Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11624
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is a show quality halter at an everyday halter price. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Don't forget the matching Leather Lead! Made in the USA.

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces
  • 1” double buckle crown
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece
  • Convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • Solid brass hardware
Sizing It Up

Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is rated 4.7534 out of 5 by 223.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter This was a purchase for my new horse. It is a great halter, with all the nice features. I included a custom nameplate in my order, and it turned out very nicely. I am using this as an every day/turnout halter, but it would probably make a very nice show halter, especially with the nameplate.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I bought this in Havana in the cob size for my fine-boned TB, and it fits him perfectly! The leather is supple and a gorgeous color, and the hardware seems like it'll last a long time. I love the adjustable noseband. It's very classy looking and definitely looks more expensive than it is :) Great buy!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic leather halter for show or barn! In the past I've bought leather halters from all sorts of price ranges and I have to say this one is the best so far. I bought the havana with a personalized nameplate and it looks very classy. Leather is supple and not hard or unbendable. I appreciate the fact also that SmartPak is so great with personalization items and always ships so quickly. I'm going to buy a second one to use exclusively at shows.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from triple stitch halter i like the halter very much. my only concern is the throat strap buckle, which was irritating my horse's cheek/jaw muscle. i reversed the buckle latch to face away from my horse and he appear's to be more comfortable. i recommend a product re-design for this halter
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish! Great halter that looks super on our newest addition!  The nameplate we added sets the halter off really well!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxurious halter at a great price I just purchased this halter for my hunt seat gelding and I love it. I have in the past purchased much more expensive, name brand halters but the reviews posted about this one convinced me to give it a try. I thought I would buy it as a new show halter but could use as a barn halter if it wasn't as expected. Having said this I was pleasantly surprised! The leather is supple and quality as is the stitching. The fit was nice as well. I can definitely use this as both barn and show halter. Another SmartPak quality product! Oh yes, I got the personalization and the plate was done nicely and arrived already attached.
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price The quality of the leather is much nicer than you would normally find for this price! The halter is nice and supple right out of the bag. I bought the cob size for my 15.2hh Paint and it just fits him (almost too small; last or second to last hole on all the buckles), but judging from the leather and what other reviewers have said, I expect it to stretch a little.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value and quality This halter is really very nice. My new horse needed a halter, so I ordered this with a nameplate. I was very pleased when it arrived. Solid hardware, substantial leather, and the name plate looks great. I'm using this as an every day halter, but it IS nice enough to use as a show halter.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality @ an affordable price!! I bought this halter last March...It's still going strong. Bought it as an everday halter after my horse had lost in a few games of "halter tag". Another product that is very high quality from smartpak. Would've ordered another one for shows if it came with a silver snap. Halter came out of the box soft and supple, it has held up to almost 8 months of abuse out in turnout and is still going strong. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Handsome!! Bought a month ago, came soft and supple - did not need to treat leather in anyway. It looks so handsome on this guy! Beautiful and durable - love that it is a USA product and a great one at that. It is kept outside on horses paddock and still looks new, even with the snow and dirt that it has encountered so far (simple wipe and it's perfect again). I will treat it every so often but it's such great quality I am not too worried. I ordered with engraving - love it, font is Helvetica in picture.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter for the Price! I ordered this halter when it was on sale, because a similar one from another company was almost twice the price. When it arrived, I felt the quality was very good for what I'd paid, and I like that the throat is rolled AND shaped -- sometimes they're just rolled and they take a little longer to break in. I also really appreciate that the nameplate was attached and they used chicago screws! (And it didn't hurt that the screws were both centered and facing the same direction -- I'm very picky about appearances, and I was pleasantly surprised by that little detail!) When I tried it on Max, I found that it did run fairly large, so I needed to adjust it smaller, but I'm very satisfied with the way it fits him. It also seems to be breaking in very quickly! I'd definitely buy another one of these, and will recommend it to anyone looking for a nice halter at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price! Just got this halter last week and couldn't be more pleased! The leather is decent quality for the price, the buckles seem sturdy and the personalization is clear, easy to read and stands out. I highly recommend getting it personalized - it really looks nice. The fit seems to be about right - I ordered "horse" for my TB gelding and it fits with some room to spare. Overall, very pleased with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, supple halter I bought the 'chestnut' color and it was very soft and supple right away. Appears to be very solid construction and hopefully will last for a long time! Seems a smidge small starting off, but once everything breaks in, I think the horse size will fit my TB's head perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classy Nice halter. A bit stiff out of the box, but that's not a problem. Custom engraved plate is lovely. Very nice halter, got lots of compliments.The color I got is 'havana' which looks nice on my bay. And regular horse size fit my 16.1 fine Thoroughbred great on the smallest holes.
