Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Passier Lederbalsam

G. Passier & Sohn GmbH
- Item #10216
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Passier Lederbalsam is a tried and tested leather conditioner that restores and preserves fine saddlery.

Favorite Features

  • Rich in nutrients without chemicals.
  • "Lederbalsam" protects the leather against water and keeps it soft.
  • Does not leave leather tacky or oily. 
  • Sponge included!

Sizing It Up

16.9 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Passier Lederbalsam is rated 4.8807 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This stuff has really improved my leather! I have reins that needed some serious CPR and this has made them supple and nice without being tacky or greasy. Smells good, works well, and great price for the quality.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome leather care I bought this a month ago and have used it to condition all of our English and Western tack. The leather looks new and is so soft and supple
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful stuff Smells great-not greasy. Leaves leather very nice.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product!! This is my all-time favorite leather-care product. It makes tack SO shiny and new looking, moisturizers and protects it, and doesn't leave a greasy feeling after it soaks in. The tin lasts forever because a little goes a long way. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softens leather well! I bought the lederbalsam to soften up a new pair of leathers that were showing some cracking after one use. After oiled them up and letting them sit overnight the leathers felt softer and more flexible. Used this together with the Passier saddle soap, planning to use both on my saddle!
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutly Amazing! I bought this to revive a used saddle that I bough and it did the job wonderfully! The jar is large and will last a good while which helps me know that Im getting my moneys worth. I would recommend this to anyone looking to revive dried out leather or if you just want to keep your tack conditioned and in great shape.
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little icky texture but spiffs up a saddle!! This has been great for my saddles so far. One is really old and wasn't taken care of before I had it and it got lots of scuffs out and really brightened the saddle. Did not darken or lighten any of the tack I tried it on. It smells pretty good and a little gets you fairly far. I applied with a sponge and prior to using it I wiped it down with a little saddle soap on a rag. I keep my newer saddle very clean so it didn't need much actual soap cleaning before hand but if your saddle or any other tack is really gross definitely give it a nice cleaning with a damp rag and some saddle soap before you use this product. (I like the saddle soap on a rope!) The ONLY thing I don't like is when I squeeze out my sponge while I'm rinsing it afterwards this gross oily gunk oozes out of the sponge. Maybe try using a rag next time I don't know. The can says use a brush but I have no clue what kind of brush they're talking about haha!
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent leather conditioner I have used Passier Lederbalsam for many years and love this product. It is an excellent conditioner for dry areas of bridles, such as the flash strap which dries out from exposure to my horses' mouth foam. I also use it when I take my bridles apart for a full detailing, where it quickly re-moisturizes the straps around the bit, etc. To be completely honest, I also use Effax Lederbalsam and rate it equally as high as the Passier. Sometimes there are variations in price between the two, so that ends up being the deciding factor. Both are excellent and don't make my leather too limp.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Conditions without making tack oily or greasy Better than plain saddle soap or just oil... conditions, smells great, doesn't make a mess. Makes my saddle leather soft and just the right kinds of sticky
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good as new! Put this on my used saddle I just bought, did a great job and didn't stain the leather or discolor it in any way.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this to condition my saddle. This leather balm is great. Soaks in, softens and smells great. Before purchasing I researched on the internet and this product received great reviews. And I can see why, I agree.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Feels silky smooth, like a fine butter. Smells great too.  Used on my synthetic/leather combo western trail saddle...the leather drank up two generous applications, once done leather was supple and fine looking....Also, used on my all leather close contact saddle and all my bridles... All are now buttery soft and supple....Love this stuff...also do yourself a favor and buy the little tack sponges, fit right into the can next time!! 
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite! Very happy with this conditioner. I clean my saddle, apply a coat of this, and then leave my saddle to sit over night once a week. Leaves my saddle butter soft, non greasy, and always soaks right into the leather. For the price, you cant beat it. This jar will also last forever, which is always a plus. :)
