Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment

Item #10018
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Lanollin rich Corona Antiseptic Ointment treats injuries, irritations, and abrasions. Corona Antiseptic Ointment helps to moisturize and protect dry dog paws, horse hooves and frogs. Non-toxic. 14 oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment is rated 4.6596 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using it for 40+ years Corona has no equal for helping hair grow back on wounds, and for moisturizing the coronet band and growing healthy hooves. I've been using it for more than 40 years and nothing comes close.
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff! Really good wound cream. It helps heal those minor cuts and scrapes quickly. Only negative is it's a little sticky.
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from #1 for everthing This has been a staple in my grooming box. I absolutely love it. My horse gets rub marks for his fly mask every summer, I just apply some Corona ointment and his hair starts to grow back. I use it when a cut has a scab on it and it helps regrow the hair in no time. I will never be with out my tube of Corona ointment. The only complaint I have with it is next to impossible to use in the winter, it gets all hard and frozen until I warm it up, but it takes forever.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A horseowner's #1 item! Corona is the best stuff ever and every horse owner should absolutely have it!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for the medicine box This is a great item to have handy for minor abrasions and scrapes. Helps to keep the wound supple for a few days until it starts to heal. Only complaint is that the ointment gets pretty stiff during the winter months. Easy to apply.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Messy but it works! I have to say that I have a love-hate relationship with Corona Ointment. I love how well it works, it sticks really well, doesn't slide off and helps promote healing and hair growth. On the other hand, in the winter it's too cold to get out and doesn't stick well until it's warmed up and then it never comes off anything you get it on including yourself! It's something I've always used and I throw it on little cuts and bumps and it clears it up well but if you have a choice get the little jar not a tube, it's much easier to deal with!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is WOW! My mare bangs her face up all the time on trees and stuff in the pasture. I just got a sample packet of Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment at my local tack shop and figured I would put it on the newest cut on her face (that she got somehow even with a fly mask on...). WOW!!! Two straight days of applying and hair was growing back! I was amazed. It took 1 week for the wound to go from hairless with a little scrape to the point where I have to look really close to be able to tell where the scrape was! It rubs into cuts really well. I will be buying my first container of ointment! I would gladly spend more money on this. I can't believe I was wasting my money on those stupid aerosol cans that give my horse a heart attack. I am throwing those away!
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have Household Item! Last summer, a horse I was looking after was suffering from a severe form of sweet itch and had open sores all over her body. After trying many products, I went into my kitchen cupboard for my jar of Corona Multi-Purpose Ointment! I washed out her sores and packed a little Corona into the sores. After just a few weeks of applying Corona, her sores and any signs of sores were completely gone, without any scars. She also had a lot of scar tissue on her face from scratching, I applied a small dab of corona on her face everyday and her face was completely healed within just a few short weeks. I have used it on my dog and myself. It is perfect for wounds and does not leave any scars! It is not overly greasy but thickens in cold temperatures. I would suggest keeping it in a room temperature (or warm) tack room, I wouldn't suggest leaving it outside in freezing temperatures. I would definitely recommend Corona to a friend, especially if they have small children around for Corona is also non-toxic!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its good to have in the barn and house! I have used this product on myself, and Labs dry paws and horse. Its not that great for the winter months to use. It kinda thickens in the cold.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Ointment This ointment is awesome! Works SO well on bed sores. I apply it to open hip, hock, and knee sores, and they heal right up overnight. Good for keeping the skin moisturized while it's healing to minimize scarring and help hair growth.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been using this on my horses hock sores from laying in their paddocks (of course they have shavings in their stalls, but won't lay down there). My older guys hocks have completely healed after I started using the Corona. It stays in place and is the best I have found when it's 100+ outside. Glad I got it.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Corona I use it for cuts and scratches and and i also use it on their hooves because its so dry here at this time of year.I wish i could buy a BIG jar.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my mare's tail heal I originally purchased this for wounds, but before the Corona was delivered, my mare had a bad case of colic and had to be hospitalized. While she was recovering there, she passed a lot of mineral oil and the irritation of the oil getting all over her tail (plus the fact she felt better!!) caused her to rub her tail on the stall walls. This led to a flaky, itchy bald spot.When the Corona arrived, I slathered it onto the bald spot and within a couple days, the area became very soft, supple and on its way to healing. Wonderful stuff! But I advise you keep a towel with it--it is difficult to get off of fingers.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Corona Antiseptic Ointment I have been using this product for years! Love how well it heals small wounds. The best part is how fast the hair grows back after using it! Faster than any other ointment I have tried. This product provides a thick coating that protects the wound and keeps the flys out. The only negative thing about this product is that it is hard to use in the winter time as it gets really hard in the cold weather.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It stays where it is applied I use this to cover minor horse wounds during summer because it is thick and stays put and keeps the flies from picking at the wound. I may put some swat below the wound after applying corona, but usually it's not needed. It will run a bit in higher temps but still leaves behind a good amount of product. I like that it smells pleasant and is non-toxic.
