Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Neck Rug

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12297

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Give your horse full neck protection. Lined with 70 denier nylon to prevent rubbing. Attaches easily to the Kensington Protective sheet with three elastic straps. 20% of our net profit on any SmartPinkĀ® Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kensington Protective Neck Rug is rated 3.8333 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had no problems I was a little bit worried to order this neckie after everyone reviewed that the fit was small. I needed a good fly sheet and the Kensington had the best reviews so I took a chance on the neckie. I ordered a large and it fits my mare great. If anything it is a tad big but it doesn't move. I don't know if she is just smaller then all the others who order but it fits great and doesn't rub out her mane like the previous one I had. I couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The only bad kensington product I have the entire kensington line of fly protection, and i love all of it except this neck rug. It fits poorly on all my horses, and doesn't stay on. Its too rigid, and is an odd shape. Its the one part of fly protection that you want to be more meshy and able to move. I wish they would redesign this.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small for blanket sizing This horse wears a 76" Kensington Fly Sheet, but doesn't have an especially long neck, and it is a thin neck. Well, I should have bought the large or x-large. The medium was amazingly too small. I could only velcro the fastener in the front and it was at his chest. It was quite a bad fit and couldn't work as a neck cover at all so I sent it back. By the time I would receive a replacement, the bad fly season is over. I just fly spray his neck now.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good as long as you know what to expect First off, if you want a neck cover that closes up front don't bother with this one, it won't, even if you order the xl (maybe if you're buying it for a pony...but still I wouldnt recommend that). My horse is black and it helps keep him black, although not totally, he still bleaches a little on his shoulder. It is tough though, takes a beating, and fits very well on my dutch warmblood, I got the large and it matches my kensington flysheet and mask (which I would also recommend!) He's the most stylish guy at the barn ;)
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck cover This is a nice neck cover. I bought the large for my quarter horse mare. It doesn't fully close in front but still a very nice cover. I might order an XL next time.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I am using these neck protectors on big horses (Clydedales) and find them to be of good fit. I do not have problems with them slipping and the horses are on pasture as a group, with access to trees-so plenty of objects to rub on. I do not have halters on the horses when on turnout (24hrs/day) so do not use the upper loop on the neck protector, the lower loops are attached to the blanket. They have never lost one. Great products!
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from needs redesign When my colt developed sweet itch I decided to purchase this to protect his mane and skin. While the quality manufacturing of the material is very good, the design and way it fits is poor. You MUST use the blanket (which I did not want to purchase) in order to keep if from falling past the horses ears when he lowers his head to eat. And he felt very uncomfortable while wearing it. I think they need to make a fly mask with integrated neck cover instead of having to rely on the blanket.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from has design flaws I was very disappointed in this! First of all, the catalog said the same size would fit up to 82". I definately needed a bigger size! And, seriously, do you really think velcro closures will hold in turn-out?? I had to sew in my own snaps! and it still doesn't stay in place.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kensington Quality I purchased Kensington fly sheets for all of my horses three years ago. My horses wear them 24 hours a day for about 4-5 months of the year. The sheets show very little if any wear, offer great protection and are comfortable for the horses. I purchased a neck cover for my grey mare hoping to give her greater protection from UV rays. Although the quality of the material is the same as the fly sheet, I find the design a bit awkward. It attaches with velcro to the fly sheet and to your horses halter. The velcro can come undone and then the neck piece comes out of place or off! I am going to sew some clips on the neck piece making it more useable. I wish Kensington would offer a greater range of sizes in the neck cover. The one I purchased seems a bit small and the next size up is definately to big. I would like to see the neck cover redesigned.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.