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best leather moisturizer I only use Passier Ledersbalsam on my tack. It can be a little goopy for those who are not used to using a real conditioner and are more accustomed to a product like Lexol (which I think is terrible) but once you let your tack sit over night after cleaning you will see the difference. It keeps the leather very soft. You do need to use a glycerine soap before using though - it is not a cleaning product. If you use too much it can build up on the leather so using it every day can be too much. Also, although it seems expensive - I've had the same tin for years so it really is a good value.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best oil conditioner I have used this stuff for years! It goes on like an oil balm but seals into the leather. I like this stuff even more than effax or the devoucoux oil balm. Makes yr leather oiled, supple, but not weaker or prone to wear.Does leave a sticky effect on yr leather, but I personally don't mind that.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product This works wonderfully as a leather conditioner. It enriches the look, feel, and texture of the leather, and it does not leave behind a sticky residue. I often use this before a ride on a young horse because it adds that extra bit of stickability. I also use it liberally on the inside of my boots which you normally cannot do with conditioner, but it makes them wonderfully secure. A great product all around. It also works wonderfully on any leather product such as wallets, briefcases, and more. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conditions tack well We use this lots and it's great at keeping our tack soft.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! It's very rich and smells great! Really seems to help leather to become soft and pliable. Not oily or tacky. Well worth the money to help protect and condition your tack.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dressing! I do love this lederbalsam. It will not darken leather and doesn't rub off on your breeches.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Lederbalsam! I was hesitant because of the price, but it is worth it!! I use it on my bridles and my toulouse saddle and it works beautifully the leather just sucks it up. I will never go back to anything else.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This is a nice rich conditioner. Helps keep the moisture in the leather and keeps it soft and supple. The tack is never oily or tacky feeling afterwards. I even used this to condition my lunging franken- bridle which is made from parts salvaged from broken bridles. It is kept outside and was very stiff and cracked. One use of this and I was able to soften it enough to work the buckles and stud hooks. It smells great and works wonders on leather.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I love the smell and the texture of this stuff! After I used it on my breastplate, the next time I wiped it down after a ride, I actually saw the water bead on the leather. Clearly it creates a barrier like it says!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff! Used it on my Filson bridle leather briefcase. Softened it nicely. Used on pair of shoes and restored color and removed scratches. Expensive, but worth it.
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite Conditioner I got this today at the tack store because my tack was stiff after I used the leather wash and conditioner listed on this site for use in the washing machine. I was worried that my leather would not return to the pre-wash condition. However, one thorough application has made the leather GREAT! So soft and supple! I will definitely be spending more money to get this as opposed to my old go-to.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Product I was pleasantly surprised with this balm - I have tried the Effax brand also carried here and was not impressed. This conditioner has a pleasant smell and goes on nicely with a brush. I like it for boots and bridles, as it buffs to a nice medium shine and gives the leather a rich feel. I think I'll be sticking with the Leather New Balsam for saddles, as I think this product is a little heavy/waxy for regular conditioning.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best there is A jar of this stuff lasts several years, so go for it and get the best. YOur tack is worth it.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes Please! This stuff works wonderfully on leather goods, it also doesn't leak out of it's container if it tips over. Which I have had happen with other leather products and there goes your money if the bottle tips over and later you find a puddle of money on the tack room floor. You also tend not to have to use very much of this product to get good results.Also one great thing about this with the way it is package is you can leave the rag/sponge you use to apply it in the tin and don't have to worry about where it went when you need to apply this to your leather goods.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite leather conditioner This is definitely my favorite leather conditioner. Not oily or sticky.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Really helps to keep my leather supple and in great shape!
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stuff!!! I love this leather conditioner. I first used it working as a groom and we would use it before every show and I feel in love with it! I then bought it for myself and use it every time I clean my tack. I used it from basically every other weekend to random tack cleanings. Even when you use it a lot it lasts a long time. I dont think I will ever go back to a different product. It makes leather soft, shiny, and supple. AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    • 2015-02-28T08:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_216, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.