Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Grazing Muzzle

Item #11731
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Original Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper.  The Grazing Muzzle attaches to your own leather or breakaway halter and includes four adjustable hook-and-loop straps. To attach the grazing muzzle to your halter just loop the four straps over the noseband and chinstrap. The two side straps may also be looped through the halter rings for added stability. The metal rings can be left in the down position to allow the muzzle to breakaway or can be slid up over the hook-and-loop straps to disable.

Favorite Features

  • Optional breakaway feature for optimal safety
  • Hook-and-loop straps for adjustability
  • Nylon construction is easy to clean and care for
  • 1" opening to limit the amount of grass intake for your easy keeper
  • Does not inhibit the horses drinking ability

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Grazing Muzzle is rated 4.4762 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great muzzle, but runs very small! First, the size issue. I ordered the cob size for our 13 hh pony. It was way too small. He couldn't even open his mouth. He needs the horse size. One of our boarders had to get the extra large for her horse with a typical size head.Second, the actual muzzle. The actual muzzle is great. It is sturdy, effective and has not created any rubs around the nose.We have had only one issue. If the Velcro is extended too fat, it is very easy for the horse to rub off.I paired this with nylon Velcro breakaway halter sold by Smartpak. So, I feel like out pony is very safe. I can also easily replace one component or the other if I ever need to.I would buy again knowing the adjustment I would need to make in size.
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy This grazing muzzle is very sturdy and is easy to put on or take off. It is effectively keeping my pony from ballooning, and seems to be relatively comfortable for him to wear.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality muzzle - very small fit I bought a cob size muzzle for our 13 hh Quarter Pony. He wears a pony bridle and cob halter. The cob size muzzle wouldn't even fit over his mouth let alone give him room to open his mouth to eat.We easily returned the muzzle for a horse size the horse size fits him well.The muzzle easily attaches to his breakaway halter. He has not managed to pull it off or get it caught on anything. He has not come in with any rubs.Last year, he chewed through the hole enough to double size the hole by the end of the season. So, I went with the separate basket to make replacement easier in the future as needed.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as the muzzle with the built-in halter I decided to use this with a leather halter instead of the all-in-one last summer and it was alright but not great. It didn't really fit well on my halter and I had to put electrical tape to keep the velcro attached after about 2 weeks of my horse wearing it on night turnout. Although you may have to replace the all-in-one if your horse breaks it, it definitely is worth the extra money for a better fit.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse doesn't mind! I thought my horse would hate wearing this, but doesn't mind at all. It's made very well, and the straps are very secure.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but rubs I bought this grazing muzzle for my mare so she can graze on the rich spring grass without getting gas colic. I bought a separate halter and left it attached so that it wouldn't have to be put on every time. The velcro was easy to use but it doesn't seem to have enough adjustment. I see after a week or so of daily use that she has rubbed down to the skin on the underside of her jaw. I think I will line this with fleece so she can continue to wear it comfortably. It is a bit heavy and awkward at first. I think I like the all canvas ones better but I think this one will hold up longer.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This muzzle is working well on our Haflinger gelding who has foundered. It allows him some time out every day with his pals, and seems very sturdily made. In fact, it's a little bit heavy, but I would rather it be sturdy than worry about wear and tear.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great muzzle just one flaw This muzzle is great, I have a Haflinger mare that cannot have to much grass or she will have health problems and this muzzle has solved the problem of her eating to much. The only problem with it is that it has to many straps and takes a while to get it on and to make sure that it is fitting correctly. Other than that I am happy that I bought this muzzle and not another one.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great muzzle But it will rub those with big nostrils and small noses, I lined mine with fleece.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good muzzle...does the job I had to muzzle to insulin resistant horses this spring because our grass was so lush this year. One pony never could figure out how to eat through the muzzle, but at least she was out with her friends, and in the sun. My Friesian mare figured out how to eat through the little hole, so the muzzle worked great. Both muzzles stayed on, inspite of the ponies dramatic attempts to rub it off. Of course...with any such equipment, use caution regarding the horse getting caught on things...safety halters are a good idea. .
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miss Piggy Loves it My Kentucky Mountain horse eats like she will never get another meal. Her obvious roundish shape says otherwise. She is in the corral a lot but I like her to get exercise, and with this grazing muzzle she can run and kick in between bites! (I've seen her do this). She would like to rub it off but hasn't managed to do that and I have her out all day in it. It even fit into the small waterers we have.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle I recommend this to anyone with a horse that can't keep his mouth quiet. This stopped the continual purchase of lead ropes to replace those chewed in half. It also allows me to tie up my horses and not have them chewing the arena rails or stall fronts. Love it!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great We have a horse prone to laminitis, and these grazing muzzles work wonders. She can be out "grazing" with no fear of over-eating. Keep checking the size of the hole, as it will enlarge over time. We keep a backup on hand when it comes time to replace.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from needs impovemnt for ponies I have used this product for several ponies over the past years. I recently purchased a cob size for a medium pony that did not fit into one of my pony sized muzzles without getting rubs. Overall these muzzles are great but I would like to comment that they are very heavy for small/medium ponies. Perhaps the manufacturer could use a lighter material (without sacrificing duarability) that would be more suitable for a pony to wear as I find these too heavy for my little guys. A lighter color for summer would be great too as the black rubber tends to get very hot. I prefer the muzzle that attaches to a turnout halter as the "all in one" halter/muzzle does not stay put on naughty ponies. Overall, a good muzzle.
