Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Tredstep Original Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13215

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps are designed for working riders who need the best in function and fit, this is a great every day half chap. Every shape and size of the Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps is catered for with an assured fit. Elasticized panel hugs the leg like a second skin, giving a fit and comfort like none other. YKK zippers and snaps. Suede. Black or Chocolate.

Sizes are quoted by calf then height from ankle bone to back of knee.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tredstep Original Half Chaps is rated 4.5909 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable I love my new half chaps. They are so comfortable and look great! I haven't had them long enough to know how durable they are but I have not been disappointed in Tredstep yet.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The closest thing to custom Finally a half chap that fits. I am a petit woman and have a real hard time finding a half chap that fits my shorter leg. Tredstep's unique method of sizing by the inch makes for a great fit. The zipper is good quality and I think it will last. The only complaint is the snap which is easy to put on, but hard to get off. I can always count on Smartpak to carry quality products at reasonable prices. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a pair that fits These chaps are great. I had tried the Fuller Fillies chaps in an attempt to find a pair that would fit my calves (I have wide and short ones), but even so, they were much too tall, and a little too wide. So I went searching, because I knew that ones like these had to exist somewhere. I was between Tredstep sizes, so I wasn't sure which to order, and ended up ordering the wrong size. No problem with SmartPak's incredible return service. I had the right size in my hands not too long after. I just wish that they were available in 15/13, 16/13, and 16/14 as well. It would also be nice if there were cleaning instructions included with the chaps.As others have said, the snap at the bottom does get tricky to undo sometimes, but that can be fixed by greasing it a little. They also break in nicely; they fit my summer paddock boots right out of the box, but wouldn't zip over my winter ones when I was wearing them -- no problem -- simply left them on my winter boots overnight and they have always been easy to get on since.I can't say a whole lot about the durability, since I have only used them a handful of times (hence the 4 stars) as I got them less than two months ago, but they seem like they will hold up for a long time to come. I am considering getting another pair, so that I have both colors, I like them so much. The leather seems decently thick (time will tell), and they are the most bang for the buck that I could find without breaking my budget. On the whole, they seem like they will hold up well, and the best part is I could find a pair that fit, something I'd thought impossible.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I had previously ordered a knock-off brand, super light half-chaps. The old ones I had were sliding straight down my leg on every ride.After reading the other reviews, I purchased these half chaps. I find these to have a very thick durable zipper and snap. Plus, they're thick enough and appear to be durable. On a hunter ride and a dressage ride or three, they haven't slid once. I'm looking forward to using these half chaps daily in my rides.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seem OK These seem thin, and the suede gets rubbed right away upon use. However, they do look durable. I've read all the other reviews, felt in between sizes, so ordered a 14/16, when normally I'd order a 14/17 in most half chaps. They are not super tight, but then they also won't be stretched to the extreme to fit, which puts strain on the zippers. They are very, very comfortable. One of the snaps keeps coming undone during riding -- I think that is due to my not getting a definitive "snap" when closing it. For the price of these, I hope they do last. I had tried the Dublin original suede half chaps first (from a different source), and I didn't like those at all. They seemed even thinner than these. All in all, I like them. Can't say yet that I love them.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tredstep-BEST Half Chaps! These are exactly as advertised and I love getting what asked for... They're durable and fit well. Snaps may die though (they're not integral to the garment).
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Durable Chaps I've Had The price for these half chaps is what I'd consider "middle of the road"", however, the value is outstanding. I'm just now getting ready to buy a new pair, and I've been riding with the same pair #ranging from a few times a week to a few times a month# since I was 16. I'm 24 now. The only reason I'm buying a new pair is that the snaps on the bottom wore out. These are outstanding value-they hold up phenomenally well. I wouldn't buy another kind.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Chaps! Can I just say wow! For the price range, these are definitely great chaps. I only really stumbled upon the Tredstep Ireland brand last year & have very quickly become a BIG fan! These chaps feel like a second skin when you put them on--so comfortable! And you get a much more customized fit when Tredstep chaps, since you take your calf & height measurement to order your size. Highly recommend & these go great with the Giotto lace-up paddock boots!
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep half chaps Very good quality for the price. They run small, had to return the first two pair. Third time was a charm thanks to Smart Pak free shipping return policy. They are comfortable right from the start.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far I can't rate the durability of these half chaps, as I've only had them a few months. The fit is perfect. My only criticism is that the suede could be a tad bit thicker.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So many sizes! These are the only half chaps that I can find to fit my size! I just wish the smooth leather tredstep half chaps were less expensive. At least they fit!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chap Good suede half chaps. I'm short and muscular so I am shorter with wider calfs, so I ordered a 15/15. I was going to go with a 14/15 but upon other research learned as the width stretches, the hight of the overall chap decreases. My left calf width is 15, and my right is 15.75" after wearing for a few rides they are much easier to zipper up, but initially had a very snug fit. Love the sizing chart!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I use these half chaps every time I ride, and have continued to use this brand and style for over 8 years! I've had to get new ones every couple of years when the part of the calf that contacts the horse becomes too smoothed out and loses its grip. A stiff wire brush fixes that temporarily. With every pair i've gotten (3 total), the same issue comes up but it's not a big flaw for me: The snap closure at the bottom gets more and more difficult over time to undo. Its as if its getting rusted shut but there's never any rust. Eventually, the snap either breaks while i'm trying to pry it apart or I cut the whole piece off, which is no big deal because I've never needed it to keep the zipper from sliding up or anything.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty zippers - great!!! I bought a pair of cheaper half chaps a couple of years ago, and the zippers kept coming apart. The first thing I noticed about the Tredsteps, were the heavy duty zippers! I love the variety of sizes, as I am short, and have a wide calf. These half chaps broke in very quickly, and are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Good Pair of Half Chaps I finally broke down and bought a better pair of half chaps. My old cheap pair were falling apart and kept sliding down my legs. These chaps have no such problem. They have been used regularly and don't slide down at all. At first I thought that they were a bit snug, but after using them a bit they started fitting better around my calves.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit as measured I measure 16/16... ordered these down a size in height based on reviews (but ordered my true calf width). Turned out the width was perfect as measured, and so was the height-- I had to return the first pair of 16/15 for 16/16, and the fit was great. Have only used them a few times, but seem like they'll be durable. Would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from did have to order one inch down I ordered one inch down on both height and width, as according to other reviews. they are perfect. :) love the stretch panel and the rich brown color-definitely not a wimpy brown. it's nowhere near black- it's actually brown. sometimes I find that brown chaps aren't very brown. anyways. grrreat buy. :) highly recommend. not sure about durability yet. I hope they last!
