Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag

Classic Equine
- Item #11741
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay.

Favorite Features

  • Easy-to-fill
  • Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top
  • Long adjustable strap with snap to make it easy to hang almost anywhere
  • Durable poly front and back
  • Mesh bottom for ventilation
Poly.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

18” deep, 24” long, 9” wide.
Fits up to 4 average sized flakes of hay.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is rated 4.6575 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less waste than with hay nets I really like this hay bag. I only give it four stars because there is a strip of Velcro between the sides of the opening which causes the opening to collapse during loading if not all of the hay is added at once making it somewhat awkward. The horses don't waste as much hay with this bag since the access is divided into 8 sections and they have to slow down to pick it out. The hanging straps are sturdy nylon with metal snaps. There is a closing flap with Velcro which is appropriately placed and easy to use.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Deluxe" is right! Yeah! Love our hay bag! So tired of going through hay bag after hay bag! This one has large enough holes so no need for destruction!Thank you!
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag Great bag, long lasting. I haul my horses weekly these bags are in constant use and put up with a lot of abuse. I just replaced my first one purchased 5 years ago.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made right size and well made, can fit 2 to 3 leaves of bermuda hay in it, great for trailer use too
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this hay bag! Perfect for horses hows! Holds just enough to last my OTTB at an all day show. Easy to hang,and stuff(which is definitly important!)
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just OK This is a good bag and the best I could find for the price, but not my dream bag. I would like smaller holes, about half this size. I would prefer one strap, two straps just make double work. But it is sturdy, easy to load and holds a good supply of hay and it's not expensive.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hay bag yet I have been using these hay bags for 3 months now and they are holding up very well. Much easier to fill than the small hole nets. Even tho the squares are much larger the horses still have to pull the hay out. I think the nets were just too frustrating for my horses especially my die-hard cribber who has worn his front teeth down to the gum line. The stitching across the squares did pull apart on one tho, maybe Classic Equine might consider using a heavier thread. Other than that I am very happy with them.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy This is a nice, sturdy hay bag, the Biscuits (dwarf Minis) are enjoying eating their hay out of it!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made hay bag This is a well made hay bag and easy to fill. However, you can really only put in 2 flakes at a time. Unfortunately it did not serve our purpose. We wanted something that would keep the hay off the floor of our horse stall. This helped, but since the holes are big, hay still dropped out. We switched to a small hole hay bag, which worked much better. It did not work for us, but it is still a very good product, depending on what you want it for.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Hay Feeder This feeder is more than durable. It survived my horse!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made, perfect size. I bought this hay bag a few months ago and it has held up wonderfully. My mare uses it with morning and night hay, and it has withstood.It has two straps to hang the bag, which keeps it from shifting around too much and they have really held up. It doesn't slow down hay consumption, but if you want a hay bag for shows, to hang in the paddock or stall, it's perfect.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I have been looking for a heavy duty hay bag for my new horse who ripped apart the last hay bag I bought for him the first time it was used. This hay bag so far has been easy to fill and use. It does seem heavy duty (all components still seem just like new), but I've only used it a few times (still lasted longer than the $10 one I bought previously!). I'm really hoping I can say the same things 6 months from now!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best slow feed hay bag Deez loves this bag. Keeps him happy inside and outside trailer.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Badly stitched where the doles are I love the design, I love the canvas material. What I don't love is the fact that there are doles on top where the straps attach to. The way the doles are sewn in isn't well done. In less than a week one of the seams (on the front right of the hay bag) for the doles ripped and the dole kept popping out over night. I fixed it with a few stitches. I expected it to have better stitching for the price I spent. Would I buy it again? Maybe. It seems like today's products just aren't what they used to be.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Bag for keeping hay off ground I was looking for a hay bag that would keep hay off the ground but not necessarily slow down my horse's eating or make accessing the hay more difficult....this one did the trick....plus it's easy to fill...very happy with the purchase
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Stall Great quality product. The materials are heavy duty and the bag as easily lasted through my horse biting and pulling it.I bought this for my horses stall. He is on night turnout and stalled from 8am-4pm. The barn offers hay in the morning and again at noon, but my horse devours it in no time. I bought this to slow down his munching and prevent waste. Initially he was terrified of it. He went for a bite of hay and then it moved! It took him about ten minutes to fully adjust. He hay lasts much longer now and there is zero waste!
