Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • 2 adjustable belly surcingles

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.6271 out of 5 by 177.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be damaged, YAY!!! After my blanket repair guy upped his prices I reviewed how much I use him. Way Too Much! I could have bought many horse outfits for the prices I was paying for repairs. And all my fly sheets looked like Frankenstein should be wearing them with all the repair stitches everywhere. So I consciously quit being the prudent New Englander whose motto is "Wear it 'till you wear it out."After I tossed old fly sheets, I scrutinized and I pawed through the SmartPak catalog until I found the best buy for my buck. The Kensington Fly Sheet and Fly Mask grabbed me. So I ordered two with matching masks. They are everything AND MORE that SmartPak claims them to be. I can't say enough about their durability. I have 2 gelding brothers T/Oed together 365 days a year and they play and play ruthlessly. There is lots of tug-a-war going on with sheets and rugs and forget the halter damage they make! Re the Kensington fly sheets: No damage so far! This is THE fly sheet to see your horse through horsey games and rumpus.Plus, Kensington has thought of so many details that are fantastic. For instance, there is elastic in the middle of the nylon leg straps so you get both the durability and the stretch factors. The colors are very attractive too. I have a chestnut in the sage green and a bay in the baby blue. Gorgeous!Both boys seem to love their sheets and masks. They really looked very proud the first morning I turned them out in them. It was eye opening to see them parade around the field in their new outfits. I knew then that this purchase was right.Oh! And the flies don't bother at all, they really work very well.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy fly sheet Great sheet - fit was good. I ordered a size larger. Seems to be durable. Easy to adjust and put on.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet My horse has been wearing this sheet for a few weeks. The sheet fits him well and does not rub his shoulders. The sheet also makes his coat shine. The sheet consists of durable construction.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excekkent quality Other fly sheets that I have bought over the years have been torn up within 30 days (my horses are rough). The Kensington sheets I bought 3 years ago are still going strong. Had to buy one for a new horse
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet Very durable and fashionable. Keeps flies and bugs at bay while keeping horses comfortable!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fits my warmblood 16.3 mare.perfectly. I really like the color which is unique to Smartpak. I am going to buy the neck piece next
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizes run small Great material and color but it does run small. I ordered a size 72 for my mare and it stopped at her hind end. All of her blankets and sheets are a 72 and fit just fine. Great fly sheet otherwise!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than what I expected After doing my research, I finally decided on the 82" Kensington Smart Purple for my 16.2 hand TB. I had read about how flimsy many other fly sheets were, but I needed something durable. The Kensington Protective Sheet is a fantastic investment! The sheet molded to my horse's shape, so the fit is perfect, and the material is indestructible. My "pony" is comfy and quite stylish... What more could I ask for?
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This fly sheet runs small compared to WB. My 15.3H QH normally wears a 72 but I had to purchase an 80. Which is nbd, but it would have been nice to know that they aren't equivalent in size to WB. I had to return 2x..Otherwise, I'm very pleased! It's a beautiful sheet and very durable to withstand playful pasture mates.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning Bought this sheet years ago and only used it a couple times because it is so stiff and hot in comparison to the Beval fly sheets. They have a bit of stretch, belly bands, and neck covers included and they're a lighter color. This sheet would be more suitable for a horse that destroys fly sheets easily but even then it's still hot and you have to buy a neck cover to avoid bleaching. Not one of my favorite products but thanks to the happiness guarantee I can buy with confidence.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one I bought this to replace the WB fly sheets I tried, which ran very large and fit oddly. This sheet is much better, fits well, no rubs, and looks great. I did try the neck cover, but ended up returning it. No problem with it, just decided my horses didn't really need it.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FLY SHEET! I have used this now for about a year and it has held up great! Very durable, it has no holes or any tears! My horse doesn't mind it at all....I have a big quarter horse and so I had to buy the biggest size and it fit him great!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was lucky enough to catch this fly sheet on sale. The fit is really nice, my horse is normally an 81 (I think I had to get an 82 in this) and it's not big on him at all. It is a nice thick sheet so I feel that it would be durable. I have not tried to turn out in it yet because I am not sure if his pasture mates are blanket taggers or not. Otherwise I am very pleased with the quality of this blanket and plan on purchasing the matching fly mask.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love how durable, but lightweight and breathable these sheet are. I also love the assortment of colors! I have seen other "cuts" for Kensington sheets on other websites, and I wish Smartpak had them because this one is really big on my horse's shoulders. The only reason I gave it a 4stars instead of 5 is that in order to get the correct length for narrow TB, I had to get one that hangs really low on her shoulders and it rubs. Runs larger= runs wide. I will purchase another one of these sheets when hers gets torn up, but I will have to get one with a more "European" cut. I also would like one with a tail flap.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I own this sheet and one from Schneider's. I like this one because it weighs less and come in a variety of colors. However, I wish it had a tail flap and adjustable shoulder straps. This sheet is cut a bit too wide for my narrow Thoroughbred and hangs a bit lower on her shoulders than I would like. The length is good, but the surcingle still hangs several inches below her belly, even on the tightest adjustment.
