Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Leather and Cotton Web Halter

Item #12082
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, snap throat and adjustable nose, double crown buckles and solid brass hardware. Leather with navy cotton or hunter green cotton. 

Favorite Features

  • Ends of webbing are reinforced with leather
  • Adjustable noseband to fit different sized horses

Sizing It Up

Horse or Cob


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.


Please note: If selecting embroidery, please allow an additional 1-2 days for delivery. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Leather and Cotton Web Halter is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE I bought this halter two years ago and it only now is starting to look a bit dirty. No fraying or breakage on this halter for two years. I ordered this in navy and the white embroidery looks beautiful.I still get compliments on it today. If the halter I have now ever wears down or breaks I won't hesitate to buy it again. I only wish it came in a couple more colors! The picture i posted is from this year, the halter is two years old in it.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best For the money you cannot buy a better halter. It's good looking and sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going for Halter #2 I bought this halter about two years ago and it's been great. I got the hunter green, which is more subdued than the picture here on the website. I had my horse's name embroidered in white on the noseband and it looks fabulous! I got tons of compliments but even better, there is NEVER a mistake as to whose halter it is (and we all know how things "walk away" in any barn). I think I even once ran the halter through the washing machine, which isn't great for the leather but it still made it through! Finally, after much wear and hard use, one small section under the chin has frayed away. The halter doesn't owe me anything - it has lasted for a long time with minimum care. I feel I got my money's worth, so I am probably going to order another one.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I prefer this cotton webbing halter to the ones with nylon webbing.The leather and hardware look like quality and I think this halter is made in the USA which is a bonus.It's a bit pricey and hard to find so thank you SmartPak for carrying it.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe I got a dud? This halter is very attractive, however proves not to be very durable. My horse pulled back for a few seconds on the cross ties and it totally stretched the webbing out and made the halter too big for her face. The cheek pieces are awkward and don't lay flat against her face. I ordered a cob size (she is a 4 yo warmblood with a baby face) and it fit well- initially. The crown piece also broke within a week of using it- not sure how!
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best halter ever Wow, I don't usually get excited about a halter but this has been a truly wise purchase. Looks great and has the added safety of having leather where you need it in a pulling emergency. I keep getting asked where I got it and naturally I say Smartpak, and my friends just nod...of course that's where you got it. Don't hesitate, this is not flimsy, and has quality leather and cotton webbing. If you have a really HUGE horse you might find the webbing narrow, but not any more than a decent leather halter. I bought a cob size for my small quarter horse and it fits just fine.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better in person This halter, that in the photo seemed a bit too brightly colored, is in fact very nice, and not too bright at all. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the leather (nice and thick) and the cotton webbing which is not too thin at all. I bought the cob halter for my 14 h 2 in quarter horse and it fits perfectly. My beautiful dark gold palamina mare is well dressed in the dark blue and leather of this halter. It may run big in the horse size, but since you can adjust both sides of the headstall as well as the nose band there should be no problem with fit. Great quality, absolutely worth the cost.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and functional I LOVE these web halters. I've had them for multiple horses. this one was purchased for a student's new horse. It's the first one I've had monogrammed. I wasn't so sure at first about the monogram being on the nose but it looks great!The halters hold up really well to daily use and are certainly MUCH safer than a nylon halter as well as more attractive than a leather halter.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be the last one! Great halter - fits well, good quality. Will repurchase if/when it needs to be replaced.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price I have purchased several of these over the years. They last pretty well for the price, and I like knowing that it will break if necessary.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I was shopping around for a leather halter and decided to try this instead. I am so glad!! I love this halter, I have the blue on a dark bay QH/Morgan. It is super cute and very unique. Adjustable, fits well, and seems to be very high quality. Buy this halter, you'll love it!!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and looks nice! Have had these halters for 2 years now and they are on my horses for 12 hour turnout everyday so they get abused. I have never conditioned teh leather or cleaned them and they still look good! The do run a bit big.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i got this for my granddaughter. the halter is really beautiful. the embrodiary across the nose is perfect. only problem is that the horse pulled back and broke the clip ring. it did not tear the nylon, just broke the ring. i wish it had been a stronger metal. aside from that, it is a very attractive halter, very unusual.
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Turnout I've had my eye on this halter for a few years now, but never had a reason to buy it. Now that my gelding is required to wear a halter for turnout, I finally had my reason! I wanted a comfortable and soft halter that still provided the safety of a breakaway crown... bonus that it came in his color! The cob size tends to run a bit large, as it barely adjusts small enough to fit him and he can usually fit into horse sized headgear.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Nice looking halter. It fits the horses well and is ajustable.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little small My horse has a big head, but still fits into a normal horse size with everything. The crown on this halter is a little small, and it looks funny on him.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Good What I like most about this halter is that you can get your horses's name on it. The halter is a little large so it is flimsy, I don't mind but some do. Durability is ok, I have had this Halter a little over 6 months and have a couple of stands hanging off. I also have to condition the leather periodically.
    Date published: 2009-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! This halter is awesome! It is great quality, and fits my gelding perfectly. I absolutely love it, and look forward to giving it a lot of use! :)
    Date published: 2009-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy halter This is a great looking halter. It's held up well for me. I love the look of the webbing/leather combination. If the staff forgets to take the halter off in the pasture, it's no problem because this halter is a breakaway. It's durable-- more durable than a plain leather halter. And did I mention how good my horse looks in it?
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    • 2015-03-03T07:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_2082, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.