Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Kensington Protective Sheet offers maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs; blocks up to 78% of UV. The 1000 x 2000 denier US made TEXTILENE Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather conditions. Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs. Includes elastic leg straps.

Click here to see the Kensington Protective Neck Rug.

20% of our net profit on any SmartPinkĀ® Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.6478 out of 5 by 159.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Attractive Loving this sheet-holding up well to my colts antics and doing a great job as well!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional, Fashionable, and Protective! After summers of relentless flies and mosquitos, I had to buy a fly sheet. I had read many positive reviews of the Kensington Protective Sheet, I thought I would give it a try! It's very easy to put on my horse and he didn't seem to mind it either. The mesh is very soft and durable. It protected my horse not only from the insects but from the hot Florida sun! It also fit perfectly--not too big, not too small! My horse is on the more rambunctious and high energy side, yet, I never had it accidentally come undone or find it randomly laying in the pasture. Excellent fly sheet! It is also very fashionable and matches his mask, boots, and my grooming tote!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome blanket very durable, fits pretty well. great for turnout.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Sheet My horses are usually very hard on their sheets....the Kensington sheets are standing up very well. Really like the way they mold to fit
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quality Purchase I have had this sheet for about two months now and am delighted that I bought it. My horse rolls a lot and is playful with his pasture mates, and despite that, the sheet has held up very well & also cleans up nicely with a good hosing. I also like the snaps & buckles as they work well, snap easily, but are reliable & safely stay fastened. The sheet has protected his coat from being sun-bleached, helped him with the flies, not rubbed his shoulders, and frankly- it looks sharp on him too.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, basic sheet This sheet has durable, breathable mesh, but the mare tore the girth strap in less than 6 hours just from a short roll in the dirt. It tore along the stitches of the girth strap.This sheet keeps the bugs off and they don't get too hot (in Florida!), but it doesn't protect the belly or back thighs.Decent sheet, but I would splurge for one with a belly wrap and detachable neck if your horse is sensitive.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I love this Kensington protective sheet. Fits great, no rubs. Keeps the flys off but my horse stays cool. Still looks new after using it everyday. I wanted to purchase one for a while and when it came out in SmartPurple I had to have it. My friends are jealous!
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Protective Sheet Runs true to size, durable, well fitting - very pleased with this product
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet! "My horse hates flies and the hot sun in the field all day. He would go out in the morning eat 15 minutes of grass and run into the shed for the remainder of the day.I bought this fly sheet and matching fly boots in hopes to get him to eat more grass throughout the day and keep his belly moving and healthy. The first day I put them on he's out happy as a clam eating grass with his buddies!!! No running to the shed for cover! I'm thrilled that he's more comfortable and can eat a fair share of grass! Thank you smartpak and consumers for your reviews!! I definitely made the right choice!"
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet! Handsome, tough; runs a bit big My gelding is beefy--he's a big beefy 15.3h PB Arab and is big chested. And, heh, as some of us ladies understand, having a big chest can make fitting clothing a challenge. He wears a 76 at least in length; the problem in other brands has been they are too tight/rub in the chest (and I can't go bigger or it'd look like he's wearing a dress).This sheet fits him about as well as I think will be possible for his beefy bod, and he looks darn good in it. The only thing is the straps (particularly the belly strap) could stand to be a tad shorter; I can't quite adjust it to the length that would make me most comfortable. (I've already had to deal with a horse getting a leg stuck under a strap once in my life, and that was enough.) It's also a hair longer than what I've seen in other brand 76s, but again--it's about as good a fit as I think I'm going to find for him.Love the snaps on both ends of the straps, the lining at the shoulders (for chesty horses like mine), and the fleece at the withers. Definitely will buy again.
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice I got this sheet for my mare a few weeks ago, and have been very pleased. I was replacing a Weatherbeeta airflow sheet, which fit well, but would catch on her hair and work it's way backward within hours, binding across the chest and making the hairs on the rump stick up. This sheet fits great, and does not slide backward.Sizing is consistent with other Kensington blankets/sheets. There is no tail flap, but that's not a big deal. I got the Smart Purple, and it's very pretty-- I was worried that it would be too dark and make her overheat, but it is actually see-through where it hangs below her belly.The only problem is that it does rub the base of her mane at the withers, but since that area is covered by the saddle pad, I'm not too worried about it. Also, the belly strap is *way* too long-- even at the smallest possible setting, it hangs way down and is a hazard for getting a rear foot caught. I just used a shorter strap from a different blanket, and it works fine.
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet! My horse hates flies and the hot sun in the field all day. He would go out in the morning eat 15 minutes of grass and run into the shed for the remainder of the day.I bought this fly sheet and matching fly boots in hopes to get him to eat more grass throughout the day and keep his belly moving and healthy. The first day I put them on he's out happy as a clam eating grass with his buddies!!! No running to the shed for cover! I'm thrilled that he's more comfortable and can eat a fair share of grass! Thank you smartpak and consumers for your reviews!! I definitely made the right choice!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE this sheet No complaints - I have four of these sheets and love them! I have Freisian crosses - all different sizes and shapes and the sheets fit perfect and hold up very well...no rips no tears. Easy to clean which I love and they keep the horses cooler and bug free which is awesome! I got the smartpink and smartblue on sale and would not use any other sheet on the market for the price. I love Smart Pak and their EXCELLENT customer service!
    Date published: 2012-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great & fits well I purchased this cute, pink fly sheet for my 16.1 hand Draft mare. The 86 fits her well and she looks adorable with the matching fly mask! She rolls around in the dirt in it and it falls right back into place. Her black coat manages to stay much cleaner while wearing this sheet, which I love b/c it greatly reduces the amount of grooming time for me. :) It's a great buy!