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My horse has been wearing this fly sheet in turnout for about 6 weeks now. Cheaper ($40) fly sheets have not lasted nearly as long. Mesh fabric is durable and rugged; buckles and straps are of good quality. Nylon lined shoulders keep my mare's soft summer coat from rubbing off. Sizing seems just right. The sheet is contoured for a good fit and she seems comfortable wearing it all the time. Can't comment on UV protection because my mare's black coat was already beginning to lighten in the sun when I purchased this product. It hasn't faded any more, that's all I can say. So far, I am pleased with this fly sheet. It seems that you get what you pay for in fly sheets.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet These are really nice fly sheets, fit horses well. Only issue is if you have trees and horse rubs on trees it does cause some shredding and /or holes in fly sheet.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My "go to" fly sheet During our summer months, my horses are out in their field 8 hours per day wearing this sheet. My recent purchase is to replace one that is starting to wear out after 3 seasons on a rambunctious horse. This sheet stays in place, dries fast if we get a quick rain shower, does not rub and keeps their coats just beautiful.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I love these fly sheets! My two boys are hard on their clothes but the Kensington sheet is surviving, and doing so in a stylish way.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly durable I am extremely impressed with this fly sheets durability. My boy has been wearing this for just under a month and it doesn't even have a snag on it. The last fly sheet I had was the soft fabric type and it didn't last very long. It was torn to pieces within 2 months. The purple is pretty attractive but I'm very disappointed that it doesn't have a matching neck cover. The biggest downside is the cut. It is definitely styled for a stock type horse. It doesn't fit my TB well. It gives him rubs high on the shoulders, but the durability makes up for it.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly sheets I am having continuous problems with my horses breaking the hardware on the Kensington products. I think that I'm going back to the BigD ones which have lasted for years. The fit is really good on these though for my Thoroughbred/App and Rocky Mountains. I also like the color choices so I can recognize which sheet belongs on each horse.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best fly sheet I absolutely love this fly sheet! I've been using it for almost two years on my OTTB gelding. He is on pasture board, and plays with the other horses often. There are no tears in this sheet! After year 1, I do have a couple areas where you can tell another horse has pulled on it and the "threads" are slightly separated....but it is absolutely bomb-proof. Still wearable, and you'd have to strain to see any damage.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like Baker fly sheets, you'll like this I'm a big fan of Baker fly sheets because they fit my Saddlebreds well, wear like iron and do not have those annoying tail flaps. I tried this one because, hello, it's purple and it has dees for attaching a neck cover, which is my biggest complaint about Baker. The Kensington fits very similarly to the Baker, but the hardware is even a little nicer. My 15.1 ASB measured a 78 to center tail, but wears a 74 in Baker, so I split the difference and ordered a 76. The 76 fits him nicely, but the 78 would have been fine too as the 76 is a tad short. He's been wearing it for several weeks now with no rubs and very little wear. I'd buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you must have a fly sheet this is it We have never had much luck with fly sheets, most of them never survive the week in our very active turnout. Our new mare is so bothered by flies, we had to try something. We are now at three weeks, she wears it every day, and it looks like it will go the distance. The sheet is heavier than most, but the quality is excellent and our mare is so much happier.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Just wow. I needed a fly sheet for my horse since all the horses in pasture were beating him up, and he was practically bald. (Which isn't good for shows)He is also the type of horse who loses fly masks in a day. The fly sheet still looks brand new, and I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have a 1600lb draft horse that is difficult to fit because he is smaller than most drafts, yet broader than "large horse" breeds. He also is out on pasture 24/7. I have used this brand for years and even with him wearing it 24/7 during spring/summer the most wear marks it has are near the flanks. It rarely gets rips and if it does they don't "run". Protects against biting bugs in the humid summers. The shoulders never get rub marks and the sheet's UV protection keeps him from bleaching out. The mesh texture allows air through it. When it gets dirty I put it in the washer and it comes out great. Highly recommended for durability and horse's comfort. Definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely love this fly sheet! I bought the Smart blue on sale for my black gelding, and he looks so wonderful! It does not rub him at all, and is not too thick but durable. It has a large opening for the neck so he doesn't get pinched when he grazes. I could not be more happy with it. Smartpak resolved my problem with my old sheet and accepted it back because it fit my gelding very poorly- I could not ask for a better company or sheet!
    Date published: 2013-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty & worth the money This is the third Kensington sheet I've purchased. I still have the original two that are in great shape, I just needed something a little smaller for another horse. They fit the Morgan's great, do a good job with sun protection and are heavy duty! I would'n't waste my time on any other cheaper brand as my horses are tough on their clothes. Love these sheets.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! Bought this sheet after my horse ruined his first one in eight days... was recommended this and it is great! Super durable, my horse has worn it for about three weeks now and there isn't a scratch on it! I would recommend this sheet highly if your horse is pastured with horses that like to destroy clothes, like mine is! I rated it a 4* value because I would have rather paid a little extra and have the belly guard included, rather than having to purchase the belly guard separately. I also wish it had a piece to cover the dock of the tail like some sheets do. Other than those small complaints, I love this sheet a lot!
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for pasture kept horse My mares are kept in their own 3 acre pasture 24/7 so I needed something that was very durable and wouldn't fade in the Texas sun. I bought the SmartPurple Protective Sheet and the matching Fly Mask for my grey mare and it looks amazing on her. The purple color is very deep and rich which makes it stand out in contrast to her grey coat. My bay also looks just as GORGEOUS in this sheet.I wanted to add the following details in hopes that it may help others. My mare is AQHA Hancock Bred and stands right about 15h. I measured her with a sewing tape at her widest points from center of chest, all the way around the biggest part of her barrel, to center of her tail and it came to 78 inches. I ended up ordering a size 76 because her other winter blanket is a 74 so it just seemed that a 78 would be too large. The 76 fits her PERFECTLY!I highly recommend this sheet to anyone and everyone, not only for its durability, but because it feels good to have the best dressed pasture horse in the neighborhood. :-)
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    • 2015-03-03T07:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_160
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.