    Date published: 2010-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Works great on hooves - thick and "sticky" enough to stay on for a while so that it can do what it's supposed to! Worked really well on blisters on the bulbs of my horse's feet after soaking them in Epsom salts.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I have been using this product for around 24 years. It was a "go to" product back in the day. I use it for spots under their bellies, where the flies congregate and bite. It's sticky nature provides a pretty good barrier to the flies. It is also good for softening chestnuts and I put it on their hooves. I just use a disposable glove when I put it on and that alleviates most of the mess. Yes, your jar does get a bit icky, but I haven't had a horse die from the ick yet. If I can open one jar and use it for multiple purposes, then I think it's a time and money saver!
    Date published: 2010-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Stick, but It Works! As said in other reviews, this stuff is definately sticky! I always have a wet paper towel handy to wipe my hands off after I apply the Corona. I mainly use Corona on my horse's hooves to help with cracking. All you do is rub a little into the coronary band. It has done wonders on my horse's hooves, especially in the rainy springtime. Corona is also good for cuts and scrapes, but I prefer to use other less sticky ointments for that.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I like Corona products.I use it for my horse hooves and for cuts.
    Date published: 2010-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Classic A must have in my tack box! Works beautifully on wounds to minimize scarring. I especially like the jar as the Corona in a tube is nearly impossible to use in the winter. I've been using this product since 1976 and I haven't found anything that works better.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ehhh... Not the greatest product. Very, very, very sticky. hard to use and apply. Extremely hard to get off whatever it gets on (skin, hands, wounds). I can't keep the jar clean...if I have to go back for a second dip or more, I always get horse hair in the jar, then can't get it out. Wouldn't recommend it on cuts that you are not planning to bandage, as everything sticks to it. I bought it because I saw it in every tack box at a barn I used to board at, but I prefer Tri-Care. I only keep it as back up when I run out of Tri-Care. But it does work, if you can get past all the other stuff.
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pets We use this on ourselfs as well as all are pets. Very good for chapped lips and small cuts. Works on feet for dry skin.
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from stays in place! This stuff really heals and doesn't drip off like many others. Although extremely viscous in winter it does the trick for scrapes and minor injuries that need to be kept soft to heal properly.
    Date published: 2009-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good all around ointment Great to have around for minor scrapes and cuts. Good Buy
    Date published: 2009-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from an old staple does it enhance hoof growth? not sure but this has been in my tack box since the 80's and I allways go back to it when his hooves get shelly and broken around the nail holes due to too many baths from sweaty workouts. I use it around the coronary band area and the bulbs of the heals.
    Date published: 2009-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is it kinda gross? yes. Does it work? YES! I'll admit that this product is somewhat gross - it is oily and sticky, and can be difficult to remove. However, it does a fabulous job in helping to regrow hair.I first started using it when one of my small dogs had a persistent "hot-spot" that just wouldn't grow hair regardless what we tried. I am not exaggerating here, after TWO DAYS we saw signs of hair regrowth; after a few weeks, you couldn't really tell where the spot had been at all.I also use it on my horse when he gets bites or scrapes. He is a bright red chestnut, and his bite marks tend to grow in white; with Corona, they're much more likely to regrow chestnut hair.
    Date published: 2009-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best antiseptic ever! I have used this for years whenever my horses get a cut or scratch; it heals wounds quickly, all the hair grows back, and no scar is apparent. Easy to apply and stays in place.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good to have on hand It is a must have in the barn!Use it on the hooves too.Once a week, I use a little around the cornet bands- hooves have been great!Especially after keeping in very dry sand footing!Great to help keep scrapes supple and healing on the right track.
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No No No! In the summer it feels oily and gross, in the winter it's to get out of the tube. When I put it on my horse it attracted dirt, dust, and shavings. It may work but it's too messy to deal with, for me anyway.
    Date published: 2009-06-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yucky and Sticky I have seen this product in various barns over the last twenty years. I continue to scratch my head and wonder why people use it. Yes it's inexpensive but that's about it. Corona is very sticky, thick and runs terribly in the heat. It does not allow the wound to breathe. I cannot stand this stuff. It is extremely difficult to actually wash off the skin..something you will need to do if you have a wound that necessitates an antibiotic ointment. If your horse happens to drag it's tail across a wound coated in this stuff, good luck getting it out. A barn manager, without my permission, applied this stuff to large bite marks my retired horse acquired on her back and sides from a new pasture mate shortly after moving into the barn. I had to bathe her on four separate occassion to get this stuff off. It did nothing to help heal the wound. Because I couldn't get it off I was not able to apply something else to help prevent scarring. There are many other options available on the market that are more effective and easy to use.
    Date published: 2009-03-19
    • 2015-03-04T08:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_18, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.