and if a severe reaction occurs the entire horse must be completely washed to remove the product. So be aware of the active ingredient and if unsure apply a small amount first.Second, the package is difficult to deal with, not well marked, prone to leaks, and in general not well thought out.On the plus side, our area is infested with ticks and two of our three horses must be prime tick habitat because they are always COVERED in ticks causing severe iching, welts, and overall misery. Within 12 hours of application all the attached ticks were dead and no new ticks were present. Within one week the welts were gone (thanks MSM!) and now our girls can graze without being miserable.The flys that bothered our girls before are also significantly decreased, but again some flys are not not bothered so much by the permetherin base and so they are still present, but at least somewhat repelled.All of our three mares eat Garlic in the summer, but of the three only 1 gets any insect repellent help from this supplement and she requires no fly spray at all! Just goes to show that different things work for different horses.
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Ticks! So far, this product seems to work great at repelling Ticks, and biting flies. I have only applied it 2 times so far. She still had a few flies that would light briefly, but nothing like she did the day I put it on her. I have not had to pull any ticks off , which was my biggest concern. My only beef with this product are the measurements on the tube- there are none, and I find that the design of the tubes could be improved- If it was shaped like the tube for the flea/tick product I use on my dogs, it would be much easier and less messy.
    Date published: 2009-06-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasn't what I hoped for I have a typical Thoroughbred with sensitive skin. Despite regular application of fly spray, he gets big welts whenever he is bitten by anything, and he rubs his tail base off every spring when the ticks come out. Therefore, I was looking for something different, and came across this product. However, it didn't quite live up to its billing. First off, make sure to read the fine print! There is a warning saying that some horses will have reactions to the chemicals in this product - and that turned out to be the case for my horse. He got welts all along his back, at each point where I had placed a drop of this product. The welts receded after 3 days, but now he has dry flaky skin at those points (everywhere else, he has a beautiful glossy coat). The other downside is that this product definitely doesn't work on all types of flies - the very next day after application, there were flies sitting directly on top of his back, right where I had applied this product. I don't know if they were biting flies or not, but they still annoyed him.On the plus side, my horse has not rubbed his tail off, and I haven't found any ticks on his body, so perhaps this product does work as a tick repellent. I'm sorry I can't give it a more positive review, but the product did not work for my horse and I'll be going back to plain old fly spray.
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ticks This product seems to work well for repelling ticks. I haven't pulled a tick off Genius since application. I haven't needed to use daily fly spray; seems to keep the flies at bay too. Also, the product is very economical!
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend with Reservations This is a nice, somewhat safe (they and me are not inhaling all that fly spray) as a way to protect my horse from flys and most especially ticks. And, the citronella scent is nice. However, the thing that I find most confounding is that, given the need for accurate dosage on different parts of the horses body, there are no markings to identify the individual mls in each container. You're asked to put 5 mls on the dorsal line, then 1 and then 2 in other areas. However, it's unclear as to how you're supposed to figure out how much is 1ml. and how much is 2ml. You end up guessing, with no way to take back what you used if you overestimate.
    Date published: 2009-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equispot Works great & does last about 2 weeks. Need to apply additional fly repellent on lower face where Equispot doesn't reach.
    Date published: 2009-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps ticks away I bought this primarily to prevent against ticks and it works-no exceptions! We have both deer ticks and dog ticks in our area and since using this product, I haven't found one on our horse. Before we started using Equi-Spot, we'd have to do a thorough tick check on our hour after each trail ride. And even then, we'd sometimes find an engorged tick on him days later.I'd recommend this to anyone.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than spray My horse is frightened by anything that comes out of a spray bottle and it was always such a pain to wipe on enough fly spray to keep the bugs off of him. This product does a better job than any spray I had wiped on him and it lasts.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Imagine—no more Ticks! It is April, my horse has already had 12 tick bites in the past 3 weeks. She is very sensitive to ticks resulting in huge scabs that attract flies. I read about Equi-Spot and it sounded too good to be true, but I need something this year that works. It has been 2 weeks now and NO TICKS!! It is the beginning of bug season and so far, my horses have not been bothered one bit by ticks, eye gnats, flies or mosquitos.Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2009-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It does work but... this does work! However, the application of it and (on some horses) there needs to be a bit more of it. It says to put some under the forelock and none of mine would tolerate it there, so I don't put it there. It does save on the amount of bottled fly spray! Also, my sweet itch horse seems to tolerate pretty well.
    Date published: 2009-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok Equi-spot worked ok, it seemed to keep the flies off my horse better than some of the fly sprays I've used. It's hard to apply though, and I found that there really wasn't enough of it in one casing to apply to the whole horse.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for those little gnats Great product, only needs to be applied every 2 weeks. It has a very stong Citronella smell. My horse is outside all day with several other horses and he is the only one not bugged by the gnats. He is also out in a wooded field and I have not found one tick on him all summer. This product even works after a bath.
    Date published: 2007-08-09
    • 2015-03-04T08:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_84
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.