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great UV Fly Sheet This is my second Kensington Fly Sheet. My previous one lastest well over 2 years and my mare wears it year round since we live in Florida. I mainly use it to prevent fading since she is black and it's very effective. I like the new wither pad, it's a padding instead of the fleece and it seems like it'd be more comfortable and not get all the sand and dirt ground in. The only reason I give the value a good is because shortly after I bought this they put it on sale with 20% off. Just bad timing on my part.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product As the owner of a gray horse with melanoma tumors, I am convinced that being out in the sun makes his tumors grow twice as fast. I know the vets say this is not true, but I would beg to differ. I bought the sheet, leg wraps and the hoodie to shield the uv rays when my horse is out in the pasture, and also to keep the flys off. So far it's been a great product, and I hope a good investment to slow down the growth of the tumors. He's on cimedidine, and has surgeries on the large tumors almost every year. The fit is good, and everything is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Again I wrote a review about 10 days ago on the first Kensington Protective Sheet I bought for my TB mare. I was so delighted w/it--how it fit, that it wasn't leaving rub marks or shifting after a full day's wear (including rolling) that I immediately ordered 2 more; one for a very round Appendix mare and one for a small Paint-TB mare. I am just as pleased w/the fit for these girls as I was for my first, completely different body type mare.Additional note: like some other reviewers, I wasn't as taken w/the Kensington Neck Hood, that I need for the Paint to prevent sunburn. So I kept and am using a neck cover from an old fly sheet.I try and keep my horse clothes until they wear out. But the Kensington sheets were so superior I am done w/the previous sheets that are still in good condition.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice sheet for horse shows I selected this sheet because I wanted something more unique than the other sheets on the market. The fit and the look were terrific but it already has a hole on the shoulder.That's from standing in a stall for a four day show, not from being turned out. If you have a horse that tends to rub alot or is "rough" on their clothes this is probably not the product for you.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! This is the second Kensington Protective Sheet I have purchased-the first was for our first pony. Not only does this sheet offer great bug protection but I LOVE it at shows-works as a great curry all night long! Fit is spot on. The monogramming makes her look extra "Smart" and finished in the pasture or on the show grounds. I'm a stickler for cleanliness, too, can't stand manure stains. With this sheet-no problem, hose stains away and it will dry quick!
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Protective Sheet I refuse to buy any other brand of fly sheets besides Kensington because other brands just don't hold up. The material is a little heavier weight than the newer, soft mesh fly sheets, but my horses are hard on their clothes, and soft mesh sheets wouldn't last a day on my horses. Kensington sheets fit my horses great and they are super easy to clean, just wash off with the hose. These are the best fly sheets out there in my opinion.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses that live with others. This is the second Kensington Fly sheet I have purchased. The first one was over 3 years ago and that one lasted until this year. My horse lives with 2 others and the sheet stays together all summer of playing, dirt, and weather. This is the only flysheet that lasts this long. Love the purple too! I didn't purchase a hood as I don't think it's as good of a value. They need to improve the design of that a bit. I did buy the matching fly mask though. So far so good on that as well. Highly recommend this sheet for horses that live outside.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly sheet This fly sheet has been fantastic! I've wasted my money on other brands in the past that come in ripped to shreds in a week. So far this one still looks brand new! I'm in love with the purple even though in some lights it looks more blue.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product!!! This blanket is VERY sturdy with wonderful UV protection. The way this blanket fits her she is not able to soil it which is a big help to me! I would definitely purchase, without hesitation, this blanket again. I really liked the opportunity to have monograming on the blanket; it makes my quarter horse mare look extra special!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this sheet!! I bought this fly sheet for my tall (16.3), angular, high withered, thin-skinned Thoroughbred mare. Bug season started early here this year and she was coming in covered in bites and welts. The Kensington fly sheet fits her like a glove. For several days she was wearing it 24 hours a day and there's not a rub on her; and I had been concerned about her shoulders and withers. NO PROBLEM! I HIGHLY recommend this sheet. And. BTW, the Smart Purple is beautiful!! The sheet will come out of the package and go on your horse a bit stiffly at first, but w/a warm day, within a few minutes it softens and smooths right out.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Didn't know there was something out there this :).
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Product This is a great bug sheet and extremely durable. The fit is good, I just wish it were higher cut along the shoulders as that is the worst location for my horses bug bites. It stays on well, my horse rolls all the time. Great material and keeps it's shape. I have found it to be too hot in Florida summers for my particular horse to wear year round. but we'll wear it the rest of the year.I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Sheet-cute but heavy Love the color and it seems durable, but it is too heavy for our hot humid summers. We will probably be returning.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from color fading purple color is fading from sheet on the shoulders. :(
    Date published: 2012-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 24/7 and Going Strong I bought this for my TB who lives in a 48x72 pen with trees. I know I could have bought a less expensive fly sheet, but I was willing to pay the price of the Kennsington quality with the hope it would last AND IT HAS !!! Not a single tear and I know he lays down, leans of the trees etc. I love it and so does my horse. So far it was well worth the investment! I bought an 80 for my 16.1h TB. At first I thought I should have gone for an 82, but the plastic mesh has "softened" and it fits him great.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! I got this sheet after reading all the reviews and it gets an A+ from me. My mare is almost black so i need to keep her covered 24/7 in the summer to keep her from bleaching. The old sheet I had was terrible! Within 2 minutes it would be half hanging off of her and the neck part rubbed half her mane out. This one doesn't move at all and her mane is growing back after only having this one for about a month! I love it!
    Date published: 2012-05-28
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.