Product Image

Solitude IGR

Zoetis
- Item #12728
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Solitude IRG is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house and stable fly egg development. Solitude IGR is effective only against immature house and stable flies. As existing adult flies die off, overall fly population is significantly reduced within 4 to 6 weeks. Create a healthier environment for your horse. Cost effective and easy-to-use; just add 1/2 oz into your horse’s daily feed regardless of your horse’s breed or size.

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Solitude IGR is rated 4.7556 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solitude keeps Flies from breeding!! Love this product! Solitude doesn't allow flies to breed. No eggs or larvae in the manure pit = less flies. This makes the horses happy. When they are happy. I'm happy!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from We run a 10 stall barn with 15-20 horses on site at all times. Started using this product in early March this year; we had an early spring that jumped right into summer. It took longer than the stated 6 week period to see results; even starting that early. Every horse on the farm received the required dosage daily. Once it did start to work, it was very noticeable. We have tried the other two feed-thru products (Simplifly and Farnum Equitrol) the last two years. The Simplifly seemed to work almost as well as the Solitude in my opinion; for about half the money. The Equitrol did not work at all for us. Simplifly is much less expensive than Solitude; and since we ended up using a premise spray with both, I will likely go with the Simplifly next year. Both of those products performed well. Would recommend either of them.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only fly supplement that WORKS I was in TX with my horses this summer and the barn we were at requires all the boarders to provide this supplement for their horses. For the first time in my life with horses I didn't go through ONE BOTTLE of fly spray the entire summer. The barn is almost fly free. It is the most pleasant barn I've ever been in, in the middle of summer- and its in Texas! Hands down this is an incredible product, worth the money (I would easily be spending as much in fly spray and other fly traps monthly) and the horses eat it right up. HIGHLY recommend!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I must say I wasn't expecting this to work. I've always depended on fly spray and garlic in the summer for fly protection. But this year my mare and I decided to give Solitude a try and were very pleasantly surprised. It worked! At first I thought I was imagining it after a week and I thought I saw a reduction in the amount of flies pestering my mare. Then a couple weeks later---now---I am positive that this product works and helped get rid of those nasty bugs. It also tastes great to my mare and she gobbles these pellets up as if they were treats.
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend Living in south Florida the fly situation can be daunting at best. Once we started a program that included Solitude IGR, Fly predators and a fly system in the barn we rarely deal with flies. Even in the pastures the swishing of flies is minimal. Highly recommend
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief From Flies I have had my horse property for 5 summers. For three, I used fly predators. In central Illinois, they just didn't work. I had four horses and cleaned manure twice a day. The first year was fine, but by year three the flies were a daily annoyance. Spaulding said to buy yet more predators, and it had no noticeable effect. By July I decided to try Solitude IGR. The difference was almost immediate. Within a week the fly population had decreased drastically, measured by my comfort working in the barn and the need for fly spray. This year I skipped the predators and used only SIGR. It's now mid July and the height of fly season. Despite the extreme heat this year, it's been very pleasant. I don't notice flies tickling me while I work and the horses are not stomping and bothered. I use spray to repel mostly Mosquitos and gnats. This product is expensive, but so easy to use. Even my picky eater will consume it. And it works, for everyone's comfort.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! I started using Solitude b/c a trainer requested it, in order to take lessons at his facilities. When it ran out, (and I wasn't taking lessons anymore), I decided to stop using it. Almost immediately, I noticed a dramatic increase in flies around my house. Definitely has become a staple for my barn!
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product Living in Oklahoma we have a large fly problem. I started giving this product to my horses and donkey and within 4 weeks I notice a huge difference in the flies. Now being almost an entire bucket into it flies don't drop down onto the horses. They are happy and pretty much fly free. This stuff is by far the most amazing stuff.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Worth It I volunteer with a horse rescue that has 5 horses. I purchased this with high hopes and so far I'm very pleased! I can tell a big difference in the stalls when I'm cleaning. It's going to last longer than I anticipated,too, which is good for my wallet! Great product!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solitude ig It seems to be working very well so far. I will be able to report more next month when the flies are getting really bad.I will be sure to get back to you. Janet
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good investment Put both my horses on the igr and have seen a decrease in flies . Very good product
