Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Heavy Cotton Lead

Item #12084
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Heavy Cotton Lead won't wimp out on you, and will last for ages!

Favorite Features

  • 100% cotton heavy duty cotton
  • Brass bolt snap

Sizing It Up

3/4" x 9' long

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead is rated 4.4167 out of 5 by 120.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke Apart but Repaired with Duct Tape I had not used this lead rope for very long, but it unraveled and fell off the buckle. I was able to fix it with duct tape, but I wouldn't buy it again. It's too bad because I like the heavy weight and the fact that it's cotton and not synthetic, which can slip through gloved hands easily. I refuse to pay $10 for something that will definitely require duct tape, though. I would buy the other cotton lead rope offered by SmartPak, as it seems to be wrapped more tightly and be stronger as a result.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Regret purchase This lead rope was not good at all. Not heavy and part of the rope was frayed in the middle. I didn't return it cost it didn't cost enough.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead Rope This lead rope is just what I was looking for. It has been hard to find a decently priced cotton lead with a good size clip and enough length to it, and this one has both.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good lead at good price I haven't used this too much, but I like the length and feel. Seems like a good purchase for under $10.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so great it fell apart after about 4 months of occassional use. the rope twisted off the buckle when my horse was tied one day. No Bueno. I would have spent more money for a rope to last a decent amount of time without untwining itself.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice lead line I needed something hanging on the front of my stall. When you need something quickly, running to your tack locker can waste precious moments, plus I like having it at my fingertips. Since my last lead went missing (it may have been borrowed, I may have misplaced it) I didn't want to invest alot. I like the fact that it has a brass snap and the cotton is nice and heavy. It was sturdy enough to write my horses name near the snap with puffy paint :)hahaha, we'll see how long THAT last!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frayed after a week of use Maybe I got a lemon, but I have used this lead rope six times and already it is starting to fray and come apart. It's a shame because I like the brass snap. I am working with a young, spirited mare so I need a lead rope that will hold up under some stress. I'll keep looking.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lead, great price Really that is all I have to say; nice thick soft cotton lead and cheap. I won't cry if I lose it. I will just order another one!
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product I'm horrified! It started fraying almost right after I got it. Now there is a thread hanging off it. I think Smartpak missed this one hit. Never be buying this again.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Barn Staple Even though this is just a humble, plain old lead rope, cotton is my favorite material. It's comfortable, and if a horse acts up, won't burn your hands/be slippery like a poly lead. One can never have too many lead ropes around a barn. This is a good price and a super value.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no fraying!!! My horse lives in a paddock and the other horse likes to chew on my leads only and he can't chew through this!!! The lead is long enough to do anything and has a good weight!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyday lead This lead is a nice weight, tough material. Color choice is nice. Snap is heavy.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Good quality lead at a really good price. Available in lots of colors. I plan to buy more in other colors
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a lead rope Nice, long, heavy cotton lead rope that I have been using 2x per week for the past month. No complaints.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a nice practical lead rope. It is sturdy, well made, and utilizes good hardware.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leadrope I bought this lead to replace one I had previously purchased that had a clip that rusted out in 3 months. This one is going strong over a year later and there is NO rust on the clip. The only reason I gave a 4 for quality instead of a 5 is because the rope is fraying. I will be replacing it with another of the same. I am tired of other leads that have clips that end up rusting shut.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality product which is just the right length for maintaining control while still giving the horse plenty of freedom.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardware is of excellent quality This is a quality lead for those of us who prefer cotton. It's solid, comfortable to the touch and the brass hardware is substantial. I really really like this lead rope.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Name Sums it up! This really IS a heavy cotton lead. Substatial and well made. It is wearing well after several months of use- other than the inevitable dirt, this still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a nicely made lead with a heavy duty snap. Great product for a reasonable price. The length is perfect. Good purchase!!
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sturdy I have a bit of a bully for a pony. This lead rope is very sturdy and can stand the test of time!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope! I love this lead rope. For the cost, it's one of the best leads I've bought. Nice and soft, strong snap, and it's black so when it gets stepped on and chewed up, you can't tell!
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft! I love these, I will never again buy another lead rope outside of these
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic Lead Rope Purchased this lead rope in the royal blue color, which nicely matches the Havana/Blue padded leather halter also sold by SmartPak. It's of a good length and thickness. The cotton is soft and easy on the hands. The only drawback is the cotton itself is not braided, which may lead to eventually fraying. But so far it's proven sturdy. The brass snap is nicely weighted and solid, clearly not the cheap brass plated hardware found on some ropes.All in all, a good basic lead rope that should last quite a while.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different colr of the bolt snap The picture shows and says BRASS bolt snap, but we got a silver one, does not math with the halter.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead A good utility lead. I would prefer it about a foot shorter but it has good hardware and has a good feel to the hand.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!! Love this rope. Feels good in my hand while leading and is heavy duty enough to deal with a bossy little Morgan. Would buy again any day.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts forever! Great quality! I've had a few of these now and I just replaced one that last me 4 years. Just be careful if you ever try to wash them, one came apart in the washing machine while others held up.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic rope and easy on the hands. Great colors and durability.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my only lead rope It's getting more difficult to find cotton leads, but it's all I use. Having a nylon lead ripped out of my hands by a yearling made me a firm believer in cotton. The length is good and the snap always outlives the rope.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    • 2015-03-03T07:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_2084, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.