Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

UMS System 6 Stirrups

Item #12596

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement System which allows movement in any direction.

UMS System 6 Stirrups are extremely smooth technology offering forward, backward and side to side movement and impact resistance. Comes with rubber stirrup pads and “cheese grater” pads. Also includes free carry bag.

4 1/4, 4 1/2, or 4 3/4.  Click here for more product photos.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    UMS System 6 Stirrups is rated 4.7895 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent knee and ankle saver My daughter suffered an ankle injury years ago and has chronic pain trying to maintain the proper body alignment. We purchased a pair of these stirrups last year and they have reduced her pain significantly and now purchased a second pair for her dressage saddle. We also have a pair of the more expensive brand, but she prefers this product which is significantly cheaper!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Love these stirrups! No more hip and knee pain. Really helps me keep my heels down, without bracing against the stirrup. These stirrups have just the right amount of flex.
    Date published: 2012-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly comfortable! As I've gotten older, my knee & ankle joints have gotten stiffer. Thank goodness that I found these stirrups! Their flexibility allows me to ride longer & more comfortably than my traditional irons did. And the price makes them much more affordable than that "other" brand.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tallest irons ever I recently bought my first saddle, and was very excited to get these irons. However, they are crazy tall. I don't know if it is to accomodate the joints, but I just couldn't ride in them. Smartpak as always was great with my return!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Crazy Huge and Clunky I have tried different styles of the Sprenger jointed stirrups and spent over $400 for grief of one kind or another (made my stirrup length funny to address, weird angle on the offsets, too wiggly, too unstable). So, after reading the reviews I thought I would give these a try since they comments were that they were more stable. I never even rode in them. These things are huge, ugly, oversized, and look like something some gigantic dude in the jumpers might use. They looked ridiculous on my saddle not to mention, they felt like they weighed about 14 lbs a piece. I promptly put my 15 year old plain old fillis back on and breathed a sigh of relief. They seem very well made and are a good value, if you get past the size/weight issue.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort These are a great item for people with hip, knee or ankle problems. I have MS and these make it possible for me to ride without ankle and foot pain. For that I am thankful and that makes them worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup irons! I didn't realize how sore my regular stirrup irons were making my ankles and knees until I got these. They are wonderful and about 1/3 of the cost of more expensive brands!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Ride in Anything Else! I am in LOVE with these stirrups. I used to get shooting pains up through my ankles and knees every time I dismounted. Then I bought these stirrups and haven't had that happen since. My knee and ankle soreness has decreased away from the barn as well. I also never lose a stirrup with these. And they're very durable - I've ridden in the same pair several times a week for 3 years and they are still in great shape.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these stirrups. Initially I thought that there might be too much play in them and would not keep my feet stable. However, that is not the case and I have not lost a stirrup yet. They are great and I recommend them. Thanks Smartpak
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on my middle-aged joints I cannot believe how much more comfortable these irons are than the standard fixed-foot ones. It is easier to keep my heels down, but more important to me, I don't have aching in my ankles and knees any more after doing a lot of riding. I can't comment on the durability as I've only been using them for one month, but in that month, they've made my life a lot easier!
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable & (fairly) durable! My knees can give me some pretty decent pain if I ride hard or long. The thought of spending $200 for stirrups makes my wallet hurt just as much! These stirrups were a perfect solution! Unfortunately, after a year of about daily use, the joints had become TOO flexible, and my foot was sliding right out of them. The stirrup pad was also very slippery if enough sand got in them, and that amount was not a lot. Sure, these stirrups are of good quality, and they're attractive. They're a good price — but having to replace them after every year is insane. I won't be buying these stirrups again. I'm downright disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will never own any other stirrups! I have owned these stirrups for five plus years now. I would not be able to ride without them.I was a strict plain jane fillis stirrup fan, like George Morris, until I tore some tendons in my ankle after a bad fall. For months I couldn't use stirrups at all, and when I finally could my normal fillis stirrups caused me a lot of pain.On a whim I decided to try these, as they were less expensive then the Herm Springer ones out at the time (that I had tried but found to be too flexible). I instantly fell in love after my first ride in the Intec UMS stirrups. They absorb some but not all shock, so you have less stress on the joints but don't completely loose your feel. They flex, but not a large amount, so it's easy to stay balanced.Some days I would have to ride 6 or 7 horses in a row and these stirrups would enable me to do that and still be able to walk afterwards.They're easy to clean and easy to maintain. I recommend cleaning them at least once or twice a year and squirting some Fluid Film or WD-40 on the joints to keep them like new.I haven't needed to replace my stirrups yet, and doubt I will for a long, long time. They've held up beautifully!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST STIRRUPS!!! got these for my ankle and knee pain after the first ride it was gone! have been in amazing condition due to these! Not too much flex (H-S stirrups) just right
