Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.6512 out of 5 by 324.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this! I just got this in the mail the other day, and I'm in love with it. The leather is beautiful, the color is perfect, the name plate is perfect. I have yet to see how it looks on my warmblood, but I know it'll look beautiful. For the price, I'm really happy with it.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Looks kinda cheap, has only crown piece buckle on one side. Pricey for the quality, I think
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the nameplate The nameplate turn out was awesome sizing was great looks great on hm old paint.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter!! I bought this halter as a birthday present for one of my working students and it was better than expected! I hadIt personalized with her name and it looks fabulous! It looks like a halter 3 times it's price! It seems to be very durable and the leather is soft,Flexible and strong! It sure made her face light up! It seems to run pretty true to size as well. I will be purchasing four more of these in the near future for my personal horses! This halter is nice enough for her to use at shows as well as at home!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Value show halter Use this as a show halter and it is perfect. THe cob was just the right size. It is soft and great quality. Come people complained about the dye coming off but I have not had that problem.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so good my horse loves it as do I it is the best thing!
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for price This halter is reasonable and a good quality. Looks nice on and I can see that it would be suitable for show. My horse has only worn it a couple weeks but it has held up so far to rolling in dirt and mud.
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! Cob size fit my haflinger beautifully! Very happy!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter, Great price!!! This is a beautiful halter at a great price, excellent fit and quality. Looks much pricier than it is.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter for the price I read the reviews for this halter and so glad I bought it. The leather is very soft and the sizing fits my growing filly well. She is a 15.3 Holsteiner cross and I purchased the full size. There is plenty of room for adjustment if she needs it as she grows.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Perfect size, cob fit my boy perfectly :) Leather is great and the nameplate is gorgeous!
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite halter This halter is a wonderful quality product for a great price!You still need to oil it, of course, but it is soft and durable
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Very nice quality at a great price! I purchased several of these halters customized with plates as prizes for yearly points submitted to the organization I am a part of. I was pleasantly surprised at the nice quality when they arrived. The halters look really sharp and I look forward to seeing many of my friend's horses sporting them at shows this season!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, great price I've bought a couple of these and they're great. The customized name plates are beautiful and make them really special. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Bought this 3 months ago & it has withstood daily turn out - biting, bending, & jerking - has stood up perfectly! Broke in quickly and name plate has withstood bending and gnawing! 
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have gotten a nicer show halter I bought this just for one of my horses to be turned out in and he's pretty gental with it. He goes out in mud, rain, snow and ect. Although after about two weeks the brass clips and rings turned silver and the leather got cut up easily after a while. Honestly there are better halters on the market then this. For this price i could have gotten a nicer show one.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality These halters are very nice for the price.  I ordered two with brass name plates for my mares, and I don't know how Smartpak did it, but they actually came the next day!  Yeah, I live in New England, so that helps, but still!  They are lovely halters, soft pliable leather, and the name plates are great.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I've had this halter for about three months now after my horse's old halter "mysteriously disappeared" and I am never going back!  The leather came right out of the box supple and ready to use and it looks fantastic even though my boy has a tendency to get down and dirty in the field.  Adore the halter and I get compliments on it all the time!  Keeping this forever!
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like new! I purchased this halter for my growing yearling it was a little loose on him but I have not yet had punch holes in the leather! He wears it all the time and it sill manges to look brand new with one swipe of leather care! Totally worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watch out greys! I appreciate the value of this halter. The stitching is nice and the leather is soft. However, I bought the horse size for my 15.3 Connemara with a big face, and had to put 3 extra holes in the strap along the poll, as it was dangling too far down on his nose. Speaking of his nose-- it's dyed purple! This halter leaves purple stains on his nose and poll every time he wears it, regardless of being sweaty or dry. Overall, I'm a bit disappointed, but I'm hoping over time the dye will not transfer so much.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Big For Me Tried the Horse size on my mare, who has a pretty big head though she barely stands 15.2. This halter was just hanging off of her like a child tries on an adult nightgown. Exchanging for the cob size, though I hope we get to keep the nameplate, it's gorgeous!Honestly, if you can spare it, go with a more expensive halter. I don't think much of the stitching job on the crown piece. It looks a little sloppy.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy This One! Purchased my first SmartPak Double Stitched Halter about 2 years ago. Horse size for my 16.3 hh Dutch mare. I had to punch extra holes to snug it up over the crown. She wears it daily - it hangs outside on a fence during turnout in the TX sun, and also gets wet almost daily during a hosing off. I think I've put leather conditioner on it twice. It still looks new!!! Wonderful product. I purchased S/M Pony size for my 3 month old filly and will buy her another one of these when she's ready for the next size up.
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! This halter is classy, fits well and is lightweight. Thank-you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I love these halters and ordered several for the barn. The Cob size fit my 13.2h Medium Pony well (who usually wears a cob) but it did not fit my Large Pony (who also wears a cob). That's OK, the leather and quality is outstanding for the price!! Same size does NOT fit our finer headed Medium pony however, he swims in it. Might try Pony.*My one major complaint- The name plates are put on with Chicago screws (nice), BUT are machine bolted on and nearly impossible to remove without really damaging the leather, thus making the use of the screws rather pointless. So, if you have several to fit, be SURE you have the correct plate on the correct fitting halter!!!!Thanks for another great product!
    Date published: 2013-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather halter Nice XL leather halter for our big boy Irish Draft Cross, leather is soft and easily buckles or snaps up. Rings are large enough for a chain if needed, totally usable and fancy enough to bring him to a horse show in.I was happy with the price, this guy is hard on his halters, so we tend not to buy the pricy ones just in case he damages another one.Right now all is well and we are using this one and wearing a smile. Go order yours .
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! This halter oiled up beautifully and looked 3x's the price. The leather is soft and has a beautiful rich color to it.
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter! I needed a leather halter for my new horse and found this one, it has nice leather and great metal snaps and buckles. It is pretty reasonably priced and affordable. Sure you can buy a $400 fancy stitch halter but for at home and even shows this one is more worth it.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Beautiful halter at a great price! Bought to use at home but looks nice enough to take to shows.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's alright... I found this halter to be just "ok." The halter is nicely stitched and has a nice finished look. It does not appear cheap at all. However, it left purple marks on my grey horse's poll and nose after every wear. It also comes "pre-oiled" but is still fairly stiff. It also runs a little large-- I had to put two extra holes in the strap. However, I do appreciate the adjustable noseband and the price is obviously great. I'm hoping with time and some thorough conditioning the halter will be more supple and stop bleeding dye onto my horse's face.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product-pay attention to sizing This is a lovely halter. I love that it is made in the US and such great value. I was disappointed that it is supposed to fit a small/medium pony but I could only get it on a dainty small pony. The small medium should be just for small ponies. Nevertheless, I would definitely order another one but just go up a size.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    • 2015-02-25T07:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_295
    • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.