Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Stable Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #11969
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
All the features you need for a comfortable and warm horse!  The SmartPak Stable Blanket has 640 Denier nylon outer shell with a full nylon lining, and a generous 400g of fiber fill. 

Favorite Features

  • Polished stainless steel hardware
  • Removable leg straps
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at withers

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Sizes: 51-84 in 3" increments

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Stable Blanket is rated 4.7025 out of 5 by 121.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for the price! I got this stable blanket for my TB. It is so heavy and durable for those cold winter nights! I mainly use it by itself when he is inside, and then through the Smartpak deluxe turnout on top for turnout. This blanket is of great quality for the price! you cant go wrong!
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexspensive but High Quality Im not going to lie, I purchased this because they came in my barn colors! Plus they were inexspensive. The material if very tough just like a turn-out. Fits nice, but it has rubbed a spot on my QH mane other than that no rubbing. I dont like that the leg straps hook all the way at the bottom of the blanket by the hocks. It makes the blanket bellow out aroung my TB narrow hiney instead of laying flat. At any rate I removed them and use the Rambo butt straps.
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is a great looking blanket. It fits my horse great! I had his name put on the blanket and it looke so professional!
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far! I have a horse on stall rest for the winter and I was wanting something warm and snuggly for him to stay in that won't poke or leave rubs but will be warm since the horse won't be moving around much to generate heat while the big barn doors are open during daily chores. This blanket is exactly what I was hoping for. It's big and soft and yet still has the high denier outer that will stand up to a messy stall rest horse.I can't comment on durability yet but I will when I have a better idea how it holds up.As far as fit, I followed everyone's advice and ordered "down" a size but then the blanket was about 3" too short in length. So perhaps SP has adjusted their sizing this year based on all the feedback? My horse is an 81 in Rambo but those can sometimes be a little too snug across the shoulders (I have a full bodied WB) though going up a size becomes too big. The 81" SP was just right - not too big through the shoulder or too long.Appearance wise everyone at the barn watching me do my first try on were very impressed with the overall quality look to the blanket and how attractive for the value relative to the Rhinos, Rambos and Pessoas.
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stable blanket My review is confusing because I rated everything "excellent", but overall said "good". The reason is that the fit is great except that it can slip back a bit at the withers, possibly pinching. I thought it would be tight for movement without front darts, but that is no problem. The blanket is nice and warm and the horses' coats stay slick. Also, the monogram letters are smaller than shown in the catalog.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price This is a really nice stable blanket. The fabric is durable and the blanket seems well made. I agree that I would love to have the clip/dees on the chest rather than buckles. I would also LOVE to see this come in a medium weight.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful A beautiful, fitted stable blanket. I had mine monogrammed and it turned out very well.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Smartpak blankets The sizing runs well and fits any type of horse. The blanket is affordable and stylish.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality This is a great stable blanket for the price! It fits my Warmbloods true to size. Comes in nice color combos. We had monogram embroider done to give more of a custom look, I will purchase again. Thank you smart Pak!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket This is a great blanket. Very warm and looks great at horse shows. The fit runs a little large like the SmartPak stable sheet.
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish this had double ended clips instead of buckles....much easier and quicker to dress. Other thatn that well made and fitting.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful blanket! I absolutely LOVE this blanket. It fits my mare beautifully, and is super warm. She tends to be hard on her "clothes" but this blanket has held up really well. Fits true to size, and looks way more expensive than it was! I couldn't be happier with it.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great blanket for the price I bought one of these blankets years ago when I first bought my horse. And it has held up amazingly between washing, and frequent use during the winter. I decided it was time for a new one, since the filling didn't feel as soft and full as it once was. But considering how old it was, it was expected.My horse usually wears a 78, but a 78 in this blanket is a bit to big for her. This blanket does run large so I recommend ordering a smaller size. And a 75 fit her perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have three horses and six of these blankets. I have only three horses, but six of these blankets. I originally purchased three of the Smartpak Stable Blankets several years ago. They've held up well and still look great. After many years of frequent washings, the fill is starting to compress a bit in the older ones. I purchased three more this year so I would have extras to swap out during washing and to layer on frigid nights. These are terrific blankets.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting blanket Please note I gave this stable blanket 3 stars for Value and Durability because it has not yet been through one season. Other than that I followed the advice of other reviewers and ordered a size down for my QH/App. mare. She's a rather stocky 15.1 hands and the 72 fit her perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leg straps have to go The blanket is good quality and a good value for the price. I won't buy another, though, due to the poor quality leg straps. You adjust them properly and the next morning they are dangling below the horse's hocks. It's a shame to put poor quality straps on such a nice blanket.
    Date published: 2012-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value. The blanket is thick and extremely durable so far.
