Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Side Reins - Leather

Item #12080
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

3/4" Leather side reins with tongue buckle. Oakbark. 1 pair. Elastic or Rubber Ring.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Side Reins - Leather is rated 4.027 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice side reins but not for my horse... Got these to try on my guy and while very nice, they were too short for a 17.1 hh TB with a neck like a giraffe! Will hang on to them for sure - hopefully we can use them later on in his training...
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but a little short. I bought the leather and elastic (not the donut) side reins to use on my 15.2hh QH mare. I saw from the reviews that most said these ran short, however my mare has a short neck so I figured it would be okay. I have to use these side reins on the loosest hole and it's still a bit of a stretch. Other than that they work great and are really nice quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality High quality leather and fixtures. One little flaw is that the keeper is in a place that will make losing it very likely.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too large, needs room for adjustment Side reins were to large for our pony. Didn't have enough room to punch more holes. Overall quality looked to be OK Leather was a little bunched in places. Kincaid was the brand. Should have brand listed in description
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fit I was a bit hesitant about buying these because many of the comments said that they were good for ponies. The fit my 16.3hh OTTB very well, with room to loosen it and tighten it. One of my friends borrowed them for her 14hh pony great as well. My only complaint is that they are brown. I got the elastic ones, and I will be purchasing black donut ring ones because elastic just don't do good with my new horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for the money! For such a cheap price, I honestly had pretty low expectations, but my old side reins finally kicked the bucket and I needed a replacement that wouldn't break the bank. These are made by Tory leather and I was pleasantly surprised by them. They are decent quality, not the best leather, but not cardboard, either (which is honestly what I was expecting for the price). They are kind of long if you have smaller horses, but there is plenty of room to punch holes. Overall these are a good buy!
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product if you have a tiny horse This review is for the elastic version, not the rubber ring version.The leather is very nice. The hardware is good quality, and the elastic is soft without being flimsy or easily breakable. Unfortunately these are made for tiny horses. My horse is a 16.1hh OTTB with an average length everything. Even on the loosest hole, I could barely get them attached. They were SO short. I was stunned as they're advertised as horse sized.If you have a small horse, these are a great buy. If you have anything average or larger sized, these won't work.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I recommend the elastic version. I added clips to make it easier to take on and off. Had to add a few holes as this made them a little too long,
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Overal a very good product, good quality, nice style.The only reason I gave it one less star is the size. These seem to be made for a horse the size of an elephant (jk ;) I wished they had at least poked a few extra holes in it (like 15 extra or so) for my 15 hands TB mare. I could fix it by adding the extra hole so it wasn't a huge deal, just slightly annoying. Especially because when I want to change the setting, I have to add another hole in both reins etc.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price I bought these about six months ago.. and I'm so impressed with them. One of my friends got the same ones on dover for twice the price. They work on ponies a drafts, and everything in between. Definitely a buy you will not regret!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Short I was looking forward using these on my mare. But, they are WAYYYY too short for my small TB, who usually uses a cob size. I am not sure how anyone with a larger horse used the elastic ones. Quality seems pretty descent, but unfortunately I have to return them, due to how short they are.
    Date published: 2013-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I use these side reins EVERY time I ride at home. They are fantastic! I am so happy I purchased the ones with the elastic over the rubber ring. Everyone at my barn has the rubber ring and they are wanting to borrow mine all the time. When my horse wants to fight being in a frame at the beginning of my ride the elastic seems to make him fight himself with a slight natural give compared to the rubber ring. These are a great price and would recommend them to everyone I knw, especially since I used to ride with draw reins, which made it much more difficult for me to ride with 2 reins in each hand vs 1. Also the downfall of my draw rein I found sometimes my pressure was more on the draw rein than my regular rein. When this happened, my thoroughbred who is very sensitive to pressure would react immediatly. These side reins have turned him back into the hack winner he always was.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What you'd expect for the price This review is for the style with rubber rings. These side reins are just what you'd expect for the price--hardware and leather are so-so quality, and leather is very stiff. I put several applications of oil on the leather and hope it will soften over time.My main concern is the length. They are on the very last hole to use attached to my girth on a 16.3H warmblood and there's really no room to punch another hole before the end of the strap. They should stretch a little with use, but if you have an O/S horse, these probably won't work.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice with a great price This is a great product works well while lunging my mare. Great quality for the price. I wish it came in black but it's very nice looking and seems sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good Barn Staple I have never been one to use side reins much, but now see them as an important barn staple! These are a nice quality leather and I prefer the elastic so that there is some give if my OTTB mare needs it. She is just learning to use them so I like the extra give! I also added some baling twine to make them a bit longer whlie she is just getting used to the idea of the side reins being in place while she is on the longe line. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elastic ones are nice Nice leather. Good elastic. Worked well on my 16.3hh tb.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made. Have withstood quite a bit of use on multiple horses. Can't think of any negatives.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Good value. Reins work well and look like they will last. Should have known that they are too long for my large pony but I can punch holes. Not a big fan of the color or stiffness of the leather but it looks like it will darken and soften.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product I realy like these side reins. They are very nice quality and ao far they are holding up very well. Excellent product for the money!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I was very disappointed with the quality of theses side reins (both the leather and the clips). Thank you smartpak for an easy return!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item Love using these side reins! Helps me get my mare round & in the correct frame before I get on her. After using these she is very light in the bridle. I like the rubber rings that give rather than having no flexibility at all.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I don't use side reins often so I wanted nice reins at a nice price. These reins are great quality for the price!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality I actually have the elastic side reins. They seem to be very good quality for the price, and look as though they will last forever. They do look a little short...they are fine for my 15.2 QH, but I wonder if they might not fit a large warmblood or draft cross.
    Date published: 2009-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good buy I would recommend this product, it's a great value.
    Date published: 2009-07-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from questionable bought both kinds (rubber ring / elastic) ... the elastic reins were Tory leather and were good quality ... the rubber ring reins were a different manufacturer and were substandard (poor quality leather and surface tanning so don't presume they will last well) ... the rubber ring reins are also quite long for even a average horse and don't have enough adjustment possibilitiesthe web item description doesn't state the separation well either
    Date published: 2009-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Side Reins The side reins work great. They are very good quality and well constructed. The clips are easier to manage than other brands I have used. Very pleased with the product and would highly recommend to others.
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    • 2015-03-05T09:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_2080, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.