Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Mask with Ears

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12291
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. The fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric
  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes
  • Mesh ears to keep bugs out
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is rated 4.2472 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask Bought this for my quarter horse mare. It fits her great and seems to be very durable. I love that I was able to have it embroidered for free during a promo but I do wish the lettering was a bit larger so that it is more visible. It seems as though my mare is comfortable in it cause she hasn't torn it off herself yet!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought Another Last Kensington fly mask lasted for 3 Indiana summers. Am buying another.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Work So Well This is the 3rd fly mask I've purchased in an attempt to find something that will stay put. It's a little awkward the way it's put together--the ears are overly large, but inappropriately spaced so that the mask fits oddly. The eye darts are too high unless you really pull the mask down, but it rides up again when the horse flicks his ears. The mask fit snugly otherwise, so I went ahead and left it on. If I ever find it, I will try it again, but needless to say, it didn't last overnight. My horse seemed less comfortable in it than a competitor brand, but this one seemed to fit his head better. Other than that, it seems high quality, and it looks great. The velcro was definitely heavy duty. I will be interested to see just how my horse managed to remove the mask, as it is unlikely the velcro came undone.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Mask w/ Ears These have about the best quality ear covering material that we have found. Others use really chintzy soft material that snags within first day of wear. It would be better if ear holes were wider set though (not bigger holes, further apart). My icelandic mare barely can have her ears contained because the holes are too close together. She sometimes rubs off and I think this may be why. Overall a very good product.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird fit While it's a nice looking mask, the eye darts are way off, like a good 2 inches or so from my horse's eyes. He has a normal head and Cashel mask fit. Had to return this mask.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why try the rest Ive tried other popular brands of fly masks, and they've all ripped, gotten torn off easily, the velcro wears out, ect ect. This is the only fly mask i use now. Ive had mine for over three years now, and its as good as the day i bought it. It fits great, alot of room around the eyes. It is durable, not a hole, tear, or snag in it and the velcro doesn't wear out. The ears are my favorite part, you cannot find a fly mask with ears that will hold up without getting holes like the kensington does. If it gets gross, i just hose it off and leave it to dry in the sun. I would never buy any other mask, and probably wont need to, as mine have lasted for years.
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one! After years of trial and error, Kensington fly masks are the only ones I buy anymore. I know they fit, and I know the kind of quality I get for my money.
    Date published: 2011-08-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from weird fit I ordered the horse size mask and while the size of it fit my horse's head, the eye darts were up really high, a good 3 inches away from his actual eyes. I didn't have this problem with my old cashel mask. I can't speak to the durability of the mask since it was only on my horse's head for a few seconds to check the fit. The lining around the edges of the mask was weird though, like a fur coat. I would imagine that would get hot in the summer. Unfortunately I'm returning the mask and going back to cashel.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mask! We use this mask to protect our horses' sensitive eyes. Nothing that pokes them anymore! Mask holds up to extensive use because of superior material used. The ears keep the flies away!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST. FLY MASK. EVER. My horse destroyed it in a week. It was super hot (the sweat underneath it on hot days was awful), and he was able to get it off all the time. When he had it on the ears tore, then the eyes got rubbed open. AWFUL!This horse isn't especially bad on fly masks. He's now happily wearing a cheapie lycra/light mesh bonnet with not one nick on it.Also, this fly mask is supposed to have a lifetime replacement warranty, BUT if it ships with your SmartPaks, you may not have an opportunity to send in the warranty card. It requires you submit it within 10 days of purchase. I didn't get it before I could send in the card. If you buy this fly mask, have it shipped immediately to you, then at least you can have it replaced.Not happy with Kensington at all!
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not made for horse comfort I sent these back,the ears are too close together for my pasos, and they are small. The ear netting has holes that are large enough for those nasty gnats to get through. One of my first returns to smart pak.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT for pastured horses. My mare has always got flies in her ears, so I decided I needed to buy some relief for her. I did some looking and I found that this mask had ear covers and was more durable looking than the others. Well, somehow, even on its tightest fitting she rubbed it off and after no time at all she had rubbed holes of all kinds in it. In the ear area, the eye area, and all around the latch. I would find this mask all over the field and flies still in her ears. I understand horses will destroy anything if they can but I expected a little more durability. Also, I don't think it was very comfortable for her. I stopped using it after about two weeks because the holes were awful and my mare was no more relieved (if not less) than she was before. Definately only for stalled horses.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Buy I bought this mask for my gelding after a friend gave my mother's morgan one. My horse usually destroys fly masks like they are made from paper in ~2 weeks but this mask has held up well. It even has that like new color vs the masks that fade really fast. I also like that the ears are nice and soft. The only issue I've had is that it causes a bit of a sweat ring where the fleece is located.
