Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Ear Puffs

Equine Comfort Products
- Item #11696

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Too many distractions for your horse? Help him tune out noise with these 100% Merino Sheepskin Ear Puffs. These Ear Puffs are super soft! If the Ear Puffs don’t curb the spooking we highly recommend the Sekur-Grip. Black and Brown.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ear Puffs is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT my horse is very sensitive when clipping his ears, these help sooo much!!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! These puffs are great for keeping my horse focused - especially when snow starts falling off the roof of the indoor!
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not useful My horse hated having the ear puffs in so much they were far more of a distraction than anything else could be. She wouldn't stop shaking her head until one or both puffs popped out.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from they help they fit my 17h appy/tb well, although he does have narrow/small ears. he shakes his head only once when i put them in, but after that he is fine. they have definitely helped him with spooking at small random noises, but he can still hear me, which i think is important. along with smart calm ultra its like i have a new horse :)
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ear Puffs When my horse has his ear puffs in, he pays attention to me. When I try to ride without them every little noise distracts him. Cheap and easy to use/reuse.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nicely made product These puffs are soft and seem comfortable for my horse. I haven't yet used them, but I am hoping, like a previous reviewer, to muffle noise during ferry travel. He does not seem to mind them being in, which I was concerned about.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A titch small These are a bit small for my giant Oldenburg - I can get them in there, and they will usually stay for my lesson, but when we get back to the barn and he starts really shaking his head, they will sometimes pop out in his stall. He's not a big fan of them when I put them in, shakes a lot, but he usually gets over it once we start working. I'm not sure whether I will stick with these, or go back to regular sheet cotton - these are definitely more convenient, but the cotton seems to annoy him less.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not a fan These puffs are a little large, my horse can't stand having them in her ears. Also, they only come in a package of two most come in a package of three in case one is lost.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect we have been using the rubber ones and he hated them - had to fight to get them in & out. We bought these and no more fighting! They do not make his ears hurt or pull his hair!
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely worth the money This was the best $5 I have invested in a long time. I have tried numerous supplements to try and keep my horse from spooking and getting nervous to no avail. I tried these out and the spooking and shying has been reduced tremendously. The puffs are soft and appear comfortable for my horse.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Small Investment This is one of those products that makes you wonder..."it costs so little, REALLY what could it do? How effective is it?" Well for a Green pony or horse at a show...that has a hard time focusing on the rider and trainer, THEY WORK WONDERS. It blocks out the external noise and helps for the pony/horse to concentrate on the rider. Just have to remember to remove them when you are done riding!
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay!! Perfect for my jumpy, reactive "looking for an excuse" gelding.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Works My horse would spook at little noises in the Palmettos on trail rides. This product muffles noise just enough so she doesn't notice them.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed to work At first my horse had a fit over them and shook them out of her ears. Than once I got her mind on something else after I popped them in again she was ok. She seemed calmer and was not spooking at any noise type things.
    Date published: 2009-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Work great. Match the ear's colors and get the job done.
    Date published: 2009-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done Ear puffs are great for shows. All of our show horses wear ear puffs minus the few who don't like them. They are a lifesaver for the green ponies at shows.
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ear Puffs These are great ear puffs. Just the right amount of puff! Washable too.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from odd noises I live in an area of Washington State next to Puget Sound, and often you need to cross the Sound by ferry. My CWB mare dislikes the low, throbbing reverberation of the ferry engines, and spends the entire 30 minute trip shaking and sweating. I got a pair of the ear puffs to help her with her anxiety, and they worked well. If I could help her that way, why wouldn't I?
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps! I am in the riding organization of Westernaires in Golden, CO. One of my friends is in the "cavalry" there, and when his horse was hurt he asked if he could borrow my horse. My mare had been around the guns before (they dont shoot anything, just make a loud noise) and heard them from afar and was fine with them, but i was worried about the noise echoing in the indoor arena they practice in, so i got these ear puffs... and boy did they help! i dont even think my mare even noticed the guns were in the same arena as her. I highy recommend these!
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I starting using these instead of cotton and have had great results. My gelding used to fight me when I put cotton in his ears but he readily accepts these. The only drawback is that they come out when he shakes his head if they aren't in far enough.
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! Definitely helped my sound-sensitive mare mellow out in the show ring! Stayed put during initial head shaking and really seemed to help muffle sounds.
    Date published: 2009-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silence is Golden Have you ever been on your horse in an indoor on a really windy, rainy day or outside just when the people next door start excavating their yard? If you have, then you know how adventurous your ride can become when unexpected noises interfere. I use these at horse shows, on windy days and anytime that my horse is feeling particularly spooky. They really do help to take the edge off. After all, it is hard to spook at the tree limbs blowing against the indoor when you can't hear it. Besides, who could resist the description that SmartPak wrote for these in their catalog and on their website? Peace of mind for $4.50. Priceless.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.