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This hay bag holds 4 solid flakes of hay, easy to fill, easy to hang on the trailer (it doesn't scratch your paint!), is completely adjustable and is quality made. I've had other hay bags and my horse tends to waste more than he eats because he fights with it. Not with this bag, he's not swinging it around or pulling on it ... no waste, no mess and a happy horse! This is a GREAT hay bag, for horse and owner!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so great for the trailer I got this hay bag to use in my friend's trailer. We were heading out on a weekend trip and I wanted something easier to fill than a regular hay net. She has a 2-horse slant trailer. While yes, the hay bag was easy to fill, with the wooden dowels at the top to help keep its shape, it didn't fit in the trailer very well. I am kinda bummed, but it's too late to send it back :/
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great that friends bought their own! I got this bag for my horse's stall, because he stays in for part of the day, and can make a mess with his hay. The bag is easy to hang, easy to load, and very tough. It allows my horse easy access to his hay, but anything that he doesn't eat is kept fresh for later. I find that I can fit 3-4 flakes in the bag, which is enough to last through the night.Multiple friends have bought their own for their horses, and they have been equally pleased.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty Hay Bag Best heavy duty hay bag we have ever purchased, very sturdy, love the double heavy straps to hang from the outside of the trailer on those show days!!
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like the design of the hay bag - as does my horse. However the back velcro did start to rip after only about a month. To give it some credit, however, my horse does like to play and throw the hay bag around, which obviously will cause wear and tear. Overall, I'm pleased with this haybag.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! This has definitely lived up to its durability test with my two horses! They throw it all over trying to get all the goody out of the bag and it shows no signs of wear! I had to buy a second one because my gelding was crowding out his pasture mate. It's nice to see they are both getting their share and not stomping the hay into the ground. I feel better knowing they are no longer bolting their hay and grazing as they were ment to.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay bag I bought this bag over a month ago for my IR 4 yr old TWH mare. I have to put her in to feed her. She has to have her smartpak IR pellets and I have to keep her off the nightly hay piles the rest of the herd eats to stay warm. I will say that the holes in the net are too big for the hay to last all night BUT it really slows her eating down AND there is NO waste. It holds about 3 slices of my hay when I stuff it in tight. It is very well made,it is very easy to take down and put up, very easy to load and easy to clean. (I am only 5 'tall .) She has not managed to rip it or destroy it. She is one who delights in opening latches etc. She did manage to put her hoof in it as I had hung it way too low. Hung at the proper height it is safe. She has a habit of putting her feet between the second and third rung of our fence to get attention. So she was quite proud of herself. I plan on buying 2 more of these so I can take them camping when we trail ride. It is a wonderful way to keep the horses busy, and to keep them from wasting hay.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I needed something to keep hay waste down and this is it! I actually use this product for my 200 lb goat and he pulls it down from the wall and stomps on it and it hasn't hurt it at all! I was nervous that the elastic in the front may stretch or rip off, but it still is like new! It holds a good 4-5 flakes of hay and there is very little waste. Once you get used to filling the bag, you will love it!! I just need to find a way to hang it that my goat can't figure out how to get it down! ;)
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable hay bag I like this hay bag- it is easy to load, has nice straps, clips, and velcro closure on top, and is made of heavy duty material- I am using it for my food motivated mini, but none the less, it seems like it's here to last. I only gave it 4 stars on value because who wouldn't like to buy something for even less than they already paid :)
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but Bulky I like this hay bag because it hold a large supply of hay BUT it is quite long and takes up the window view in the trailer for the horse. Overall I like it because of the easy access to the hay (the many openings) for the horse and the style allows less loss of hay out of the bag.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase of this type Works great in stalls as well as convenience to carry. I have a difficult Warmblood who is aggresive with any hay hold. This works great and he likes it too.
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I purchased a similar hay bag from a different retailer and within two weeks it was trashed. This hay bag is very durable, holds a lot of hay, is well ventilated, and stays closed on top so my horse can't pull the hay out of the top and make a mess! The only downside is that the little tab on the back to attach it to the wall only lasts a few days before coming unstitched, but as long as you don't want to hook it to the wall then the hay bag is still perfectly usable. Once they find a sturdier way to attach that little tab on the back this hay bag will be a perfect 5 stars! The first time the tab came unstitched SmartPak sent me a new hay bag as soon as I called and sent me a shipping label to ship back the old one, so I know they're working on solving this minor problem.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to load Love these haybags - easy to load and seem to stand up to lots of abuse. They hold quite a bit of hay as well...
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This hay bag is so easy to use it's crazy. I can't believe how many times I've strugged to stuff hay into other types of bags, and with this bag a flake of hay just drops right in. Awesome!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    • 2015-03-04T08:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_1741, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.