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one works! Last year I switched to SimpliFly to save money, as I have 4 horses and Solitude can get pricey. BIG mistake. I probably spent those "savings" on flyspray! I had fewer flies when I had 6 horses on my property using Solitude than I had when I had only 2 horses and 2 ponies using Simplifly! Solitude is BY FAR the best feed through!
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly control ever After using this product for 3 years, I am completely sold on its performance. We are practically fly free, and have proven to several other horse owners, that this is the best way to go. They also are pleased with this method of control at their barns. I already have my supply for the coming Spring, as I do not want to take a chance of an infestation.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Decision So glad I switched to Solitude. Have seen a difference within 2 weeks. Pesky flies no longer congregate here. I have recommended the products to all my horse-owner friends.
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Put my 3 horses on this product because I had hundreds of flies. Within 3 weeks, the fly population was reduced by 99%. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used solitude last summer and was very pleased with the results, however, this summer being on a budget, I opted to try a less expensive feed through fly control (simplifly) and wow HUGE mistake!!! We started back on Solitude 2 weeks ago and the flies are gone!! You get what you pay for and we learned that Solitude is worth the extra cost and are happy to have a fly free barn!! This is also picky eater approved by all my guys!
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff!! We have an EXTREMELY picky donkey, she turns her nose up at anything new. We had no problem introducing this to her feed and we have seen it work! She is the only equine on the property, but comparing the amount of flies that bothered her before using this and after is remarkable.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works fine for me I have been using Solitude IGR for 3 or 4 years. It seems to reduce the fly population but with cows nearby it is not perfect. I supplement Solitude with fly traps.I start in February and stop in November. About every other year I don't have to use fly masks.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would recommend this product to any horse owner. I have been using this product for 2 years and have 3 horses and have noticed that the fly population has dropped to almost nothing. Ihave tried fly predators but I have more success with this product. Highly recommend
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful, but doesn't work alone The product is easy to use and does have a positive result on control of the fly population but it is only truly effective when all horses within the area are treated with the same type of product. Our ranch uses this product along with fly predators but we still have fly issues due to the properties around us with horses that use nothing for fly control. This product can't do it alone.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using this product for the past three years and have found it to be most effective. It's easy to use, the horses eat it readily, and my fly population is reduced drastically. What more can you want?
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Long Flies! Love this product - noticed a big difference when 2 new horses arrived who had NOT been using Solitude! After the new horses were on it for a while, we were back to a peaceful "no fly zone"!
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth A Try We have a Horse, A Mini - Donkey and a Llama and we are trying this product on all 3 for the first time to see if it cuts down on the flies this summer.
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solitude Easy to use. Really reduced the fly population and that's important in a small community!
    Date published: 2010-04-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work I tried this before going to SimpliFly and it just didn't do the job that SimpliFly does. In fact, it did such a bad job that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else.
    Date published: 2009-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solitude IGR This product works very well in keeping the fly population down in our barn and pasture.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can't beat this product! I am in the second year of using Solitude IGR, and there are very few to no flies. I use hay as my bedding. Years ago hay would attract the flies because it doesn't absorb that much, but I don't need to worry any more, because I don't have them. I use my left over hay from the year before, as it got too expensive for shavings and other products. My idea works well for me, and I save a lot of money with the help of Solitude IGR. This product is much better than Fly Preditors,( Yes, I tried it.) as there are a few to no flies.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly control I started using this product and have been very impressed. I started it later than recommended, it was already June and the flies had already started, but I feel it has made a huge difference in the fly population at my barn. I have a small operation, two horses at this time, but I have very few flies compared to my expereince at other barns. I will continue to use this product every year and start it on time next year.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Friendly Composting IGR prevents fly reproduction and allows manure spreading and composting without creating a nuisance. If equestrian communities would encourage all horse owners to use IGR, the fly problem would be minimal
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.