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Product My MDC Ultimate stirrups were stolen with my saddle and I needed to replace them. I decided on these because they were more affordable and the MDC were nice because of the adjustability of the angle of the stirrup leather, they were 'tall' and sometimes awkward. These stirrups seem to be a good value, very solid. Wish they came in black.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I couldn't ride without these! In August of 2006 I had a fall that damaged the muscles and tendons in my left ankle. After months of riding without stirrups I finally went to use my normal fillis irons again... I couldn't! I was in huge amounts of pain every time I tried to use them. I had to do something, so after some research and debate I purchased these stirrups.I love LOVE love them! They gave me instant relief from and the pain and have helped keep me riding despite all my injuries. They take abuse well, and clean easily.I could not begin to tell you exactly how many hours in the saddle I've used them, but it is a lot. They're still going strong and I just clean them once a year and put some Fluid Film inside the rubber guards to keep them oiled and rust free (I use them in all types of weather).Seriously good buy, especially if the Herm Sprenger irons have too much flex for you!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooooo gentle on the knees. My aging knees are singing praises with these stirrups. The stirrup's subtle movements relieve stress on the legs and knees without any noticeable change in the legs' position against the horse. I'll be ordering another pair for my other saddle and recommending these to my friends.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves these. My daughter has three saddles and they all have these stirrups on them. She loves the way they feel.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend these irons Bought a second pair for the second saddle because the first pair on the primary saddle have spoiled me. I do not have bad hips or knees but I could feel such a negative difference after hunting in regular irons. I guess these provide just enought shock absorption that the leg fatigue level is greatly reduced. The rubber sides have held up well and show no signs or wear or tear after hard use.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, comfortable stirrups I have avoided purchasing jointed stirrups for years, due to the prohibitive cost (who wants to pay $200 or MORE for stirrups?) Like so many people when I grew up, only plain Fillis stirrups existed and we all read George Morris column talking about traditional, traditional, traditional. I finally caved in when I saw these stirrups for under $100 and they arrived last week. No more ankle pain or strain, no more too-wide stirrups, no more "fishing" for the stirrups, just an air ride. So comfy, so grippy. They are a great deal and I can't imagine the more expensive stirrups being even better!
    Date published: 2009-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable! Great irons and great price! Takes stress off of my knees and ankles.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely a Smartpak Best Buy My old stirrups hurt my knees, were easy to lose/hard to retrieve, and had no safety release. I was seriously considering buying some MDC Comfort Stirrups, but $180 was more than I wanted to spend. I read the reviews on the UMS stirrups and decided to give them a try -- Smartpak is always so good about returns, I knew I had nothing to lose! I have used my new stirrups now about 20 times and I LOVE them. They are sturdy, but light-weight; they are good-looking; and they fit and flex very well. The 6-way movement system took care of my knee pain and I no longer have trouble with stirrup loss or retrieval. A friend rides in my saddle once a week and she also really likes my new stirrups. Thank you Smartpak for a great deal on some great stirrups!
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Stirrups These stirrups really do take all the pressure off your knees, ankles and hips!I ride the trails in an extreme heels down, toes in, rock solid equitation to effectively maneuver all the wild spooks thrown at me on my big Arab 3 year old cross.This is his first month out on the trails and without these wonderful, comfortable, flexible stirrups, I'd be in some serious pain.The cheese grater pads are great for extra grip. These stirrups are very well balanced ~ even after a spitting Llama charged at us, I have yet to drop one :)
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! I have stiff ankles and frequent hip pain that went away immediately when I used these stirrups. My ankles felt "relaxed" and my leg position improved. Very high quality product. These stirrups are great for anyone that would love a more comfortable ride.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups I couldn't be happier! I rode two horses today and my ankle pain was minimal. Usually, my left ankle is in constant pain while I ride, especially when I try to bring my toe in a bit. Not so with these. What a huge difference!I recommend these comfortable stirrups for others who have bad old ankles.
    Date published: 2009-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Bang for the Buck! Why pay almost two times more for a stirrup that is not as functional as this one? I have ridden in the more expensive flexible stirrups but didn't have the budget to buy them when I needed to replace my stirrups. I tried these because they were less expensive but seemed like they would be comparable. Boy am I happy. These stirrups flex in 6 different directions so they are actually more comfortable. I also like the fact that they come with two different kinds of stirrup pads. I can change to the cheese grater pads on muddy days so that my feet aren't slipping and sliding. Buy these stirrups instead of the more expensive flexible stirrups and have extra money to buy something else from SmartPak!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.