Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ariat® Close Contact Half Chap

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #12384

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Ariat® Close Contact Half Chap is made from oiled and waxed full grain leather with reinforced inside panel. The Ariat® Close Contact Half Chaps feature dual stretch leather panels on each side of back zipper. Spanish cut top line. The Ariat® Close Contact Half Chap has a stretch leather insert of instep for improved fit. Oiled Black. 

Imported.
 
Now available in a new, updated and modern design as the Ariat® Close Contour Half Chap which features premium full-grain waxed leather and an elasticized stretch panel for custom fit!

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ariat® Close Contact Half Chap is rated 4.2424 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chap This is my second pair of these chaps, I only replaced the first pair because I left them at a horse show! I ride 3-5 horses 5 days a week and these hold up great! they're very comfortable and they don't interfere with the fit/position of your spur, which is a biggie for me! They do seem a little pricey, but if they don't have to be replaced that often that's fine with me!
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps It took just a few days for the chaps to streatch a little bit to make getting them on a snap. The leather grip is great and they look fabulous.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps These are great half chaps! They start off slightly tight but they stretch to fit your leg perfectly. This is my second pair. I love the fit and they are great to ride in.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The zippers make me hate these To be blunt, the zippers suck. It's really annoying to have to stop my lesson 5 times just to keep my half chaps from falling off. These don't unzip a little bit, they unzip so much they are about an inch away from completely coming off my leg. They also don't stay put once you fix them once, it really doesn't take long for them to unzip again so you have to continuously stop and pull them up. My saddle has loads of little scratches and dents from where the zipper pull dug in. I do have to say the leather is very soft and grippy, and they do fit nicely. I really wanted to like these, but they are just SO frustrating.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Chaps My Ariat all around chaps finally wore out, and when I went to replace them I decided to get a chap that fits more like a tall boot. These definitely fit the bill. I can't speak to durability yet as I only wore them a few weeks before my horse went on winter vacation. My only complaint is that the zipper is difficult to start when you are wearing jeans.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good 'ol Ariat! My old pair of Ariat half chaps finally wore out (after 3 years!) so I purchased these as a replacement. I like that they are thinner, making it easier to wear spurs with them. The zipper is a little awkward at first since it zips upward. Takes a little getting used too. The higher spanish topline looks nicer than my old ones too. I would recommend these!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a good fit! After buying and having had to return 3 different chaps, this one fits, performs as promised and looks great. Good value.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit, Form & Function! "....for someone like me, one that prefers schooling in tights and paddock boots rather than tall boots, 1/2 chaps are an absolute necessity! And, as such, proper fit leads to comfort and with Ariat's wide array of sizing, it's easy to get a custom-like fit! And then, let's admit it, we like to be "lookin' good'" in our riding gear so form is also critical and finally, youneed your chaps to function well and........in my experience, that's what the Ariat Close Contact Chaps will do for you!At first, the chaps are a bit stiff but with approx. two conditionings, they will soften to perfection! There's one more slight caution and that's the instep. Although it's "stretch" leather, it's quite stiff at first. However, it soons becomes pliable and from there you'll consider it a support system rather than the cause of ankle numbness (it happened to me!) or discomfort!As for the zippers, several reviewers had problems but I haven't had a similar experience. I find them to be very durable and easy to use and what with the leather zipper pulls, they zip up and down with ease!"
    Date published: 2011-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps That Look Good, Too I've owned these half chaps for about 2 1/2 years now, and have been riding in them about twice a week. I've only recently started having some issues with them - the zipper does slip down from the top maybe half an inch or so, but not enough to make a difference, and the stitching where the leather meets the stretch panel on the inside of my bigger leg has just recently started to break, and the leather has torn a bit where the stitching was.HOWEVER, for over two years these were absolutely perfect for me. A small fit my somewhat full (and short) calf really well. They could have been snugger in the ankle, but the extra room let me use them with both my regular and my bulkier winter paddock boots. In fact, if I can't get the tears in my current pair repaired, I plan on buying the exact same ones again.Also, they look really, really nice on. Definitely a happy purchase!
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chaps, mediocre zippers continued This is a short continuation of my original review. As I reported earlier, the zipper on the right chap would not stay up. I would like to report that the half chaps were replaced, no questions asked, by SmartPak. The attention and customer support that I received from SmartPak was nothing less than world class. It is difficult not to be completely impressed when a company treats a customer this well. I got the feeling during this transaction, that exemplary customer service was the norm at SmartPak and the fine way that I was treated was not unique to me.The replacement chaps have zippers that both stay up so my story has a happy ending. Hopefully an anomaly for Ariat products and royal treatment from SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chaps, mediocre zippers These chaps are really well made and have held up well to daily riding. They are well constructed and are of the high quality that you would expect from the upper end of the Ariat brand line. The only issue is that the zipper on the right chap unzips itself several times during every hour in the saddle. I have tried locking the zipper, wrapping the leather pull around the leather snap tab and several other machinations. The end result, unfortunately, is that the zipper heads south every few minutes. The zipper on the left chap stays put like it is glued so I am assuming that the problem is that Ariat got a batch of uncooperative zippers. I contacted Ariat and they sent me a form email that they stand behind their products - contact the retailer. Not very warm and fuzzy but I contacted SmartPak who has always given me exemplary customer service and I'm waiting to hear back. In spite of the zipper issue, I really like these half chaps.
