Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat

Item #11971

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Some days even hardy dogs need a little extra warmth. Use our soft fleece coat alone or as a base layer under a second coat on extra-frigid days. Its VELCRO® Brand closure along with surcingle and chest closure offers easy on/off and adjustability. Machine washable; shrink resistant. Imported.

Click here to see this item embroidered.

 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat is rated 4.7115 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy, perfect fit for the active winter dog!! I never write reviews but am so pleased with this coat for my German Shorthaired Pointer. She LOVES it and typically tries to destroy any coat I put on her. The weather in Northern Michigan during the winter can be brutal and very cold but she is as cozy and active as ever. Fits great, washes easily and she runs like the wind with it on. It moves with her and fits perfectly. She is on the small side for a GSP and the size XL was just right. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect coat for a barn dog Looks great, works well on rainy days, so durable!
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for keeping Baylee warm! My Australian Cattle dog x rescue, Baylee, is originally from Georgia, so I wanted to get her something to help her get through our Minnesota winter. I had a couple SmartPak coats for my old dog but they were a bit big on Baylee, so she got her very own. She is very energetic and loves to run and I am so happy this blanket stayed in place on her, no problem, even when rolling in the snow.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality for the price I have a 140 lb bullmastiff and it fits easily on him. Reminds me of a nice horse sheet. Very comfortable for him to wear but it just isn't long enough for his big body. I ordered a XXXL and it doesn't go to his tail.
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value My 13 year old Queens Heeler had shreaded a couple of doggie sweaters and several human t-shirts on the quest to find a jacket that would keep this old boy warm. Looking to my 30 year old horse that keeps a light blanket on in the winter. Despite laying down and rolling the horse blanket stays on. The dog blanket designed like a horse blanket caught my eye. The soft fabric feels good against Spike's old joints and the blanket stayed on in and out of the house. Washed up nicely too.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this! Glad I read others reviews & ordered a larger size for my male golden retriever, xxl just fits him & he's not a real big pup. Make sure to order a size larger then what you think you need. Otherwise it's very well made. I do like it...
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog coats I've found Purchased three dog coats all the largest sizeavailable. They material quality is excellent,and the workmanship flawless. I havent foundbetter dog coats anywhere. And yes I have already recommended SmartPak to my friends.
    Date published: 2013-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I ordered the same blanket in fleece for my dog and I loved the way it fit him. I saw this blanket was on sale too and decided that he could use a waterproof one for when it snows. It fits perfectly, I wouldn't change a thing about the blanket. It runs true in size, unlike a few other blankets that I have purchased.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far great! Fits perfectly, and is easy to put on and to remove. My older arthritic dog looks adorable in it and keeps warm in twenty degree weather. Haven't washed it yet but so far it's great.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best dog blanket i have tried! I have a 20lb mix dog who is hard to fit. however he is thin skinned and thin haired so he needs "cloths" when its cold out. So i decided to give the smartpak dog blankets a try (since i love there horse stuff). when i first got it it was a little big for him however I'm glad i kept it because he has grown into it just fine and the fact that the belly strap and chest straps can be "let out or pulled tighter" really helped. Ajax loves this coat and wears it all day long (in fact hes sitting here wearing it now). I also love how well it has held up! its almost 4 years old now! its been washed a million times wore to the barn and rolled around in outside. the only reason why i will have to buy him a new one soon is because he was playing with a puppy and the puppy tore 2 small holes in it. well worth the money and fits much better then the "pet store brands". I also really like the thineslate blanket for him too, he wears that over this blanket when its really cold (witch it gets here in IL) the thineslate blanket is also really water proof. best dog blankets!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm & comfy We use it under thinsulate coat, and its work just perfect
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my skinny mini warm! My only complaint is that the velco strap is a bit long, so it sticks up in the air. That being said, she's an active girl, and it has never come undone. (She's a mutt, but picture a whippet and you have her body type, guessing most wouldn't have this issue.)
