Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412

 

FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.2396 out of 5 by 96.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep ticks off My mare is a tick magnet and was covered with them in early spring. This has virtually eliminated them. Flies are not out in real force yet so I can't really tell how effective it may be on them.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Good This product works really good to repel fly's from my horse. Although it does not repel all fly's it repels allot.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my horses in pasture Equi-Spot is my fly control choice for horses in the pasture. It stays on them a long time, so I don't have to catch them every day to spray them.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works! I've been using this for a year now and it's significantly reduced the amount of ticks I find on my horse. He's turned out during the day in a large (6 acre) pasture with trees and I hardly ever find ticks on him anymore. It doesn't work so well for flies, but I normally wait a few days after the initial application and start using my regular fly spray again. If you have a tick problem, I would recommend this for sure!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I like this product but you tell after about 10 days or so it's starting to wear off. But it works great!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big help with biting bugs... We live next to a swamp and river. Because of our extreme location it plays a key part in our bug control program for our horses. We take a multitere approach, because one approach it noy enough where our farm is located. EquiSpot, helps minimize daily fly spraying.
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from REPELS TICKS I have been using this product every two weeks during fly and tick season in Northern MN the past two years. I do not see any effects in repelling flies; however, I haven't found evidence of an attached tick since I have been using equi spot. I have complained to the manufacturer that the packets are poorly designed sometimes with leakage and many times with some of the liquid product landing on the ground when I try to apply to horses' legs. Also, if your horses are very large, you need one and one half doses (containers) to cover the body areas per the directions. This increases the cost of applying this product. Wear gloves to reduce your insecticide exposure!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must use more often than it says I bought this and started using it after my horse developed Lyme disease. I didn't want another re-infection. Well somehow even though I was using it every 2 weeks, he became re-infected again! I have a chestnut horse, so it is very hard for me to see any ticks. In fact, I've never even seen one on him! Maybe it does need to be re-applied sooner like the other reviewers have said...I usually stop using it once it freezes here, but our winter has been crazy. One week it was 50 degrees! I would suggest using it throughout the whole year if ticks are bad in your area...We do the same with our dog, so I assume it should be the same with horses.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great this product keeps ticks off my horse. I havent seen one since i started using it 2 yrs ago. I use it from may until november..
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from spot on My horse tested positive for Lyme a few years ago and it resulted in a lot of down time from training. I haven't found any ticks on him with this product on board and I've even been late with a few applications. Only down side is he doesn't like the feeling of it being applied, but he has not had any visible irritation from it.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tick control Bought this to try it to see if it would help with the ticks on the farm. I was pulling 10 - 20 ticks a day off them after using this I have not even seen ONE on them will continue to use this it is a great product
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keep ticks off your horse! This product bypassed my expectations by a mile. My horse was coming in with 15-30 ticks in his mane just from being out overnight, and since putting the equispot on I have maybe pulled off two ticks, both at the end of the two week cycle before reapplying. My only complaint is that I was not expecting it to be so oily, and putting it in his forelock left a oily look for a couple of days. Just make sure to put it on after riding/bathing and at least 48-72 hours before going to any type of competition. Great product
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to my fly-fighting arsenal Wears off 7 days faster than advertised, but definitely works! My mare with Equispot had no ticks, my other mare without it had alot!
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tick control! No harsh chemicals! I don't know about fly control, but it is great at keeping ticks off your horse :)
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best control against ticks I use the equi-spot and do a fair amount of trail riding. I live in NH which does have a lot of ticks. This product has been the best to keep the ticks off.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Since my horse lives in the edge of a National Forest, ticks are a huge issue for us. He gets huge, oozy welts from the bites and will itch for days even after the tick is gone. This year seems to be exceptionally bad for ticks and in late April I was already pulling off at least 3-4 ticks per day. I applied Equispot and immediately saw no ticks for about 2-3 weeks. This product has been a lifesaver for my guy because nothing else has really worked for him to repel the ticks.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps control ticks I don't like using chemicals but in this case I believe the decreased risk of Lymes disease due to my horses having less ticks is worth it. It does seem to repel ticks and usually the ones I find are already dead.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Usually does the job I use these religiously during the spring and summer as MD has a terrible tick and fly problem. I buy EquiSpot for the tick repellant as I don't see any real difference with flies until I use good spray. I find EquiSpot prevents ticks the majority of the time, though every once in a while ill catch one of the buggers attached. Overall a big improvement over nothing.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good alternative to fly spray I wasn't sure this would work, but so far there are fewer flies on both of my horses after using it for a few weeks. The sore that wouldn't heal on my gelding's belly is just about gone now that the flies aren't pestering it.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product The new packaging for this stuff is awful. When I opened it and went to apply to my horse's legs, it all ran out onto the barn floor! The hole is too large and there is no way to control how much comes out and how fast. I want my money back!!