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good Nice heavy material that seems to repel dirt. It looks comfy on him, and in his 40 degree heated barn it is toasty but not to hot. He is clipped. It is great for putting on other blanket over on cold days. The only issue I have is the leg straps. They are not as heavy duty as others and I need to adjust them. Fine at first, but seemed to move as they got stretched out a litle. I don't have to do this on other blankets. I might just knot them, or replace with others. The fit is different on this too make sure to order a size smaller. My 17+ horse is in a 78 not 81 or 84. The length is fine on back.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stable Blanket This is a great stable blanket and a fabulous value. It definitely runs large so I ordered the 75" for my horse that is a 78" traditionally (he's a 78" in Baker and Blue Ribbon) and I ordered the 78" for my horse that is an 80" traditionally. The blanket is very attractive with the piping and the monogram is perfect! the fit is an 8 out of 10 in that it is not as contoured as the blankets from Baker or Blue Ribbon....however it is 1/3 the price! The leg straps are great and sit nicely and don't rub the horse. I would buy this blanket again- I wish it came in Blue and White or Blue and Tan!!!!
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket The blanket is very good quality and fits my mare well. It's easy to get on and off.The hardware is top notch. The only thing I feel an improvement can be made on is the location of the dee rings for theleg straps. They are located at the edges of the blanket instead of high up closer to the groin area of the horse.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large neck opening? I ended up returning this blanket because the neck opening was freakishly large... it hung down really low on my horse's shoulders. He has a pretty thick neck and larger shoulders too (so usually the problem is too tight on his shoulders!) The length was good so a smaller size would have been too short front to back. I exchanged it for the Amigo stable blanket which fit great. The quality of this blanket seemed nice though if it fits your horse!
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket My horse needed a stable blanket and I wanted something under $100, durable, warm, and with leg straps. This blanket was the perfect match! My horse is a master escape artist but he cannot get this blanket off! The sizing does run a little big, (my horse wears an 81 in the stable sheet and the 81 in this blanket is slightly big on him). The color looks great and the blanket is yet to be destroyed! I highly recommend this blanket to anyone looking for quality at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Strange Fit I was in need of a warm stable blanket for my 6 year old thoroughbred, as our Kansas winters can get pretty chilly. I like the fill of the blanket, and the quality is really nice for the price. I was really pleased to see that the blanket is water resistant, too, even though he'll be wearing it in his stall (he gets the heavy duty blankets for his outdoor romps). However, he's 17hh and not short bodied, and the 78 was huge on him! I wasn't thrilled about the boxy fit on his hind end, but it wasn't so bad that I felt I needed to return it. If I were to buy it again (which I would), I would buy a smaller size than he usually wears--all of his other blankets are 78's, and they fit him fine.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket overall So far I like the looks (purchased the black and grey)and durability of the blanket. However as I stated on my other smartpak sheet purchase, the hind leg straps are cheap and way to stretchy. I have to adjust them several times even in the stall. Also the straps snap to low in the back and they sit right on the hind legs (possibly causing rubbing as its worn this winter) The blanket fits good and seems like it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality blanket This is a quality blanket. Can't answer about durability yet. Good fit on a 15.1 hand purebred arab mare(ordered the 69"). Concerns about where the buckles attach at the shoulder, wondering if it will leave rub marks after a full winter wear. Pleased with quality for the price. Wish it were a closed front blanket.
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Product I have three very large warmbloods (my smallest wears an 80) . I like to change out my blankets frequently over the winter, because they get pretty stinky. This can get expensive as well if you're sending them away to be washed, and need to have other blankets in rotation. I bought these because they were the right price. However they did not have the contoured fit like weatherbeetas do or bakers. The out fabric was not durable in the slightest. My dutch warmblood had both leg straps ripped off and had sliced his blanket open in under 24 hours. I took it to be repaired and the repairman said that fabric would not even hold a patch repair and that I should throw it away.Bottom line: if you have a dainty, well behaved, unshapely horse this product might work for you. If you have beasts who like to eat shew tear rip mangle- DO NOT BUY!!!
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket - Runs Large This is a very nice blanket. I ordered one 3 years ago and still have it. It does run large. The 69" fits my 15-1 Arabian mare.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile and Attractive I have several of these blankets, two now in their third season and still looking great. I find them to be very useful both alone and for layering from fall through spring. They are not as heavy as Rambo stable blankets, which I find makes them appropriate for a wider range of temperatures. I gave them 4 stars for value because if you're looking for a super warm, super thick stable blanket, this one isn't it. I also gave 4 stars for fit because they do run large, so I order a size down. I should also mention that this is the only (stable or turnout) blanket that has not rubbed my narrow-chested horse's shoulders this blanketing season.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bang for your buck! This blanket is a great value for the dollar. It is way more than I expected for the price. It is durable/warm, however it does run a little large.
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is a great blanket. It fits very well on different shaped horses. This is my second blanket that I purchased for another of my Quarter Horses and it fits her just as well as my bulldog shaped gelding. We were at a show where temps had dropped down into the 20's and they stayed warm and comfy in their smartpak blankets.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    • 2015-02-28T08:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_102
    • loc_en_US, sid_1969, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.