Product Image

Quiessence

Foxden Equine
- Item #10017
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Quiessence is a Magnesium and Chromium supplement that may help reduce the risk of laminitis in horses that are overweight and cresty-necked. Additionally, because Magnesium is important to nerve and muscle function, Quiessence may help horses that are tense, spooky and inattentive to attain a more balanced mental state. Quiessence may also help those horses with signs of tight, sore muscles to be more comfortable and relaxed.

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Quiessence is rated 4.5781 out of 5 by 429.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have a 2year old TB who's stifles were locking. I read other reviews about how this product helps to relax muscles so I thought I'd give it a try. The results were visible the very next day....her stifle was no longer locking. It will still take lots of work to get her stifle back in shape but the relief it gives her from the locking has been a godsend. I always taste these supplements before feeding them to my horse and these pellets have little to no taste. My horse ate them right up with no problem. I'll definitely continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works There are not many products that keep my Thoroughbred cross calm and happy, but this product does. Not only is he relaxed while on it, but it relaxes his back muscles, which is a nice added benefit.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet essence! One of my horses lives on this product year round. I use it on the horses that start their new careers from the track and in the recent cold snap a couple of others were really helped by it. a really good product when you need it!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as promised! I bought this about a month ago - for a horse I had just purchased - at the recommendation of my vet who felt that since he had a "cresty" neck - should have this to lessen the chances of founder. (I'm told that cresty neck horses are more prone to founder). So far so good... he snarfs it up every morning mixed into his OatMo and seems to enjoy it. He is one brave, solid citizen, calm horse out on trail. Since he is new to me don't know if this is his great character or a calmness helped by the Quiessence - or a little of both. In any case, I'm happy with the product and will continue feeding it to him each day.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cushing and over weight and fat mane crest You got horse with that very fat mane crest this is for you!! I fed it every day for 3 months and surprised the crest came down to about 1/2 inch wide this is the best I have found. My horse is 23 yrs old and still a little fat but not as bad as last fall cause he also founder. Which I caught it in time the shoer and vet said. And he was getting Cushing too. I am planning to get more this winter.2013.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for my OTTB mare This product has been awesome for my hyper OTTB Mare. She is not as anxious and spastic while on this. I stopped giving it and changed to a straight Mg supplement. Never again. I love this product.
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is worth a try. I used this product before, 2 years ago, with a noticeable change. This time I have seen no improvement in the condition. On my previous try I fed by a scoop out of a bucket, this time I feed the premeasured smartpak; maybe a different dosage would show it is working.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on cresty necks One of my geldings has a big cresty neck like a stallion. I put him on Quiessence and now he has a beautiful skinny neck. I don't have any founder issues so I can't say how it works for that but for cresty necks this is the BEST!!!
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for IR Gelding My 15 year old gelding has the tendency to look IR when not in shape. I used this product for the Magnesium to hold off true IR as long as possible. He eats it well, and has never fussed when it is in his grain.
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from calming I used this for a year then thought I might stop in favor of another product. No comparison. I went back to Quiessence for both the magnesium to calm and the chromium picolinate for sugar control. Gelding and mare eat it up yum yum.
    Date published: 2013-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help I started my 19 year old thoroughbred on this about 1 month ago as he can be spooked while riding etc. It seems to have helped him, but I really need to use it longer to see if this calmer behavior continues. As far as palatability goes, there is no problem there!
    Date published: 2013-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Fantastically! I have a 15yr old TB...he's your typical off-the-track! We've been in the process of working on his arthritis but in order to have a successful riding session, he can't be all over the place. He used to be the kind of horse that would get distracted, start getting overwhelmed, and lose focus. He's been on it since April with all day turn out plus access to turnout from his stall at night. Prior, he was on limited turnout so after this month we are taking him off of it. He has become too sluggish under saddle lately. He's on 1 scoop a day! Hopefully he won't need it anymore or if he does, most likely a reduced dose. I recommend it to anyone! It's really taken the edge off lately.