    Date published: 2013-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ear wart deterrent I use gloves and a cotton to apply to the front of my 17 H ticklish geldings ears to really reduce the attack of little flies that cause his ear trouble. No worries about drips in the eyes that way. Also a quick dab near the genitals helps that area too. It really improves things for my one old guy.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly control Living in AZ with a dry climate this product works well. I got about 10 dys to 2 wks out of each application. It helps dramatically with sweet itch on my one horses belly caused by no see ums bug bits.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I apply this every 2 weeks to the horses and while I am not sure it lasts that long I know it lasts at least a week. While it is not on me I can say I think it works due to the lessened fussing from the horses.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work Very Well I purchased this product because I was pulling 30+ ticks off my horses each day. According to the box, Equi-spot is supposed to ward off flies as well as ticks; it did nothing for the flies and I only saw a small reduction in ticks, pulling roughly 20-25 off each horse per day. I will say that my horses were in seriously tick-infested areas, which I'm sure made it more difficult for the product to work efficiently, and it did seem to work a little better the longer I used it, but I've had much better results by simply washing them once per week in a Dawn dish detergent solution--and it's a whole lot cheaper that way. My dogs were also on a product very similar to Equi-spot, with the same active ingredient, and it didn't do anything for the ticks on them, either.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT for Ticks Works FANTASTIC to help keep the ticks off. I have a horse that just gets infested with them and now I will only pull off 1 or 2 each time he comes inside. Not sure how well it works to repell the flies. I still have to spray him daily to help with that.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more ticks! I bought this product primarily because our pony is on pasture with lots of ticks. I've been using it for three weeks & haven't seen any ticks on her. The flies don't seem to bother her as much as well. The first time I applied it to her back legs, however, the sweet old gentle thing started kicking, so it must have stung. During the second application two weeks later she didn't react, so who knows. I'll use this the rest of the summer and then decide about next year. Great if you can't fly spray every day before turn out!
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! My horse hasn't had a tick in his mane or tail since I applied this product a couple of weeks ago. It doesn't seem to repel flies though, but it is hard to say, maybe it helps a little.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT very good product--keeps flys and ticks at bay--mostly. very good addition to other products to combat flies and ticks.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! The ticks are terrible in our area and my poor horse seems to be a tick magnet! Unfortunately he's also highly allergic to the tick bites and gets huge oozy, itchy welts from their bites. I've tried various tricks to keep the ticks at bay and this year has been an especially bad year. After pulling 23 ticks out of his crotch area in one sitting (he was swelled up like a balloon between his back legs and wouldn't move!), I knew I had to do something different. I decided to give Equipspot a try after hearing others recommend it. After I applied it, he has been immediately tick free for the last 3 weeks. It's amazing!! My only dislike is that the liquid is a little hard to apply to the backs of the legs as the package recommends and dirt sticks to his topline where I've applied it. But it's hard to complain when it has worked so well on repelling the ticks. Seems to work great on flies too at first but the flies have since returned while the ticks have still stayed away.
    Date published: 2011-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough fly year I have used this product in the past with great results. This is the first time that it seems the flies are worse than ever. It seemed that it quit working on day 10, ticks were even back on the horses. I am going to use it as it really helps when it is working, however if things keep going the way they are I may be looking for something else.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    • 2015-03-01T07:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_84
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.