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from creates rubs This muzzle is definitely durable, but if I put it on so that they can't take it off then it starts to rub on their chins. For the price, I didn't find it to be a very effective product.
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I bought one of these for our chubby Morgan a few years ago. Maybe he was smart, or maybe just hungry, but he took it off every time we put it on him. That wouldn't have been so bad, but the velcro "breakaways" never gave- the stitching ripped out. I took this muzzle to the repair shop at least once a week, and ended up spending twice as much on repairs as I did on the muzzle- IN ONE MONTH! Great idea, but only if the velcro gives instead of the stitching. My horse also "modified" the size of the grazing hole. Very disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2010-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I'm using this to train a draft/QH cross. It is easy to use, durable, and well made.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Muzzle I have been using this muzzle now for about 6 years for my mare and I use it every Summer for about 2 months while the grass is really lush and it is still holding up really well. It is easy to put on and she is able to nibble at the grass without consuming too much I am amazed at how long this muzzle has lasted because generally things like this don't last more than one or two seasons.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product My pony has been using the muzzle for about a month now and it's holding up really well. We are using it for weight control and founder prevention. This allows her to be turned out with friends and enjoy being outside. Good product!
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muzzle mania I bought this muzzle after my gelding colicked and required surgery, in part, because he just eats too much! At first we only used it when he was out on pasture so he couldn't gorge on grass, but then we noticed he started gorging on hay so now he wears it whenever he's out of his stall. So far he is handling it fine and neither it nor the halter are rubbing his face. We did some "surgery" on the muzzle though, to allow him to eat long-stem hay. The barn owner's husband made the little hole in the bottom about twice as big. So he can still eat grass and hay, we've just slowed him down, which is all I need this muzzle to do.
    Date published: 2009-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value This muzzle is a great value for people who have lots of green grass, and a horse that the founder prone.
    Date published: 2009-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My fat pony on a diet. Bought this for my welsh who gets fat on air. Seems to work well.
    Date published: 2009-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from none stop eating With all this rain here in the mountain of Pa. Grass just keeps coming. We have one horse that would keep eating, other two would stop an rest. This keeps the one at a managable weight.
    Date published: 2009-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gets the job done My horse has a small head so I bought the cob size. Allows him to be in turnout with ingesting lots of grass as we're worried about his sugar intake.
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase so far so good, it is working well and my horse doesnt seem to mind it.
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watch exess wear on front teeth! I think this is a quality product and it worked just fine. My mare quickly adapted to it - I bought it because of a round bale situation where I board and she was getting very heavy. A friend told me to check her teeth for wear - I did and sure enough within 3 weeks of her wearing it only during the day her one front tooth showed signs of wearing down at the angle in which she ate. Plus her teeth look more stained - maybe because of not chewing enough forage? Well, she's not wearing it anymore - regardless.
    Date published: 2009-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever I have a gelding and a yearling colt that love to chew manes and tails. I have bought 8 cheap grazing muzzles in the past year to keep them from chewing my other horses mane and tail. Within 2 days, these two horses broke the cheap grazing muzzles. I purchased this muzzle from SmartPak Equine and it has been 3 months and still looks like new. I am actually purchasing another one today for my breeding stallion after reading the review about the stallion biting the mare. I LOVE THIS MUZZLE, it is great!!
    Date published: 2007-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I bought 2 Grazing Muzzles this spring, one for my easy keeper and one for my 2yr old. My vet was so thrilled I bought them and my horses love to put it on cause they know they will be getting grass. And I have had no trouble with it.
    Date published: 2006-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use as Breeding Muzzle We have used these muzzles for several years on our breeding stallions in order to (1) protect the stallion's teeth in the event he is kicked by a mare who acts willing but refuses at the last moment, and (2) protect the mare from aggressive biting by the stallion before or during breeding. The muzzles have withstood great abuse and last 1-2 years per stallion.
    Date published: 2006-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product I have an easy-keeper mare who was restricted to a small sand lot or her stall to keep her from putting weight on. With this muzzle, she is able to go out and be part of the herd. I haven't had any problems with her getting it off her head. She did figure out how to eat grass through the nylon webbing at the sides, so I added additional nylon to that area with a sewing machine. She wore it all last year and it held up great. I should get at least one more year out of it.
    Date published: 2006-02-27
    • 2015-03-02T07:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_1731, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.