    Date published: 2013-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked for my horse! We have a horse who is a terrible headshaker and he was about to go back into work and I was dreading it. I did some research to see if I could find a solution and one of the remedies I tried was Quiessence. It worked. I took him off of it and tried two other remedies and they did not work so I went back to Quiessence and he will stay on it. This horse is lovely to ride now and one of my favorites!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooked on this - Makes a big difference! I keep both of my Arabians on this supplement daily. It has not changed their personality, and they are still alert and will spook - after all it's not a sedative. But it makes a huge difference in their attention span and focus, which I think takes a little of the edge off. After the first week I noticed a difference in their attention to training sessions, calm focus, and controlled energy. They are less likely to be distracted by things around them. I ran out of pellets for a few weeks and tried going without it, and noticed the difference, so I will keep both horses on this long term! I have also tried other calming supplements but found this one works the best for me, is priced well and has no drugs in the ingredients.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be effective, at 6 weeks! I ordered Quiessence, Vitamin B 1 and "Smart" Mare..."Frost" is getting all 3 and so far she seems calmer and more focused...I'll send a 3 month report.She is NOT fond of the "taste" and leaves about 1/3rd...strange because she IS a "piglet"...We are going to add a "splash" of Molasses...Thanks Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work with my horse I bought this to see if it would help with my 20 yr old horse who has always been 'spooky' ~~ it didn't help, at all. Sorry to say as I was hoping it would. You would think he would be 'calm' at 20 yrs of age but no, just a foolish boy with so many things he has seen hundreds of times. Guess he is too much into his way of 'seeing' the world for the product to help him. I used the product up, as directed, and saw no difference in him. I couldn't really recommend it to others as it didn't work for my horse.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gooooood stuff Great product. Saw results within days. Unlike other calming supplements, this one does not contain any ingredients that would be considered illegal at the recognized shows. Putting one of my other horses on it because of the great results I've seen.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiessence I started my TB mare on this and she is a changed mare!! She used to be very spooky about everything. I don't want to say this took the spook away, but it has helped her to be more grounded. And when she does spook, it's more controlled, she comes back to her "brain" quicker.Will keep using this product. Most of my barn is now on it.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good I have only used about 1 1/2 containers of Quiessence I am hoping my horse will chill out alittle more because when he spooks its hard to calm him. Also he has a crusty neck topical of a Clydesdale quarter horse mix I am told. I will write more reviews after I use Quiessence a couple more months. Thank you Martie
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reduces nerves but not personality I have a TB/TW mare who tends to be very tense and ADD! When she's on Quiessence, it's easier to get and hold her attention, and she's more willing to relax. I did notice that the effects wore off slightly after the first month or so, so I upped her dose a bit and she's been doing great for several months now! I like that this is a daily treatment, as I've also noticed fewer cuts/scrapes from her being an idiot in the pasture. It doesn't make her dopey and her personality is the same - she will still look at the dumpster that's been sitting there for two years but she doesn't freak out! She even naps on the crossties sometimes!
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It just worked I have a rescue mini that was fat, he had laminitis and founder issues. After much research and trying other products I started him on quiessence. The product, along with food management and regular hoof trimming has worked. He eats it up, and over several months has lost 150 lbs. This product has a higher dosage than others, also fairly reasonable cost. My mini lost a whole mini ! The vet was astounded, took pictures to share with other vets. I'm now going to start my Arab on this, he is an easy keeper, kinda overweight also, so worth a try ~~~
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I have my sweet mare back! "Hope" is a big TWH with a cresty neck and is a very easy keeper. Over the past couple of years I have been dealing with her sour attitude, pinning her ears, swishing her tail and being very difficult to handle. My vet suggested I try Quiessence to help with her attitude. After only three weeks I saw a huge change. I am just thrilled with the results and will keep her on this product for the rest of her life.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product I've been using Quiessence on my gelding for 2 years and recently started my daughter's pony on it. Since they are both easy keepers on 24-hour pasture turnout, it's necessary to keep them on a supplement that helps prevent laminitis. Quiessence seems to be doing the trick.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Many Factors - But Might be Helping I have a Friesian x Standarbred/Paint that was pretty hot after recovering from a tendon injury. I started him on this product about a month ago. I think it's helping him out...and the small amount of work he's back to now helps too.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Help I decided to try this after the Smartcalm didn't work for my horse as it came highly recommended by several people. It had no effect on my horse at all and I used it for two months. Disappointed it didn't help at all.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't eat Quiessence I gave Quiessence to my horse years ago and had no problem with him eating it. This year I tried it again, but my horse stopped eating it and would not touch his grain with Quiessence on it.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works! This supplement was recommended by our vet for two of our thoroughbreds for two different reasons. One is hot and highly reactive, the other one very sensitive, nervous, and worried. It has helped both horses tremendously. Very pleased!
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.