Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap.

Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall. No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans. Black.

Sold individually.
Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Embroidered font is Block.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well Does the job, breaks under panic pressure and is easy to put back together. Quality snaps.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Safety item The Velcro release is such an improvement over the binder twine ties I was using.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price great product Great price, work well!! Wouldn't look elsewhere for them.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feel safe with it I had never heard of these trailer ties until the seller left one for me in the trailer I bought! I was thrilled when I saw it and learned how it worked. I also didn't know they made cross ties until I went on smartpak! Eventually I will order those too. And I will be buying a second trailer tie for the other side of my trailer. It feels good to know that your horse is able to pull away if he needs. I also LOVE the fact that one end of it is a standard snap and the other is a quick release snap. They're both so much easier to use than those stupid bull snaps that require two hands. A little pricey, but worth the piece of mind. No other product like it!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Nice quality, easy to use, safe and liked the fact that tension can be adjusted.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties This product was great and lived up to the price for a pair of cross ties.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tie I like these trailer ties because they're longer than many. I did have a horse break one, the panic snap pulled out of the part connecting it to the strap, but I'd rather have some breakage than have a horse hung up by a tie!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Safety Feature I bought these because I've had horses freak out in my trailer while waiting to show and the old crossties did not release their heads & caused them to become more upset. Since these are supposed to come undone under extra pressure I feel better about trailering. The only negative thing I could say is that they do not shorten as much as traditional trailer ties.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe! I use one of these ties in my trailer with my mare, who can be a bit dodgy about trailering. She's only pulled back and gotten free once (and it was my fault; I asked her to back out of the trailer and hadn't undone the tie /facepalm!) She wasn't traumatized at all and was quite happy to load even after this experience. Much better than a tie she'd have to fight with, and possibly hurt herself.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, functional ties Love these, they look sharp and serve their purpose. I wish it came with a set of spare rings, though. My horse lost his cool the first time he pulled too hard and the tie began to make the velcro ripping noise (I had the velcro adjusted too low and it released too easily) -- then he REALLY pulled. I have since learned to put more tension on the velcro and we haven't had further issues. He stays put, but I know they will release without tearing down the wall and I don't have to look at ratty baling twine.Very glad these have panic snaps and SPRING SNAPS instead of bull snaps -- harder to find this combination.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I use this instead of a lead rope on the picket line camping. Works great and if horse decides to freak out.. no one gets hurt and still have a way to catch the horse. I ordered a second one
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase Very pleased with this purchase. As described and worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great when you need them I have used these ties for a few years. I love the fact that if the horse really pulls back the Velcro lets go and the the cross tie mounting plates are still attached, the horse is fine and there is a short handle to help catch the wayward horse.I have only had to use them a couple of times, but they were a much safer method than the baling twine one I have seen at most stables.
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these ties! I have a horse that is very anxious to get out of the trailer once it's stopped. With these ties, I know that if he pulls back hard, he won't get hurt or break a rope. I still have a small length of tie to hold onto him. Would recommend these for every horse person!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Cross Ties! I really like this product. . . I had used the trailer tie as a general-purpose tie-up around the barn, especially with a particularly fussy gelding, and it was a good product. Now that I have cross tie posts in place, these were the first choice. They don't stretch and pop like bungees, they can be adjusted for various levels of give or not-give, and they last a long time even in the tough New Mexico sunshine.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trailer safe Tie -Safe tie works well for a horse who may set back or be nervous trailering. It is a bit short for my 7 1/2 foot trailer, yet I like the way it releases with no swinging hardware that could injure a horses eye.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Perfect length and safe if horse was to need to breakaway!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are The Best These cross ties are the best. You don't need to worry about your horse setting back and getting hurt or breaking their halter. The velcro holds strongly but will let go if a horse sets back and it lets go at the perfect place so you have a short lead with which to catch the horse. It's a great product and I feel totally safe using these cross ties, I know my horse won't get hurt or break his halter.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems safe and secure The cross ties are very secure, I can't rip the velcro apart, but I can see how a horse struggling could. So, it does not pull apart with light resistance, only when really needed. Plan on getting another set once the ones I currently have wear out.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The ties seemed to have good quality workmanship. The problem is that they release with very little pressure. After securing my horse with the tie, he turned his head and it let go. Then I couldn't find the rubber keeper in the shavings on the floor, so I couldn't use it again. I would not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from durable product I have not had to test the release of this product but they seem reliable and well made.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it, but not advertised great When I read "Cross Ties", I'm thinking I got a set of 2, as you can't really just use 1 cross tie, can you? Unfortunately, I didn't read it close enough or pay attention. What I thought would be a pair, in order to cross tie my horse, was only one, which was useless. I love them, but wish it was more specific
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I like the idea of the velcro release. Affordable price, seem like good quality and adjust well to different lengths. I also like the smaller snap/clip that you attach to the halter, slightly less bulk. Would buy again
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer/cross ties The velcro cross ties are the best! I have used them for years, needed a new pair for a new set of crossties in the barn. I have had horses pull away, they NEVER break, but do come apart with a piece still on the horse to catch him! Excellent product..one of my stable must-haves.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY AND SAFE I like knowing if my horse slips in my trailer that she can get up and not be strangled. Also, it is strong enough to keep them from putting their heads down all the way while traveling.I like it because they can separate the tie and you just put back together and your not having to purchase another.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cross ties in our barn we do not like the bull snaps, these cross ties have the normal snaps, the velcro pull apart is awesome, no one has pulled back to use it yet:-)
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes The Worry Out Of Trailer Training I am working with Leuk, my young Moriesian gelding, on trailer loading. After having a bad trailering experience with another horse, I'm using this tie to help ME overcome MY fear of tying in the trailer. How can I teach Leuk to feel confident if I don't? Whew!! Now I can relax and move on to actually closing the door...
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality All in all, I would highly recommend these cross ties. I love the quality and the hardware is effective and durable. They are quite adjustable, however I do wish they were able to be adjusted a little more. These just barely fit my aisle at the barn.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working out I wrote a review on these when I first got them, but after using them for months I wanted to update my previous opinion. I thought these would be a great safety feature and the perfect thing for my 3-horse slant load trailer. But in reality they have turned out to be a HUGE liability and pain in the neck. I have a 7' tall trailer and 14-15 hand horses. These ties have turned out to be extremely too short for my trailer. The other thing is that I have watched horses try to put their heads down many times, and simply rip the velcro loose. They aren't panicking or pulling back or doing anything naughty. The velcro is just so flimsy and weak that they can rip it loose with barely the flick of a head. I was trailering a horse for a friend - was watching him on the trailer cameras - and I saw him put his head down, then bring his head back up, and the darn tie was ripped loose! I had to pull over, open the window, velcro the thing back together again...get back on the road....horse does it again! He did it 3 times before I had to hook a regular lead rope on him and tie that to the tie ring. So for me, these have been a total waste of money and I am very disappointed. NONE of my horses ever pull back and break stuff, but they are constantly ripping these ties loose without even trying! I just ordered 3 Blocker Tie Rings to hook inside the trailer. I am really worried about metal clanging on metal, but I want something that will release if we get into an accident, and I do NOT trust traditional "quick realease" snaps on trailer ties. I have seen that go bad in a hurry when they won't release, then you're trying to get your hand on the rope of panicking horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great technology, super product My mare has been horrible snapping the cross ties so I invested in a pair of these ties while I retrain her to stand on the cross ties. These are a great quality product, easy to install. And I have confidence that they will stand the test of a busy boarding barn. Thank you SmartPak for providing a great selection of tools to keep my horses safe.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    • 2015-03-01T08:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.