Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet Ride - Long with Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #12788

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. With the same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader™ pasture fly mask, the Crusader Quiet-Ride™ fly mask can be worn over or under your bridle and will not impair your horse's vision.

Available in Arab, Horse, and Warmblood sizes.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet Ride - Long with Ears is rated 4.5472 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Mask Supreme I ride my American Paint mare on our trails and have to contend with barn flies, horse flies, deer flies and any other bugs that make Fancy toss her head and snort along the way. This summer has been horrible regarding the fly population and my old fly mask was too thick and dark, so Fancy seemed unable to see clearly and spooked more often. She also rubbed against the paddock fence due to fly bites and I often found the fly mask stuck to the fence, leaving her to the mercy of the flies.Crusader Fly Mask is light, yet durable. It is large enough to comfortably cover the ears, face and nose and secures nicely with a long Velcro strip that keeps the mask in place. Flies are kept at bay and Fancy seems to see more clearly on our trail rides, as she no longer throws her head or seems startled by objects along the trail.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with bugs This mask provides coverage of the whole face and ears for maximum protection from bugs. It didn't bother my horse at all, even the first time he wore it for a ride. I ordered the warmblood size for a 16HH quarter horse and it fits pretty well other than the extraordinarily long ears on the mask. The ears seem to be made for a mule.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Offers A Quiet Ride I ride my QH gelding on wooded trails. During the hot summer months, several types of biting insects attack my horse's face as we ride. This full-length face mask prevents insects from annoying my horse. My horse and I can enjoy the trail rides without any annoying head tossing. Truly a "Quiet Ride."
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not helpful for deerflies I didn't find this to be an effective mask for riding out where I live. Deerflies are the main annoying insect in our area, and they like landing behind the ears & poll at the top of the neck, which aren't covered with this. If you have insects that focus on the eyes & ears, this mask would be ideal. I ended up getting a mesh hood that extends from the nose to 3/4 of the way down the neck.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buggaboo The head tossing, and the nose-to-leg wiping, and the dramatics....Yes, it is FLY SEASON.Instead of battling the buggers with sub par methods from last year, I decided to get medieval on them aerial menaces and order some armor for my horsey friend. The horse size fit his average sized painted head really nicely over the bridle. The product is made nicely, and I know I will be able to use it for many summers to come. I feel the price is fair for what I got.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Material The material is nice and soft so it seems like it should be comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Bit Disappointing This did not work very well for my horse. The mask seemed to be uncomfortable or itchy, so he was constantly stopping to scratch his head. Also, even though he has a pretty narrow head, and horse size products are usually a bit big on him, I had a difficult time keeping the mask from poking him in the eyes. He was also very spooky while wearing the mask due to sunlight creating strange patterns on the dark fabric.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy Good product but fit is small and close to eyes. My 16.3 tb needed a warmblood size when he normally fits in a full/horse and my 14.3 appendix who wears a cob bridle needed the horse size simply because it was soo close to their eyes. They hold up well on horses who aren't known to tear up their clothing. I use them everyday in the stalls and while riding because of how sensitive my horses are to flies on their faces. It is very easy to see through and clean. Neither horse had a problem adjusting to riding with it on and each stopped tossing their heads every five seconds. Neat forelock hole, very creative. It also seems cool; it is almost all mesh or the netting for the eye and nose section. Velcro seems strong.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I ordered this supplement for my senior horse, I worry about his eye sight and he also gets sunburn easily. Sometimes I can't get to the barn to take it off for the night. I bought this fly mask so he can wear it over night and still be able to see. I love that it's thin and easy for him to see
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for bug sensitive horse I really like this fly mask for trail riding. My horse is very bug sensitive and was very annoying with the head tossing on a trail ride. Particularly if we were just walking and the bugs were in his face. I bought this and it completely fixed the problem. Also, the mesh over the eyes is thin enough that it doesn't seem to impair visibility.It is very large - I bought the warmblood size for my draft cross horse and it is plenty big. In fact maybe a little too big but it works. The nose comes down all the way past his nostrils just a bit. It is stiff enough that it doesn't lay against his nostrils (a good thing), and provides full coverage against the bugs.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riding with bugs is now ok This fly mask is worth its weight in gold. My horse went from miserable to comfortable when bugs were in the air.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly protection Complete head coverage - keeps flies off entire face.Great fit - My horse has a big "everything" and is hard to fit.Comfort - Fits loosely without slipping around.
