Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Equine Comfort Products Deluxe Classic Half Pad

Equine Comfort Products
- Item #12652

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Top quality pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad is 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin and helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad absorbs and wicks away moisture while providing effective shock absorption. 2" rolled edge on front and back keeps pad in place. 

White pad has an open channel design, which alleviates pressure on the spine for a more comfortable fit.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Equine Comfort Products Deluxe Classic Half Pad is rated 4.7667 out of 5 by 30.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I bought a half pad for the same price from a local store. This one is 10x better quality! I am very happy with it, as I do not like the ultra fuzzy pads and think they are too bulky. This pad gives just enough padding without the bulk!
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right Nice and thick half pad. Can be used with both a baby pad or a regular quilted pad. Comparable to a mattes pad but half the price. Sheep skin is very soft even after being put through the washer and dryer a few times. Love it!
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Half Pad My horse's chiropracter recommended that I get a half pad for my TB while we work to rebuild his topline after a prolonged injury. The two brands she recommened were ECP and Mattes. Based on price I went with ECP. It fits my 17.5" Stubben dressage saddle perfectly and stays in place. I've only had it for a month and it's winter (so sweating) so I haven't washed it yet, but doesn't show any signs of wear. I was compred it to the Mattes pads some of the other boarders have and it doesn't seem as thick, which is probably why it's less expense. Overall it's a nice pad and does the job I bought it for.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As nice as the more expensive pads Did not want to spend money on a mattes pad-this pad is very nice-a great value for the money-washed it in leather detergent in washer and dried it on air setting-came out perfect!!! I am happy I did not spend double for the more expensive pad
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Half-pad Very happy with this purchase. I was looking for a pad for a narrow, sensitive TB I was riding, which would not only provide cushion, but raise up the cantle of my saddle a bit. This pad did the trick. Since I use it with a baby pad underneath, it hasn't even seen the wash yet-- even after several months of summer schooling and showing. I'm not only pleased with the quality of this pad, but I'm also pleased with the improvement of my horse's performance with it. He started moving freer and more comfortably as soon as I introduced the pad.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect half pad! Great price! I have tried a couple half pads and saddle pads to try and find a good fit that would work for my gelding (including ThinLine, BOT, Mattes, SMx, and Matrix/Toklat). By far this is the best half pad with great quality, especially for the price!!! You cannot shim this one, so if you need that customization the Matrix or ThinLine might be a better choice, but for us this was perfect. Helped to fill out the hollows adding a layer of cushion and protection, and it sits perfectly under my 18" Amerigo Vega dressage saddle. My only complaint is it doesn't come in black!
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I have had this pad for about 5 years, Love it!The sizing is generous, would work fine for 18" saddles. I always wash it with Melp and it still feels like new. The cotton backing doesnt clean up perfectly, but that part isn't visible under a saddle. Very durable, thick, well made.Comparable products: I too would compare this to a fleeceworks or Mattes. ECP makes a good product.It is larger(the roll edges and therefore overall length), thicker pile, and in general heavier duty than the Ovation brand sheepskin half pads.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sheepskin half pad Have only used this pad a few times so can't really say much about durability, but it appears to be a very well made pad and fits my saddle and makes it very comfortable for my horse. I also like that it looks like one of the uber expensive ones without quite breaking the bank.Haven't washed it yet but if it doesn't shrink in COLD wash I will be even more pleased. The last half sheepskin pad I had (way cheaper) got a little bit smaller each time I washed it. :(
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Verry Happy With This Pad! A great alternative to the more expensive thinline and mattes look alike pads! Has held up very well with being used about once or twice a day for the past few months. One of my friends says she likes it better than her mattes and thinline pads. It has plenty of room for my 16.5" inch saddle, you could probably fit an 18" without any issues. Overall i'm extremely happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I bought this half pad for my warmblood and love the fit! The quality is great, especially for this price - alot of half pads out there that cost alot more! The pad also seems to be holding up well - I'm happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with my decision I went back and forth on what pad to get for my horse. I have always been told ThinLine and Mattes pads are the best, but I really didn't want to throw out that much dough... But then you wonder if you'll regret not just going for the higher end pad. I finally settled on this one, and could not be happier. Nice and plush and fits my horse well. A good all around half pad to give that extra cushion to your faithful partner.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from worst purchase If you ride mulitple horses daily, don't bother it won't hold up. I did the instructions to wash (melp) and didn't even put it in a washer it still has fallen apart and this is my second one. I will say that for some reason my white one looks almost new and is 2 years old. go figure
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half-pad for schooling I school my horse in this pad 4-5 times a week. Even though it takes a beating, it has held up very well with a lot of use. Fits my saddle perfectly and cleans up easily in the washing machine with Leather Care detergent.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Get Enough of These! The Equine Comfort Product pads are awesome! This Deluxe Classic Half Pad adds just the right amount of padding to a saddle that fits properly. I like how the sheepskin edge extends all the way around to help hold the pad in place. These pads actually stay cleaner than you would think and are super easy to wash with MELP.
    Date published: 2009-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Pad I love this pad. I got it because it is cheaper than other half pads and you can't tell any difference in what brand it is when you use it. Great quality and has held up well. Also, it washes really well.
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Wouldn't Buy for Everyday I bought this half-pad almost a year ago. I rode at least 2 horses a day for most the time I used this pad. This pad has now started to fall apart. How ever I must say I used it for about a year and rode many horses with it. I believe if you don't ride as often as I mentioned this would be a Great Pad for you. It is soft and molds to your horse, it is wonderful for Shows.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pad at a great price! I recently purchased this pad based on the reviews I read here and I am VERY happy that I did! My horse and I love it. It's well made and attractive. I find sitting my horse's canter to be easier with this pad and he no longer has any soreness in his back. I've tried gel pads and other types of theraputic pads and this has worked the best for us. It's a great pad at a great price. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I love this half pad. I have one of the more $$ pads and I like this one much better. I have 2 of them now and use them every day! I am in love =)
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I recieved this pad as a Christmas gift and it is by far my favorate half pad that I own. It is just like the more expensive Merino sheepskin pads at half the price!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME pad I love this pad! I recently switched to it from a gel pad because I wasn't satisfied with how the gel pad worked. I have a 14 year old retired ex-eventer thoroughbred and he suffers from soreness, even though I make sure to use extra-thick saddle pads, my saddle was fits him perfectly, and he gets a liniment massage after every ride. He is arthritic and this pad improved his condition drastically, and I can even use regular saddle pad (no more extra thick pads unless it's a long trail ride). I highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.