Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Baker™ Halter

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13046

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The famous Baker™ Plaid is now available in halters! The Baker Halter features a full leather crown piece. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, the Baker Halter is made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Leadline!

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Baker™ Halter is rated 4.5588 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter I've only had it for about a month, so I don't know how it will stand the test of time, but so far so good. It fits my horse perfectly and it hides dirt well. It gets lots of compliments too.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Durable, Looks Nice after Six Years! I bought this halter over six years ago as a nice halter that my horse could wear around the barn. I use it daily and it has been used on three different horses with cob to oversized heads and it fit all of them very well. The halter still looks amazing and all I have replaced is the leather breakaway top after my horse has a moment.I love the brass and I love the snap at the cheek. Makes it easy to get on an off. The durability of this halter will make me buy it again. If this one ever wears out! Worth the purchase price.
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday halter Bought this Baker halter for 2 of my young Holsteiners, love the leather breakaway crown, it fits both horses lovely. Would buy another..
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! Very happy with the quality of leather and nylon part of this halter. Not too stiff yet holds its form!Am wanting to get one for each of my horses!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter! my mom gave this to me for Christmas and it was at the top of my list! I adore the traditional baker plaid, as well as the tartan. the crown piece does seem a little thin, but the rest is exceptionally durable:) The first time I put it on my horse, he rolled in it and it stayed fairley clean, and did not slide off or hurt him or anything lke that! I only wish that the crown piece was a bit more durable because it get very dirty, but nothing a little leather conditioner cant fix! I also wish it came in Tartan to match his blanket!
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This halter is classy enough for a show and durable enough for turnout. It looks great on my mare and matches perfectly with her baker blankets. Would definitely recommend this halter, always brings in the compliments!!
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, but not very beefy I like everything Baker, so I outfitted my guy and my trailer with it. This halter is not very sturdy. The Baker parts are doubled, which makes it pretty beefy, but the leather on top is very thin, and I can see having to replace it soon. I'll only use it for trailering and showing, as I don't see it taking turnout well. But a very cute halter overall.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great halter! It looks so handsome on my boy, is durable, washes well, and fits true to size. I do wish the leather breakaway came softer right out of the box, but I just got it, so I'm sure it'll be great. Coordinates great with my other baker blankets. Get it!! :D
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter The number one reason I bought this halter is because it is a breakaway...I have been looking for a breakaway that isn't plain and boring and this baker was it! The flashy traditional baker plaid is very nice. I agree with the other reviewers as the leather crown piece does seem thin so I bought the leather replacement as well just in case it breaks. (After all it is supposed to break in case of emergency.) The halter seems to run a little big, or oddly shaped along the cheek bones but maybe it just needs to settle to frame the face better. You couldn't tell from the picture but the snap is the push down button kind, like the snap on a leadline would be. I was hoping for the other kind- push teardrop shaped closure. Overall it seems like a nice halter, hoping it settles in to a more normal shape and that the crown piece isn't too weak.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too big, will be returning for a smaller one. Seems to run big.
    Date published: 2013-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker halter this halter seems like a good quality halter. i have not been abled to use it yet, but it seems good quality. i recieved this as a gift for Christmas with the matching lead line. i actually just ordered a name plate to put on the leather piece. the leather also seems good quality as well! I cant wait to use it!
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longevity with Class I have owned this halter for years and only had to replace the crown piece once. Definitely a classic and not overstated. Love this halter! Durable and non-rusting hardware. Leave it outside hanging everyday!
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made Halter This halter is very well made and although it is a breakaway and worn in the field all day they are still holding up well. Great color too; doesn't show dirt badly!
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Looking Halter Have had this for a month. It is a nice looking halter. Good quality and holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter! I love this halter. It looks so sharp on my warmblood. It is also indestructible! Whenever it gets dirty I just soak it in a bucket and it comes out like new. It matches very nicely with my other Baker pieces as well. A great buy. The Warmblood size fits very nicely on my 17'2 hand boy.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cob size would be great! Disappointing that the halter is only available in horse and large horse sizes. The horse size was way too big around the nose for my Arab gelding. The halter is great quality though, and I love the plaid pattern. It's just a matter of fitting. Making a cob size would be fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Halter Great halter, love Baker products! It does run a bit large, wish they offered a cob size.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a draft X which requires O/S halters. These fit, last and are stylist.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice halter Really love this halter. Looks awesome on my black warmblood. Great quality and a really nice halter. The only thing I don't like is the snap at the throat it's a bit big and gaudy and could easily get caught on something. Love that the whole crown is leather and breakaway. Awesome halter that I would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Distinctive, well-made breakaway halter Although this halter does not have an adjustable chin strap (which gives it a cleaner look), it fits all of my horses well and looks good. It is easy to put on and off. I wouldn't mind having a few more of these nice halters in my tack room! The photo shows our SSH mare Twylha wearing the halter and her new Baker fly sheet, also a perfect fit, posing for an article on fly control in Trail Blazer magazine.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I have used this halter with my last horse, Graham, and I loved it. It fit him wonderfully and had the leather crown piece for safety. It is a light halter which he seemed to really enjoy. I love all of Baker's products and will keep using them for many more years.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute halter I have to admit that I too was a little disappointed in the lack of quality of the leather crown piece, but the halter is so darn cute on my chestnut gelding that I 'm willing to overlook it. Besides, if it would become damaged, it's easy and cheap enough to replace. I would recommend this halter for any color horse. It's a classic!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker Halter An overall good halter, many people I know have this and say it lasts a very long time.It fits my horse well and looks nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree that the leather crown is a bit flimsy, but the rest of the halter is elegant and well-constructed. Runs true to size.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable on my mare Love this halter, looks great on my dark bay mare. Haven't turned her out in it yet, so we'll see if it holds up to halter tag with her BFF.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Alright I bought the Baker Halter because I adore the plaid design and thought it would look good on my chestnut. Upon receiving it, I couldn't help but think that the leather was quite thin and not of fabulous quality at all.2 months later, the leather has held up perfect fine, though the noseband section has started to 'fuzz' at the top (like fleece pants in the dryer) from some unknown cause. It can be cut off, but you'd think a Baker problem would hold up better than that, especially for it being $15 more than a regular nylon halter that holds up like steel; JUST for the Baker name.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very stylish I found the leather crown piece to be of standard quality but the overall design is marvelous and super trendy. What show horse would say no to another baker accessory?
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looks and value This attractive plaid looks sharp on my black horse. I like the soft and supple breakaway leather over his poll. Noseband fits well (not too tight, not too loose on his long face) without the bulk of an extra buckle there. Snap is medium quality, an acceptable tradeoff between light weight and halter lifespan at this price.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive Everyday Halter This is a great turnout halter! Very attractive, I get lots of compliments on it. Looks more expensive than it was! Only complaint is that the leather on a crown piece is a little thin. I've had no problems with it, but did expect the leather to be more substantial. I take my horse's halter off while she is in the field, so due to the crown piece this may not be the best choice for people that chose to leave halters on.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from size too big my horse has a large head, i've always bought large for him, but this one is too big, have it on him but i wish there was another way to adjust it.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.