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly Mask I found that the color of the fly mask I received is not the same as the one on the internet.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask I do like this mask, but I thought the mesh over the eyes would be a lighter color for better visibility. Instead, the mesh is black. I would have preferred a gray or white color instead.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Mask! Not just for riding I love this Mask! I use it for my Fox Trotter who the flies won't leave alone. It fits well using the size guide. Some reviews mentioned that it ran big so I ordered the Arab/Small Horse size but it fits a little close to his eyes. I've got the Horse size now and it's perfect. So see-through that I can leave it on him over night (if I absolutely have to) and he can still see very well. Nice, soft lining around all the edges and the nose comes down far enough to really give good coverage. Very flexible ears.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This is my second crusader quiet ride and I love it. My horse hates bugs around his face and with all the trail riding we do it keeps him very happy and me too!
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Because I use my fly masks every day when I ride and it is summer and the horses get sweaty I have washed them twice on the gentle cycle in my washer and they wash fine. I recommend them to anyone. Also the fit is good, I have 2 cob size and 2 horse size
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not at all like it used to be The crusader fly mask (long with ears) is made of really stiff material and was sized much larger than in past years. I am not planning to use it as it looks uncomfortable for my horse and I doubt that he can really see through it well enough for a ride. It does look like it is really durableI ended up ordering the short version and it is made of much more flexible material and looks like it has much better visibility. I cannot imagine why Crusader made such a drastic change on what was an excellent product
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I absolutely love this flymask! It does its job and looks good doing it! I ordered it with a little monogram which looks great too! Let's all the UV in which is what I was looking for because my sensitive dw gets fungus all over his face with some of the heavier flymasks like the Kensington one (which I also love but can't use!) I don't know if this fly mask will hold up as well as the Kensington does, since it is so thin, but even if it doesn't I'm still glad I got it.Its great to use while riding too :)Overall I am very pleased with this flymask!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freedom to ride! This is an excellent product. It has allowed me to increase my riding opportunities to include those bug infested hours/days. My horse is uber sensitive and would be a prancing, hopping, hot mess if he didn't get his "beauty mask". He stays very calm with this on and does not object to wearing it when riding. He has a refined head and the Cob/Arab size fits perfect.Some issues to be aware of. This mask is not the best for riding at dusk or in heavily shaded areas. I find that in these situations my horse will tend to eye or spook at things that normally he could recognize and would ignore. The mask is like wearing sunglasses... so in low light it limits vision.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab fly mask! Nice quality, durable, no complaints whatsoever. I opted for the free embroidery and love having my horses's name on the nose. Thanks Smartpak for being so awesome!
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from quiet ride is correct name This mask really works - the first time I used it there were 10 - 20 flies sitting on the mask and my horse didn't seem to mind at all - no more head shaking. Fit is ok - the mask sits very close to eyelashes/eyes but my quarter horse seems ok with it - I'll watch for irritation on longer rides.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have had my Cashel Long with Ears for two years. Before I got it, I could not hardly ride on the trails due to my horse tossing his head. He is a thin-skinned TB and the deer flies and black flies would send him into frenzy.Now, we don't head out for the trails without his flymask. I put it on over his bridle and our rides are enjoyable now. The head-tossing completely dissappeared. Even after two years, the fly mask is in great shape. I accidently ripped a small hole in it a few days ago and decided to purchase a new one. While I was at it, I decided to let everyone else know what a great product this is!
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the long nose mask butterfly loves her new masks all the other horses look at her and want one.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I have used this mask on every horse that I have ridden and they all love it! It has been through the front load washer 3 times in less than two months and is holding up very well.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever The crusader fly mask was exactly what our 18 hand Hanovarian needed to stop his head shaking while being ridden. Of course it can not be used while showing but our horse oddly enough only head shakes at home. The warmblood size was a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from What Happened to These Fly Masks? SInce my last purchase of a crusader quiet ride mask, the company has changed the material and fit - FOR THE WORSE-. The material is very stiff - so stiff that I coiuld not get the folds out sufficiently to lie on my horse's head and the sizing is way off - the horse size that I bought (the same size I have bought for my horse many times before) was way too big around the face. Bring back the old design and fabric for the quiet ride mask!!!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for trail rides! I use this mask on my horse when we go for trail rides. He is bothered by bugs. At first, I tried a version of this mask without the nose piece, but he would still try to itch his face and shake his head. After using this mask, we have pleasant, quiet trail rides where he doesn't seem so miserable.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crusader Flymask quiet ride Attaches nicely, my horse looks very silly in it but it does the trick! Seems well made.
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.