Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412

 

FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.2396 out of 5 by 96.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I use this on my TB and it really cuts down on how much the flies and ticks bite him. He has significantly less welts now. I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Topical for your Horse I have used Equi-Spot fly control in addition to the sprays and it works very well at keeping the deer ticks as well as other pests off my mare. I count on this product in the summer months. I find it lasts longer then the 2 weeks. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from simplified fly control Easy to use. Keeps flies and ticks off for approximately two weeks. Price was less than local suppliers, especially with bonus free with purchase.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using this product for several years. It does a great job of protecting my horse from fly bites.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Tick Control I have a OTTB who has very sensitive skin. He has intense reactions to tick bites. I purchased this product to help deter the ticks. It has worked very well. Before receiving the Spot-On my horse was covered and I was pulling them off by hand. After the treatment, I have only seen one and it was dead. Additionally, my sensitive skinned horse did not have any reactions to the treatment. My only hesitation is the chemical base, which requires a strong warning against getting it on your skin. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because applying can be tricky and have had some of the treatment get on my hand twice. You really need to wear gloves to prevent any mishaps.
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from KEEPS LIME DISEASE AT BAY WE ARE LOADED WITH LIME DISEASE IN NY, SUFFIX. ALL US TRAIL RIDERS USE THIS PRODUCT. I RIDE ON TRAILS FOR TWO YRS NOW AND I HAVE NOT FOUND A TICK YET. APPLY AS DIRECTED AND REAPPLY AS DIRECTED, I PROMISE YOU WILL HAVE A BETTER SHOT AT KEEPING LIME DISEASE AT BAY.
    Date published: 2011-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier than sprays My horses hate to be sprayed with fly spray. I'm not too fond of it either, since you have to apply it every other day it seems (at least in humid NC weather). I started using Equi-spot two years ago and haven't looked back. The horses don't mind me putting it on them and I usually don't have to re-apply for about three weeks. It definitely helps with the fly control. I used to put fly masks on my horses in the summer, but with Equi-spot I haven't had to. I absolutely love it.
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Ticks I have a horse who gets horrible reactions to tick bites - swells up, and often requires antibiotics! While I have used this other summers, I was somewhat lax on re-applying every 2 weeks -so results were mixed.This past summer I was religious about applying every 2 weeks (after the first tick infection of the season) from then on we had no tick bites all summer. I got lazy (!) late Sept, thinking ticks were over, and sure enough - he got another bad tick bite/reaction. Went back to every 2 wks application (until the 1st freeze) and not a bite! This stuff really works!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks I swear by this stuff for keeping ticks off my horse. I use it every two weeks in the summer. Recently, I skipped a few doses when the weather cooled off, then we got a warm spell. In one day, I picked 6 ticks off my horse. Went back to Equi-Spot and haven't seen another tick since (same warm temps).My horse does seem to be mildly sensitive when it is first administered. He rubs his tail a little, but is fine the next day. No hair loss or other symptoms.
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff works! I pasture board my horse and he really suffers with the insects. Fly spray just wasn't cutting it. He got immediate relief from Equi-Spot Fly Control. Now he's the only one of his pasture-mates who's not constantly stomping and swishing. The product is messy - mainly because the dispenser is poorly designed and hard to use. But - so far - I really like the results.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worthless This product does not help with fly control for more than 3-4 days, but you cant reapply for 14 days. It is not worth the money. Find me a spot on that works, and I will purchase it.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prefer these to sprays My horses hate sprays and I use one of these on each horse every two weeks (have smaller horses than most). My mares seem to have fewer flies on them than other horses and these really do last. I've been using them for years.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I bought this product & did a spot test on both my horses rumps & no reaction. So I applied it to both horses. Within minutes of applying it to my quarter horse he began frantically stomping & kicking. My friesian seemed fine (i put it on her first) but about a half hour later I found her rubbing out her gorgeous mane!!!! She has never rubbed before & her keuring is in 6 weeks!!! I will be contacting the companiy with a complaint. I will NEVER use or recommend this product!
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticed Big Difference in Ticks on my Horse I've been using Equispot on my 3 horses and so have 3 of my boarders on their horses. We usually have a big tick problem and have had several horses in the past with Lymes Disease. Since using Eqiuspot we have all noticed that we rarely see ticks on our horses this summer. Not so many flys either and we use a natural fly spray when we ride if needed.