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice & warm Very happy with this dog coat. Fits well, seems very well made. Jackson is very pleased with the monogramming.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dog is warm! My dog isn't fond of the snow, nor of wearing "clothes", but, he does not seem to mind this coat at all. It fits him perfectly and he comes in nice and dry after a walk. I just wish I had had it embroidered.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice coat I read all the reviews and saw that sizing is all over the place. I figured that was because dogs are all shaped differently. I got a size small for our rat terrier. She weighs 13 pounds and is 12 inches tall at the shoulder. Like many other reviewers noted, it sits up on her back allowing cold air in. That's because there are darts that are supposed to shape the coat to fall over her hips. However, the coat isn't long enough to do that so instead, the darts hold the coat up a bit. If I would have gotten a larger size, there wouldn't be enough velcro to attach it around her and a longer size would have also interfered with her tail--which stands straight up most of the time. Overall, it does seem to keep her warmer and I think it's a pretty nice coat. I also got the thinsulate outer coat and together, they are a nice warm combo. She looks darling in it. It reminds me of a miniature horse blanket. So cute.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from maybe not for little dogs? I ordered one for my JRT, who wears a small. The way the fabric worked out with the small s ize, all that shows of the Newmarket pattern is black stripes on the mustard background (no red), which really isn't all that attractive! (Unless you like the bumblebee look). Haven't used it, so won't rate it down, and am waiting for a response from Customer Service on whether an exchange might be worth it.
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, but not for a slim dog We have a slim great dane, and while this blanket was a good length and fit her well in the chest, there was no way to secure it against her slim belly, so the entire blanket immediately twisted and hung off one side. If it had more straps it may have worked. I'm sure it would fit well on most dogs, but for one with a greyhound-type build, it will be too loose and floppy from the ribcage back to stay in place.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat I ordered/purchased two of these coats for my two labs. the xl fit perfectly however the xxl which i purchased was way too large and fits very poorly. my two labs are nearly the same size, one is just a bit longer bodied. i love the xl, but the other is a poor fit and shifts too easily.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great fit! I bought this coat for my dog about a year ago and am very satisfied with my purchase. It is stylish, warm and durable, holding up to daily walks and runs through wooded paths. My only request would be additional color choices. I highly recommend this coat for your dog(s)!
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its like buying horse ... I bought this fleece for my dog this fall. It fits him perfect. I use this to take my Jack Russell mix on walks.This is perfect for the quick run outside.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Coat Bought one of these coats for my Terrier mix. It's a very nice, soft and cozy coat. Easy to put on and take off. Just thick enough! I ordered one more just like it for my Doberman and it fits her perfectly and looks great! Good Value. I highly recommend it. I found that it runs true to the chart sizing.
    Date published: 2012-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Perfect and looks Great! Bought this for my coonhound last winter she gets so cold easily. It keeps her nice and warm but not too hot. Holds up great in the washer and dryer and the monogramming came out fabulous!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic dog coat This dog coat is well made and very durable. I bought two, one is the fleece with his name embroidered. The other one is heavier and waterproof, great for cold rainy days. They both fit wonderfully. The under-belly strap I shortened to fit his torso a bit more snugly. His breed is a bit leaner then some others. But I am highly satisfied with these dog coats, these are some of the best dog coats that I have seen, I have been searching for quite-some-time. Not only is my dog warm on long walks in the cold, but he his very stylish. I would diffidently recommend this coat and company to friends or anyone who asks. Thank you so much for offering great products for dogs.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fleece dog coat The fit was perfect. When I did not put a capitol on my dog's name they called to make sure it was right!! Excellent customore service. Very well made.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best coats I have ever bought I had bought this coat last year for my dog, I loved it so much I got her a new one for this year even though her old one is still in great shape. My dog Tini is a 50lb female pitbull she has such short hair that when when it gets cold here in New Jersey she looks forward to wearing this jacket. She wears a size XL. I have washed these coats so many times I cant even tell you. I just throw them in the washer and dryer. They did shrink about an inch max, but not enough to change the fit. This coat is good for cold weather but not rain being that it is not water resistant. Sometimes my dog even wears it indoors because we tend to keep out house on the colder side. Would be perfect for a geriatric dog that needs that extra warmth. I have tried all sorts of other brands and they are not even close to the quality of this coat.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm doggies Both Irish Setters liked the coats. The younger one didn't want it removed for an hour or so after coming in.Would certainly encourage purchase of this product!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Libby's Play Coat Purchased the fleece coat and thinsulate coat as a combination. Workmanship and overall quality is great. However, disappointed in the fleece - dog hair does wash off or come off in the dryer. Had to take a vaccum cleaner to the fleece coat to remove the dog hair.I would recommend the coat combination but would inform others of the hair issue on the fleece coat.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.