Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Baker™ Halter

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13046
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The famous Baker™ Plaid is now available in halters! The Baker Halter features a full leather crown piece. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, the Baker Halter is made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Leadline!

Favorite Features

  • Famous Baker™ plaid
  • Leather crown piece
  • Made in USA

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Baker™ Halter is rated 4.5733 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable on my mare Love this halter, looks great on my dark bay mare. Haven't turned her out in it yet, so we'll see if it holds up to halter tag with her BFF.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Alright I bought the Baker Halter because I adore the plaid design and thought it would look good on my chestnut. Upon receiving it, I couldn't help but think that the leather was quite thin and not of fabulous quality at all.2 months later, the leather has held up perfect fine, though the noseband section has started to 'fuzz' at the top (like fleece pants in the dryer) from some unknown cause. It can be cut off, but you'd think a Baker problem would hold up better than that, especially for it being $15 more than a regular nylon halter that holds up like steel; JUST for the Baker name.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very stylish I found the leather crown piece to be of standard quality but the overall design is marvelous and super trendy. What show horse would say no to another baker accessory?
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looks and value This attractive plaid looks sharp on my black horse. I like the soft and supple breakaway leather over his poll. Noseband fits well (not too tight, not too loose on his long face) without the bulk of an extra buckle there. Snap is medium quality, an acceptable tradeoff between light weight and halter lifespan at this price.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive Everyday Halter This is a great turnout halter! Very attractive, I get lots of compliments on it. Looks more expensive than it was! Only complaint is that the leather on a crown piece is a little thin. I've had no problems with it, but did expect the leather to be more substantial. I take my horse's halter off while she is in the field, so due to the crown piece this may not be the best choice for people that chose to leave halters on.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from size too big my horse has a large head, i've always bought large for him, but this one is too big, have it on him but i wish there was another way to adjust it.
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT i realy love this halter! it looks so good on my chestnut mare! it expically looks good when shes wearing her Baker blanket and is in the trailer with the Baker butt bar covers and Baker trailer ties! (obsession much? i think yes!)
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive & Nice fit This halter has everything I was looking for, the soft leather top, the snap & great fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I purchased this halter to keep on the post outside my horses pasture and through the cold and rain it has stood up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great turnout halter Love the color. It looks great paired with his Baker stable sheet. As other reviewers have mentioned, the leather strap isn't the greatest quality. I oiled it and that helped a bit. Given the great price even if I have to replace that piece eventually I will still feel this halter is a good purchase.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from true value I just bought my second Baker for my rambunctious off the track thoroughbred....in 5 years. This halter has been his turnout halter and lasted through many tugs-of-war games in the pasture with his pasture buddies.The only reason I bought a second halter is because I just wanted a new one. The first one is still completely intact and usable!
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER STYLISH! I love this halter but I didn't buy it because my horsey mostly wears the tartan plaid!! I wish baker would start producing their accessories In tartan plaid because it is my barn colors and it looks so cute on my horsey!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome halter Everybody in the barn wants one!! My big, bay TB looks super handsome in this halter. Excellent quality leather and buckles.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it !! The halter material is Great ! It looks so elegant ! My gelding can even go to shows in this. The Leather crown is VERY cheap though ... bought a replacement for it.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter Good quality halter but the fit around the noseband could've been better
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and functional My daughter ordered one of the Baker halters for her gray TB. It looked so good on him that she ordered one for her chestnut as well. They both looked so good I ordered one for my chestnut. The halters have held up to the rigors of being turnout halters, and mud once dried brushes off easily. Leather crown pieces are a little thin, but have not presented a problem.
    Date published: 2011-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Halter, Worth the $$ Who doesn't love Baker Plaid? This halter is a well made, quality halter that just gives that classic look to any horse. I bought this same halter about 3 yrs ago and it still looks good, but wanted a new one for the new halter plate I got. The gold tone plate looks amazing on the plaid. Well worth the few dollars more it costs.
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter, a bit overpriced I love the look of the Baker halter, but to me, the quality doesn't appear to be much better than some of the less expensive halters I have purchased. I'm still very happy with it though!
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter halter My mom bought this halter for my horse for the winter since his leather one gets soaked and stretched when left outside. The Baker plaid has stood up well and looks attractive and I like the breakaway crown.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Miss With a Baker This is a lovely halter. It fits my 16.1h warmblood perfectly. The side clip is a good quality catch and the halter is well made. Although it's a bit pricey, it is a great look.
    Date published: 2010-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Very nice halter. Looks great on my bay mare...get lots of compliments every time she wears it!
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter and pretty, too! I love Baker products, and this halter is no exception. It's beautiful, with it's "traditional plaid" coloring. Fits my large headed TB great. It's strong, sturdy nylon that you can tell is designed to last. The crown piece is very "cheap" feeling for Baker quality--but I substituted a thicker, nicer crown piece in black, and gave it a whole new (but still gorgeous) look. Great quality.
    Date published: 2010-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive halter The halter has Baker high quality style but the fit could be better. The horse size is a bit large in the noseband area on my 16.1 HH warmblood and the noseband has no adjustment capability. I expect the halter to be very durable, like all Baker products
    Date published: 2010-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter i love this halter. looks great, fits my horse well, very durable and at a great price! Would recommend this product to anyone. love it!
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter I bought this halter because I know the Baker name. I like the design and color and I think it looks great on any color horse.Good quality and good fit too.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty Rusty, but Pretty Really liked the looks and fit of this halter, but the hardware has all rusted after only 2 months of use. I use it as a turnout halter, so it gets wet when it rains, but I have never had a halter rust so fast. It is now difficult to use the snap throatlatch due to the rust.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker Halter This was a good value. I purchased it as a backup halter and for trailering. It fits my TB mare fairly well and complements her bright chestnut coloring.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking I like the look of this halter a lot. It was inexpensive and held up well (used it daily on two horses). The leather strap is cheap and thin however. I conditioned it and the quality improved. I recommended the halter to a friend and she enjoys it as well.
    Date published: 2009-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, leather could be better I love Baker, but this halter falls a little short. The leather (strap across the poll) is not up to normal Baker standards. I switched it out with a leather halter and now am happy. Brass is wonderful. I get comments on how nice it looks.
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The PERFECT Halter at a great price There are several features I need in a halter for my 17.2 hand gelding. Features that up to now were impossible to find all in one halter without spending a ton of money. I need a nylong halter with leather break away crown that is BIG enough for my Perch/TB Cross. I need one that isn't made with the cheap snap closure that breaks the minute they decide to play halter tag. The Baker halter looks gorgeous on him, is plenty big enough, is reasonably priced, has very durable hardware, leather breakaway crown, and I have to say it looks downright gorgeous on him. It looks just as nice today as it did the when I first put it on him. This truly is the perfect halter and who doesn't love their Baker products? This halter far exceeded my expectations!
    Date published: 2009-02-05
    • 2015-03-01T07:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_70
    • loc_en_US, sid_3046, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.