    Date published: 2010-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! I used to find a couple ticks on my horses daily, but since I started using this product on their legs, I've only found a couple ticks a month.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful product Equi-spot has been very useful for cutting down on the number of flies that land on and bite my horse during turnout. I have also noticed a significant decrease in the number of ticks I am pulling off of her after rides through the woods. I would estimate that it has repelled 90% of the ticks I am used to seeing on her.
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horse reacted to it used it last yeat no problem. noticed the packaging is different this year. within 5 minutes of putting it on my horse he started scratching and rubbing as it was itching/burning his skin. a 30 minute bath took care of it but I will never use this product again. I don't know it they changed the formulation since last year because I loved the product last year but will not risk causing my horse discomfort and will be returning what I already bought.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Equi-Spot Fly Control Less mess, horses don't mind having it put on and it is not offensive in smell. Less flies than with regular spray.
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good I've only done one application so far of Equi-Spot, and while it wears off over the 2 week period, the first 10 days or so it seems to make a difference. I was really interested in this product because of ticks - it was either this or guinea hens for us. If this product helps protect our horses from Lyme and Ehrlichia, I will be very happy!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great backup plan. I apply this for several weeks before I go on vacation and than just before I leave. That way my daughter who cares for my horses in my absence doesn't have to worry about spraying the horses. It seems to help keep the flies off, but I also feed a garlic supplement as well. But it is a great backup, especially when the mosquitos are bad.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be a good product My horse is in a VERY buggy area, and she still gets bitten, even with Equispot. But I think that would happen with any product. And she gets bitten less than others in the same paddock, so I would give it a thumbs up.
    Date published: 2010-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT ITEM FOR MY HORSES I HAVE USED SIMILIAR ITEMS FOR MY DOG AND WAS LOOKING FOR SOMETHING THAT SIMPLE FOR MY HORSE..AND THERE IT WAS, EQUI SPOT.IT IS VERY EASY TO USE AND STARTED TO REPEL GNATS AND FLIES IMMEDIATELY. I ALREADY RECOMMENDED IT TO SOME OTHER HORSE OWNERS.THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR PRODUCTS I HAVE TRIED.
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for getting rid of ticks I used this on my pasture boarded horse to get rid of ticks - worked really well. The only thing I don't love is that the product doesn't come out of the tube too well and it can be hard to determine how much of the product I'm putting on each part of him.
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works!!! We were amazed how well this product kept the fly's from eating up our horses last summer. It was wet and raining most of the summer and the bugs were awfull. We used Equi-Spot on 5 horses in our barn they wre not bothered with bugs like the others were.!! Great product. We also combined Equi- Spot with a daily spray. We have a lot of bugs all sizes.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works I admit that I'm surprised this product works as well as it does - but it does work! Great for keeping ticks away!
    Date published: 2009-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product If this product had not doubled in price once it got popular, I would use it all the time as it really keeps the flys off my horses and donkeys for two solid weeks as promised (even if I don't get on rear legs as diagram shows)! Great when traveling or have a very busy schedule; caretaker doesn't have to give my 'heard' of three their individual doses of internal fly repellent.
    Date published: 2009-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and effective I use this product on my retired mare Sadie, Tux's real Mom. She is turned out and therefore fly sheets are not practical...this keeps those nasty flies from leaving big bumps on her!
    Date published: 2009-09-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works great while it lasts I use this on all three of my horses and it does work great but not for the 14 days. It lasts about 7 and then you need to begin using fly spray again. The tubes are difficult to open if you are applying this in the paddock without something to cut with. The last time I had one tube explode because it would not snap off. Scary and dangerous as I wore most of it. Be careful when opening the tubes but overall it does work very well for about 7 days
    Date published: 2009-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly control that works I REALLY recommend this stuff to anyone with equines. It makes a definite difference. My horses can go out on the pasture and not be driven nuts by the bugs. Try it!
    Date published: 2009-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fly control I like the ease of use on this product. It works well and smells nice. Downsides are that it attracts dirt so wherever you apply there will be brown streaks on your horse (although most of it will brush off before a ride) and the fact that if your horse sweats heavily during riding and needs to be hosed down you will need to apply it more frequently than what it says. It is one of my favorite fly products though.
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    • 2015-03-02T08:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_84
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.