Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.7801 out of 5 by 141.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big design flaw affects Cob size halter only. :-( I really, really wanted this halter to work. It's beautiful - the turquoise color was perfect and looked great behind the black leather, and the leather was nice and supple. HOWEVER, there is a serious issue with the ring on the chin piece where you'd clip the lead rope to - the diameter is too narrow to slip over the adjustment buckle for the chin strap. I have other color padded halters that I ordered from England, and have never had this experience - all of the rings have always been large enough to slip over the buckle with ease. I called SmarkPak and they were great about looking into it for me. Turns out this affected all of the cob-sized color padded halters they had, but that the horse-sized ones were just fine. They suggested I return it since it couldn't be easily fixed, nor did they know when they'd be able to get new ones in with the larger ring in place. Just wanted to alert anyone wanting a cob-sized color padded halter to call first to see if they've remedied this issue first, rather than having to mess with having to return a Christmas gift that should have been perfect right out of the chute. I'm disappointed that they didn't catch that before shipping them out to customers....
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I LOVE this halter! The leather is beautiful and so soft. I oiled it since I always oil my leather, but this hardly needed it. The stitching is tight and I'm sure it will last.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Soft Halter I expected to love this halter and I was not let down. I am saving it to unwrap on Christmas, thus, I have not put it on my horse yet but I know she will look good in it. I have a chestnut Weltmeyer mare with a flaxen mane/tail and I got the Havana/Green halter. I had debated about getting the pink or red because it was so pretty but green goes with a chestnut so well and it matched my lead rope. Straight out of the box, the halter is very supple and soft, the throatlatch snap is awesome. My last halter was basically the same thing in black/white and with the other kind of snap and it eventually broke so I decided to upgrade to this halter. I definitely recommend it. Ps. the Havana is a deep brown, not a bright or light brown.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from bought this halter for a Christmas gift, I thought it had gold plate and metal on halter but it was platinum color. nice but not what I expected.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Halter I have just received this halter and it looks very nice. The leather is soft and plush.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Super quality. I also got the name plate and it looks awesome.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful This halter is gorgeous! I have the black and white one with a custom nameplate and I love it! The only down side is that the leather is not very supple and needs a lot of oil before use. Also could run a bit small but easily adjustable
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks so classy on my bay! Bought the black with red padding and am really pleased how dressed up my bay with a large star looks in it! Not too stiff new either.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL! I am very, very happy with this leather halter!! It is soft and beautifully made! I have wanted a nice leather halter for many years but didn't want to spend the money when the regular ones work just fine. I'm sure glad I did! It is sharp, classy and my horse seems more comfortable. The quality is fabulous and it will last for years and years and years!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY NICE Very happy with this halter. Very nice for the price. The cob size runs smaller than I thought so I had to return for the horse size. The return process was very easy and I received the larger size very fast, even with the engraved nameplate.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I bought this to ship my mare across the US and for the $$ it is fantastic and beautiful.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality Halter I bought two of these halters in Havana with nameplates for my chestnut TB. They are beautiful, soft and very well made. The engraving was perfect. I'm very happy with this product!!
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter My horse's color is turquoise and this halter fits great with the rest of his things. The leather is soft yet strong, and the fit is great.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Love this halter! I bought the black and turquoise, and it looks fabulous on my dun! The nip of colored padding peeking out behind the black is just right. I also had it personalized and was a bit concerned that it would have a brass plate with the silvertone hardware, but the nameplate is also silvertone, and it looks great. It's a bit stiff yet but will soften with oil and time. I've gotten lots of complements on it, too!
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite halter! I bought this halter for my horse in the black/red and got a name plate on the side for his name. It's absolutely stunning! He looks so handsome and it will hold up. I also like that because it's leather so it's easy to clean!!
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality - Love the Color! When my horse's nylon halter started to wear out, I decided to invest in a leather halter. This seemed like a very good value and I liked the color options - love my black w/ red choice. Very good quality - well crafted.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the leather and the sturdiness of the hardware. The nameplate is very nice, too. Time will tell if it will hold up, but for now, I'm happy. The only thing I'm unsatisfied with is the inner leather. I ordered black on black, and the inside leather is more of a brown.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I bought two of these halters with personalized name plates and I absolutely love them. I wasn't sure about spending so much for an every day halter but it was definitely worth it. The leather was so soft right out of the box. The padding is very nice for the horses too. I have a 17 hand appendix and a 15 hand paint. They obviously have very different head sizes and the horse size fit them both. I can't speak to the durability as I just purchased them a few weeks ago but they seem to be very high quality. They have already spent a couple of nights out in the rain and look the same as the day I got them. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter 5 (five) STARS! Best Halter on the market you'll ever buy. It's worth the price. I like it so much; I just ordered another one.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So classy! I bought this halter about a month ago, and absolutely love it! It was a little stiff the first few days, but quickly softened up. I called Smartpak and had them customize my nameplate with two different fonts, and I just love the look! It's a great halter and fits my thoroughbred perfectly. The leather lost it's original shine after a few weeks, but I leave it outside on the fence 24/7 and it went through two thunderstorms! Overall I'm super happy with it, and it looks like it will last for a long time!
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter I bought two of these halters to use as 'dress' halters for shows. They look way more expensive than $89.00 and are beautiful! I had them customized and love the finished product so much that I ordered them for everyday use for my two retired geldings. Instead of paying $50.00 for just an OK halter, I think the extra $30.00 is worth it for these special looking halters that are very padded and comfortable. I love them! I have not used them on a daily basis yet so can't comment on their durability outside in the elements.
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Showy Halter I've now purchased two of these. Havana/Blue and Black/Black. Both with custom name plates. I got one as a gift for my friend and when I saw hers, had to order one for myself. They are so gorgeous and are soft and supple right out of the box (which came in under two days from when I ordered!) These halters are sturdy and well-made at a price point that is unbelievable. It makes for a nice show halter or every day halter (just maybe not out in the paddocks). It has received numerous compliments from fellow barn members too!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great product! I just got mine, and I couldn't be more pleased. It fits my TB gelding very well and is very adjustable. The leather is great and the engraving is very well done. It matches the padded leather bracelet and my Ogilvy perfectly! Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather! This halther is handcrafted perfectly and looks awesome on my horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter This halter is well made with nice padding and supple leather and fits my horse perfectly. I was also amazed at how quickly they were able to deliver a monogrammed product.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, good buy! I bought this halter over 1.5 years ago and it's still going strong. It's used daily outside in the Michigan weather and is still beautiful. I'm replacing it since another horse chewed on it. It did hold up well to that too!
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and Flattering! I received this halter in the mail in 4-5 days and I did not even need to oil it before using it. The leather is so soft and flattering on my 17.1 hand Warmblood - I bought Warmblood size of course and it fits him very nicely.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Halter for the price I love this halter. I got the the dark brown and blue and it was even better in person. It fit perfectly and is true to size. I will be using it as a show halter but would be great for every day use as well.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It We got the blue padded halter to be used on our Morgan gelding at shows. Love the quality of the leather, the blue is gorgeous, hardware is easy to handle. Love the price! This same halter is over $90 on ebay or other tack stores.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather Handsome as this halter is, I use it for turnout. Safe and not as abrasive as most nylon halters. First wearing it got encased in mud, but cleaned up fine. Would have given it 5 stars if the cheek strap wasn't molded in the stable halter u-shape. Took a bit of oiling and wear to get a looser shape.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    • 2015-02-28T07:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_134
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.