Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Padded Replacement Leather Crown Piece

Item #12289
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Did your horse break the leather safety release on his halter?

The Replacement Leather Crown Piece is 23" long and is for halters with a break away leather crown piece. Neoprene Padded. Brown or Black.

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Padded Replacement Leather Crown Piece is rated 4.6129 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Substantial! Love this crown piece. I got it after my baker halter snapped. The baker crown piece was really flimsy and this makes the halter really lovely. Great price too
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product, runs very short I purchased this to convert a non_ breakaway halter into a safety halter. I replaced the crown but had to add another buckle because it was so short. Very nice quality though, looks like it will hold up well. The neoprene is a great addition and the leather looks top notch. But my 16 hand thoroughbred is not that big and this was still too short.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Nice enough and well made, but it seems to either be too long or needs more holes punched. I have it on the top hole on both sides on my average head sized horse. Would like more adjust-ability. Frustratingly the top hole on one side is covered up by the neoprene padding so it is not useable. Seems to be poor attention to detail on someone's part.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement piece This piece even better than leather. It's a little sturdier and doesn't break as easily as leather.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! Where have these been all my life? No more stiff, ugly, cheapo replacement breakaway crown pieces on MY darling's halters! Just because we need safety, doesn't mean we need to live without comfort and elegance, now does it. Bought my youngster's first "big boy" halter, bought the nameplate for field turnout at the trainer's, saw this and ordered it, I am delighted! Soft, richly grained black leather, even the holes are crisply punched! Nice generously padded crown area with textured neoprene. Looks rich on navy/brass nylon halter. Kept the plain leather one that came with halter for the spare. You will be happy with this.
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only for small horses I bought this for my average sized horse and it was way too small and had to return it. Must be cob sized. Good quality though!
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small!! Great quality and value, but only comes in horse size. Bummer. It was too small for the horse I purchased it for, but it will be fine to have on hand for my smaller horses. I purchased the same crown piece at my local feed store in a Warmblood size and it fits perfectly. SmartPak should definitely carry more sizes, as I know there are a lot of big and tall horses out there!
    Date published: 2011-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal I bought this replacement crown for my gelding's leather halter after he broke it pulling back in the crossties. Brat. I didn't want to dispose of the halter as it was quality and decided it was just as easy to order a replacement crown. I was very happy when it arrived. Good quality and affordable in case I have to replace the replacements.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly on my exsisting halter and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great crown piece I've been buying this halter brand for years with a removable padded crown piece and a padded nose band. This is the first crown I've ever had to replace, and happily I found the original brand replacement at Smartpak. The good news is that it really works the way it should--if your horse panics, it will break. The other good news is that because it is good quality heavy leather it really lasts a long time. Highly recommend for safety and durability.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Fix A great way to fix a leather turnout halter. It is nicely padded and breathable. I wouldn't say high quality leather, but perfect considering the price. It's a standard length to fit a horse size halter. I'm sure it will break if my horse gets stuck on the fence again, which is exactly what it's supposed to do!
    Date published: 2010-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of safety equipment I use nylon halters with break away leather crown pieces for everyday turnout use. I ordered this replacement crown piece for a halter whose crown piece had broken away one to many times and was becoming too short. THIS crown piece was a much higher quality crown piece than what came with the halter from a different company. The leather is a nice thickness and quality and the padding over the poll area provides a comfortable fit. In the future I will order all replacement crown pieces from this site.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality My gelding has been wearing this crownpiece on his turnout halter for over a month now, and it has not rubbed his sensitive skin a bit. It fits him well and is very durable. I'm very happy with this crownpiece!
    Date published: 2010-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I am very happy with this crown piece. It is so much nicer than the one the halter came with originally and fits much better. I haven't had it very long, but it appears to be well made and, hopefully, will do its job well.
    Date published: 2010-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than the original I had to buy a replacement crown piece for a breakaway halter. The original crown was a simple strap of leather with no padding and it was very long. This new one is the perfect size and the padded crown is a nice addition. The padded piece does not slide around like some which I find annoying as they never seem to be in the right spot of the crown meaning they have to be adjusted every time it is put on.
    Date published: 2009-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed My original halter crownpiece broke - as it should have - when my mare jerked back in the crossties. This is a great replacement and will last me (hopefully) a long time.
    Date published: 2009-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It Soft, comfortable, well padded break away crown for my body sensitive pony. He's often turned out in a small paddock with many trees, and other obstacles, so a breakaway halter is a must, but he's a 'sensitive' boy. The regular leather crowns that come with the feed store halters are very rough cut. This is lovely! Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from wish it came in brown A good product, but did not come in brown...it was a replacement on a brown trimmed halter.
    Date published: 2009-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Upgrade! I bought one of these to use as the replacement crown for my 5A Baker halter. It looked perfect with that halter and the cushy padding is a really nice touch! Excellent quality for value. I only wish it came in a larger size to fit the halter for my TB/Draft cross!
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    • 2015-02-28T08:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_2289, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.