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Chaps I've always had a difficult time finding tall boots and/or half chaps for my short, well-developed calves. I was SO happy when Ariat's Close Contact Half Chaps fit me perfectly. They are very grippy and supportive. The oiled leather and Spanish cut is flattering as well. Unfortunately, the button on the right chap came off so it'll need to be replaced. Other than that, I recommend them!
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy for the Money I have had 2 pair of these and about to purchase my 3rd. They are excellant quality and long lasting. Suggestion for your zipper falling down issue: leave the zipper pully upright at the top before snapping the top closer tab. Then allow the pully string to rest over the top of the tab. This prevents the zipper from migrating south while riding.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good trail chaps I bought this for trail riding. They are not the most snug half chap out there and the zipper did tend to fall down at times. However, they are durable and the lightly sueded surface did not show scratches.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice chaps apart from the zipper This is the second pair of Ariat Close Contact Chaps I have brought. I generally liked the first pair, but the zipper used to come undone and scratched a saddle. My trainer had a pair and had experienced no zipper problems so I figured that I'd try another pair as the reviews on the zippers were mixed. The zipper came undone on the new pair from just walking about for 10 minutes in them.
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely. Just lovely. I really wanted a half chap that looked like a tall boot, and this totally did the job. At first I was hesitant because of the price tag, but I never regretted buying them. I'm six feet tall and the Medium Talls fit like a second skin. The leather, with a little bit of oil, is super soft, I've never had a problem with the zipper, and I'd never ride in anything else.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these half chaps! I haven't had any problems with the zippers on these half chaps like others have mentioned. These fit really well and look great. They don't have the bulky feel a lot of half chaps have. They also wear really well. After a year and a half, they look fabulous.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great fit, but terrible zipper! These are my second pair of Ariat CC half chaps. They wear reasonably well, the first pair lasted almost 3 years of near daily use. The fit is great, the leather is very nice quality, they really hug your leg and feel very supportive. However, I too have had problems with the zipper falling down. At first I thought it was b/c my left leg had become bigger than my right. However, upon careful examination, the left zipper does not lock at the top of the chap. I can easily pull it apart when the chaps aren't even on. Not so for the right side. Interestingly enough, my teenage daughter has the same chaps, different size, and she also has a left zipper that won't stay closed. It is very annoying to spend $140 for these chaps and have this kind of problem. It is very frustrating to ride with the zipper constantly falling down. I won't be purchasing anymore of these. Clearly other reviewers have had the same problem as well. Ariat needs to fix their quality control. I really feel like things just don't last the way they used to w/ Ariat.
    Date published: 2009-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from There Goes the Zipper... There's good news and bad news about these chaps. The bad news is that after only a few rides the zipper absolutely refuses to remain zipped unless it's attached the the top snaping flap of the chap. However, if you're willing to fight a rowdy zipper, the good news is that these chaps are wonderfully soft and mold beautifully to your leg after only a few uses. Plus, Ariat is one of the only brands that makes non-custom chaps to fit my tall, thin legs. Wouldn't buy again though unless they were significantly discounted; the zipper woes just aren't worth the price.
    Date published: 2009-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second Skin The leather on the Ariat Close Contact Half Chaps is so soft and supple, with a wonderful leather stretch panel in the back that really conforms to your calf for support. Well worth the money!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! I LOVE the Ariat Close Contact Half Chap! I've had mine for 3 years and they fit GREAT! They look custom made and fit like "second skin". You don't have to break them in and they are super grippy! I also have a pair of well known, expensive half chaps and I still prefer to wear these! They are very comfortable and functional!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these chaps These chaps are beautiful and functional. I receive many compliments on them. Their back zipper is much more attractive than a side zipper, making this an economic alternative to high boots for schooling shows. The zippers do occasionally slide down, particularly if I'm doing a jumper (rather than hunter) course.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks are great, function not so great I bought these chaps because they were actually tall enough for my nearly 6 ft tall frame. They fit great at first, but then not only stretched out so badly they were baggy and chaffed, but the zipper kept falling down! Every 5 minutes, no exaggeration, I would have to stop and pull up my zipper, since they zip from the bottom up. I know I am not the only person who has had this problem; I have encountered AT LEAST 5 other people with the same issue. I am also between a Small (too big) and an Extra Small (too small), so I can't get a correct fit.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.