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for sun protection. Love this fly mask, works great for my mare, appy/TB cross, has helped reduce white spot on surface of eye. I bought it in a large, I did also purchase 2 xl for my warmblood mares but the ears were too small. the ones with out ears work great for the girls.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay, if your horse's ears are attached. The quality of this mask looks good, however the fit is horrendous. There's little to no space between the ears. Subsequently, you have to crank down on the chin strap to make it fit & stay in place, which makes it ride up on the bridge of the nose. If you have your heart set on this style, order 1 or 2 sizes larger than you require. I have a small QH, ordered a medium... didn't come close to fitting. Would not recommend.
    Date published: 2010-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and fit We just purchased the Kensington Fly Mask with Ears for our warmblood. It fits him perfectly and is quite handsome in the black and beige plaid. Our pony mare has had the SmartPink fly mask for about 5 years and it's held up very well over time. Very good quality and fit.
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flymask My horse and I where very happy with this product! I am the owner of a very accident prone equine pet who, is constantly ripping her fly control masks. The Kensington Fly Mask with Ears has stood up to my horse's needs without becoeing damaged. The quality of material used has proved to me irreplacable to my horse and myself and, has added some festive color to my barn. I recomend this prodoct to anybody and everybody! Great product!
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product, a little on the big side. This fly mask, is very well made and super cute in the pink plaid :) I bought a size XL because that is what a rep for SmartPak said to buy for my 17hh warmblood. It was too big, so i had to exchange for a L. Overall good product, and super cute!
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Mask with Ears Worth the extra money for this fly mask. Quality is excellent. Best one I have purchased.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Fly Mask I have a half draft who is hard to fit. This fly mask covers his face well with plenty of room for his eyes and ears. There is no rubbing off of hair because of bad fit and it stays in place. Thank you.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask Love this mask. I have had trouble finding one that my horse will actually keep on, but this one has stayed put! He has access to his paddock 24/7, so it's important to have a mask that will be comfortable for him to wear and will protect him from the bugs.
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable.. but very short I bought the oversized and felt it barely covered my horse's eyes. I am returning for the longer version. We shall see how that fits.
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great flymask Durable, has not rubbed my sensitive mare, stays put. I think the ears are a little on the big side, makes my mare look more like a mule than a TB :)
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Purchase! I really enjoy the four fly masks I recieved from you all. They look really good on my horses and I think my horses are comfortable in them. I love the colors, but i especially like the ones with the ears that are breathable. I got two of them that have different ears than the other and the ones that are breathable seem to make my horses alot more comfortable. I also really like that the velcro is very strong so my horses cant take them off eachother! Although one of my horses is an escape artist and manages to get himslef out of this fly mask as well without help from the other horses. I might as well duct tape it to his head! Just kidding! My other three horses keep theirs on just fine. Overall, I am very satisfied about this product, the price, look, fit, and quality. They are the best fly masks I have EVER bought. THANKS!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Choice After trying a number of other fly masks on the market, Kensingtons are the only choice for me. The double latch is a must for my guys, since they will pull them off each others faces otherwise. I've been able to use them more than one season in a row, which is very budget friendly. Absolutely LOVE the red color on my bay!
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Fly Mask I have two large warmbloods and the large size mask fits them very well. The mask is durable and a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exelent I love this product! Its durrable, yet looks good on my horse. The black looks great on bay horses!
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sizes run large I felt like the product was very well made. Order large based on description, but it was too big. I have 2 quarter horses. Had to send back and exchange for medium. At this time I am waiting for the medium to come in. Hope it fits.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good product This product is really good. It works, and the only flaw I would say is the ears are very big. Overall, I would recommend this product to someone.
    Date published: 2009-09-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable When we purchased the fly mask we were happy that it was so strong as it was for our 3 year old colt that destroys masks/fly sheets. However when we put it on we noticed it was really stiff and our colt tried everything to rub it off (so he didn't like it either).
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    • 2015-02-27T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_2291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.