Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Winter Training Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #12095
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel on the reins without sacrificing warmth.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Thinsulate lining to create and maintain warmth
  • Knitted cuff helps to keep the cold out of your glove with weather protection up to -32 degrees!
  • Outer material is drum dyed soft leather for a better grip on the reins

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Winter Training Glove is rated 4.5224 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I wore them yesterday in cold and wind. I'm always cold but my hands stayed toasty warm for the first time. Grip made riding easy as well. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good all around Fall glove. These gloves although stated to be winter warm to minus 32 degrees fall way short of that warmth! I live in northern Wisconsin where it does get to -32 and I can tell you these gloves don't cut it for that bitter cold. I wore them around the barn when it was between 20 to 40 degrees no colder. At those temps they were great. They are well made and hold up well, in fact, I ordered another pair for next year. I wish they would add more Thinsulate to make them warmer. One thing I might add is that I am a small person 5" 1" wearing a size 6 glove so I get cold very quickly. Perhaps more quickly than the average person. They are good for riding too.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Glove I bought these for my daughter who has a real problem with circulation in her fingers in the winter. Although her fingers are still cold, these gloves are the best we've tried. The fit is great.
    Date published: 2011-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best glove Love these gloves. They fit and are warm. Waterproof and I can ride in them too. Cannot be without them. My puppy liked them also so I immediately bought another pair :).
    Date published: 2011-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for winter These gloves are supple, easy on and off, and keep hands warm. On extremely cold days I stick a hothhand pack in the back of each glove--and my fingers stay toasty. In spite of their warmth, I can do almost all my tack up and other barn activities without removing them.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm Gloves! I have now worn these gloves several times in 20 degree weather with the wind chill making it feel like well below 0 and my hands stay toasty and warm! They grip great and have not show a bit of wear. Nice gloves and at a great price!
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves We're not in the depths of winter yet, but we've had some evenings in the 20s with biting winds, and these gloves have risen to the occasion. They are the first pair of winter gloves that I can ride in that don't *feel* like winter gloves, I have a very solid hold on the reins. I think in the completely frozen months, with some hand warmers, these would be perfect. I'm getting a pair for a good friend for Xmas!
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice glove but slippery I own these gloves and use them during the coldest winter months riding outside and in the indoor arena on cold evenings after the sun disappears. My hands get cold if I sweat and then cool down and also if it is below 25 degrees. They aren't bad as far as a winter glove, because I have tried many. The leather is durable-only problem is that it is a bit slippery. Deerskin is so much better as far as that goes, but these have better insulation and are much more fitted. Not as warm as a ski glove, obviously, due to the thinner insulation and I don't believe they provide the best feel, either due to the thickness. But what can you expect from a insulated winter glove. I would say they are about the best you will come across-again stating that the biggest complaint is the slippery texture. They seem to get more slippery with age as well. I'd buy them if you need a thicker glove for riding.
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well made - not as warm as I'd like I normally take a size 7, but in these gloves, I take a 6. If the temperatures get into the low 20's or below, I still get very cold fingers when riding during the first 20 minutes. Bought a second pair so I could try trading off a warmed up pair when fingers start aching. Do find them warmer than the Ariat Insulated Teks. Still looking for better technology to come along.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmest Gloves These are the warmest gloves I have found, my fingers still get a chill when we drop into the "teens " but nothing like before I got the gloves. I do recommend the gloves! :)
    Date published: 2010-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality I like the quality - they are just too bulky for me to use for riding
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality but not as warm as expected I have been using these gloves for about 2 weeks now in Vermont between 9 and 34 degree F weather. I really like their look and quality but they havent been as warm as I was hoping. My fingertips get cold when the temperatures get down to 20 and below. I dont know how they would be used for riding because I have only had the opportunity to wear them while doing errands.
    Date published: 0001-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product is as expected Very nice to get a product that is what you expected it to be. Can't say that they exceeded my expectations, but I am quite pleased with them, they have been very good in the below freezing weather we've had. Would recommend, and purchase again for myself.
    Date published: 2010-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat purchase My wife has used this glove for several years. After our Giant Schnauzer ate the last pair we knew where to go.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves ever I absolutely love these gloves. My first pair lasted 9 years. I just bought a new pair for myself and a pair for my 20-year-old daughter. The leather is soft and supple, and the gloves are very warm. The knit cuff is especially helpful in keeping my hands warm. They fit really well, and I appreciate that they come in a size that fits me (8). If you wear other SSG gloves, order the same size, and they will fit perfectly. They definitely don't feel as bulky as they look. You certainly don't get the close feel you get with a thin glove, but I find them very easy to ride in and can feel the reins just fine.
    Date published: 2010-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GLOVE! Warm and comfortable! what more could you want out of a winter glove?
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from warm but thick These are well made gloves for winter but they are a little thick for riding inside... would be better to use while riding outside.
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Glove Fit was perfect. These were for a gift and she loved them. They also fit my chubby little fingers!
    Date published: 2009-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Winter Gloves! These really ARE very warm! I have tried numerous types of winter gloves and they are never as warm as expected.They are not too bulky, easy to ride with and well made. They fit true to size (I wear an 8).The soft extended cuff is an added bonus for both comfort and warmth.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves. Great gloves that fit as they say are are made well. My last pair lasted 2 winters with rough use. They really keep your hands warm without the bulk.
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter gloves I love the fit, especially the cuff that keeps out the cold. This glove is one of the best gloves I have used for riding. They are a little slippery for use with a nylon mecate rein, I think they would be fine if I was using leather reins. I am tempted to add a mitten string to these gloves, so I never loose one and have a chance to wear them out.
    Date published: 2009-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised I was worried about the fit after reading the other reviews on here, but I use the SSG crochet gloves in summer and they fit me well so I figured I would give these a try. I was really happy to find out that they fit perfectly. I have smaller hands but I think they're proportionally correct, so I don't know how well these reviews predict fit. If you fit other SSG gloves well, these are worth a shot.The price is good and the gloves are warm and not too bulky. My only complaint is that the seams of the lining are a bit off, so that in the finger, I can feel both the seams of the lining (directly up the middle of my finger) and of the outer layer (along the sides of my finger), which seems to be more interference than strictly necessary.
    Date published: 2009-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm,well fitting glove I have large hands, so it was great to find a glove that was actualy sized correctly at the upper end of the scale. These gloves are warm, yet not so bulky that they interfere with the feel of the reins at all. Can't rate the durability yet, but I hope they last because I really like them so far!
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great idea, odd fit These gloves looked like just the ticket for me. Insulated but not bulky, knit cuff to keep the hay out. However, the fit is terrible. I have average to thin hands with long fingers. The thumb is so tight that I could hardly bend it. No amount of stretching cured this. The other fingers must be made for someone who has stick fingers and 3" nails.
    Date published: 2008-02-20
    • 2015-03-06T07:42CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_2095, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.