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad Im so glad i got this Halter its awesome to have his name on it to know its his and for sentimental value
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice halter!! This is an excellent quality halter for the price. I am very happy with this purchase, and will be a repeat buyer when I need another.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Quality Blue is an Appendix and this halter came in like it was custom made for him. I purchased the halter name plate with it. Was going to purchase the black one -but went with Havana after some thought - Blue's coat color with the halter are great - the leather is soft and pliable. Halter looks terrific! I also purchased the breast cancer awareness fly mask and the weatherbeeta detach a neck fly sheet and you can tell he loves it!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beautiful Halter I absolutely love this halter. I have two: one in chestnut and one in havana. Both are gorgeous, well-made, and supple. I've had the chestnut one for 3 years now, and it's held up great! The engraving looks awesome, too.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality but too small I have a 17.3h warmblood for which I ordered the warmblood size halter. It didn't come close to fitting. The halter is very attractive, well made from quality leather, however I had to send it back.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Halter Up to now, every facility where I boarded my horse required halters to remain on during turnout. That requirement, combined with the herd's fondness of routine halter tag games, meant that my boy always wore cheap halters with breakaway crowns for safety. And we went through a lot of those. Now that he's at a facility that turns out without halters, I thought I'd treat him to a nice one. It was between this SmartPak one and a similar one from a competitor, and I'm so glad I chose this one after seeing the competitor's version in person. The brass hardware is sturdy and the leather is beautiful, supple, and lacks the gummy feel of others I looked at. The full-size halter fit my 16h TB right out of the box, with plenty of adjustment options in either direction. And it still looks brand new after hanging on the fence post during daily turnout, for two months, in all kinds of weather.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice halter! It seems to be a good quality halter and fits my gelding really well. I ordered a nameplate for it and like that it was screwed on instead of using rivets. The hardware is nice. It also buckles on each side, which I had not seen before. The leather is thick and stiff, but breaks in easily enough. I would buy another one, but don't think I will need to for a long time.
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous, Supple, High-Quality Halter I just got this halter yesterday in the mail, and I love it. I ordered the cob halter for my Arabian, and it fits perfectly. Really, small-headed horses could wear the cob on the last hole, but I think I'm going to try to get the full for my thoroughbreds. Although I haven't tested the durability, the quality is such that I have absolutely no doubt it will last, especially with care. I love this halter, and I will be ordering three more soon!
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a very nice and durable halter for it's price. It a bit big for my horse, but works....I would buy this product again.
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Love this halter! It looks like a much more expensive halter. I am so pleased with the free engraving from the barn saver. It fits my 16 hh TB/QH perfectly! Thanks for another quality product Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice looking halter, but doesn't hold up I really like the look and feel of this halter. It has really smooth leather and looks good on my horse. I had one for 2 months, when my horse spooked at the wash stall and broke the ring that the lead rope clips to, I called smartpak, and they replaced it for me. I thought that it was a freak accident and he pulled back on it just right. However, I had the second one only a month before he pulled on it again and the new one bent. Just to be clear, I've never had a halter break on this horse before. I would consider this normal wear and tear. I cleaned the halter for the first time after having the second one for 3 months only to find that the leather is stretched out around all of the buckle holes and where it attaches to the metal. The leather still feels supple, and looks nice, but I have a feeling that this halter will not last for years like I expected, but more like a year.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased This halter looks like a higher priced halter for less. I would recommend this great buy to all.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall I really like this halter. I was looking for a replacement for my barn halter and I bought this one based on the other positive reviews. Horse size fits my refined (almost cob size) horse's head well. I was able to get a free name plate as well with the barn shipping option. My only complaint is that "SmartPak" is stamped on the buckles on each side. I bought this halter partly because I thought SmartPak wouldn't be stamped on the buckles.. Wrong. Oh well, otherwise I really like this halter as it's great quality for the price. Can't say much for durability because I've only had it for about a month.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality halter I was pleased with the quality of this halter when it arrived. I ordered the warmblood size and it was barely large enough for my draft cross although other warmblood size halters were a good fit. I expect it will stretch a little with time. A really nice looking halter for the money.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! While my TB gelding has a very small, refined head and this does tend to run a bit on the larger side, it adjusted easily to fit him perfectly! The quality of the leather is excellent, and while it came out of the bag soft and supple, after two oils and one wear, it has already broken in absolutely beautifully. This is a beautiful halter, especially with the added nameplate, and is an exceptional value for the price. I am sure it will serve us well for years to come!
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter, soft leather, but very durable, using it for his everyday halter so hangs on pasture fence rain or sun when he is turned out, has been dragged thru mud, cleans up great!
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    • 2015-03-05T10:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_204
    • loc_en_US, sid_1624, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.