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great customer service theses are great half chaps and wow what great service I order wrong color then wrong size and there was no hastle returning them 2 times and getting the right size and color, smart pak is the best ever and free shipping is SUPER thanks so much
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly the schooling half-chaps i wanted! these are a great value for half-chaps under $100. you can customize the fit, they look nice, so far they seem quite durable, and i think they will last me quite awhile.I was looking for a pair of half-chaps for schooling that would fit my short & wide calfs. I'm a larger person who is normally a 14 petite, so i have a very short & very wide calf (almost "square" in measurements if you will). after trying out some different half-chaps at my barn and reading all the reviews for different ones, i decided to try the Tredsteps because they offered so many different size combinations.I had to send back the first pair for being too long, but i was easily able to get the second pair to fit correctly. the large elastic panel is GREAT for getting that perfect tight fit. ****PLEASE NOTE**** you might want to order 1"-2" shorter than your actual calf length measurement to get the right fit. as i'm so short-legged i ordered 2" shorter than what was recommended and got the fit exactly right. the calf width measurement was spot on.***ALSO*** if you have trouble with the zipper, get it started then pull the elastic panels together and it easily zips right down. it took me a few minutes to figure that out, now i can zip them on & off very quickly & easily.******i worried that these chaps would be too tight at first, but after 5 rides they are broken in. they have a nice look and the black compliments my more expensive Ariat paddock boots perfectly. i do not get rubs/bruises from my stirrup leathers anymore, and these half-chaps are not very hot either. i bathe horses in them and they do not get wet.as i ride about 3-4x/week, i will keep you posted on how they wear. so far these still look brand new.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Half Chaps I love these half chaps. I get a new pair every year....last year, I thought I'd get a little nicer pair, and went with the Tredstep Xtreme Suede half chap - they are terrible. I didn't even realize how much I loved these half chaps until I got my new pair this year! They fit beautifully right out of the box, hold up for a year (as long as half chaps have ever held up for me!), and are a huge value for the money. I'm never going away from these half chaps again!
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for Her My daughter did not like these chaps at all. They didn't fit right, the calf was too big, and they were at least an inch too short. She didn't like how when you zipped the chaps, the style prevented you from fully zipping them to the bottom by material covering th zipper. These chaps were not what she expected from reading the reviews. She never wore them riding so Ican't remark on the durability of them. Since she was so unhappy with these chaps, we returned them. All in all, these chaps were not for her.
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy close fitting halfchaps at good price Thes are nice halfchaps at a good price. I love the elasticized calves and the snaps at the ends of the zippers. They fit a little tight, but loosen up over a little time. They are attractive and seem durable. I have only had them a month or so, si I am not sure yet. I think the value is excellent!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and the Fit is Awesome!! These are my favorite pair of chaps! The look is just awesome and their durability blows other chaps out of the water! I love these for my witer riding because they are really flexable and offer more room over thick, fleece-lined breeches. I'll totally buy these again when my pair wears out. But I know I won't be buying them soon!!
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are really good These are my first pair of chaps. I have been using them for about two months now... They have been easy keepers. They wipe clean, go on easy, and do what they are supposed to. They were a little tall when I first got them. Thanks smartpak for letting me try on three pairs. However, Where the snap is.. the elastic by the snap... one of the elastics is correct, but one seems to have a little more amount of fabric which is making it harder to unsnap it after a ride because it stretches out too far. In other words too much elastic connecting the snap on one side, and just right on the other... overall excellent chaps.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best EVER! These chaps are incredible! They fit nice and snug, but not too tight. The quality is great it feels like they will last a while. This is my first pair of chaps ever and I think I went with the best ones! I had to order three pair though, and smartpak was great about the returns. I ended up with a 15/15, but almost wish someone made a 15/14.5 because that is more like it. Overall quality product. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chaps! i haven't been using them long, but they are wonderful so far!! ordered exact size measured and fit perfectly!!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Snap Issues The half chaps are very nice except for one fault - the snaps. My daughter (12) had an extremely hard time getting them to unsnap and eventually (after only 1 month) the snap pulled out of the leather strap. I had to replace the snaps (luckily I am adept to sewing and knew how to install new snaps).
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from these are the best half chaps I have ever worn and I have tried a LOT of them
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.