Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Mosquito Halt

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #11540
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from mosquitos and other annoying insects with Mosquito Halt.  Contains two insecticides and two repellents for use on horses for residual control of mosquitoes, gnats, face flies, stable flies, house flies, mites, chiggers, and lice.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels mosquitoes as well as gnats, face flies, stable flies, house flies, mites, chiggers, and lice
  • Active ingredients include Permethrin for quick knock down and residual control
  • Includes sunscreen for protection against harmful UV rays
  • Superior spray bottle is leak proof with an easy to hand, ergonomic design

View Product Label

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mosquito Halt is rated 4.6481 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best spray on the market This is the only spray we have used (in 4 decades) that keeps ALL bugs at bay..even the big B-52s! They will hover over the horses back but not land!
    Date published: 2014-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from name is perfect. We live in south florida, and while we are the sunshine state, we are in the middle of rainy season, LOTS of mosquitoes this year especiallly. When I see those tails swishing I know I need to spray! Stops my draft from stomping, and the others all visibly relax as the bugs leave them alone. Love this stuff!
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well on mosquitos and flies My go-to flyspray, it works for both mosquitos and flies and lasts for at least half a day. None of the other formulas last longer than that in my experience. Doesn't make coats fade in the sun, as I've experienced with some other sprays, including more expensive ones. I have a few Mosquito Halt spraybottles that have been going strong for years, now I just pick up the big refill which lasts me all fly season.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to replace spray bottles! This sale was cheaper than buying the gallon. Spray bottles need to be replaced occasionally. This makes it easier, and cost saving! Thank you!
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I just bought this for my horse. I can't wait to use this when the mosquito's get bad. I only use it when they get bad and to make the bugs go away. I also use the endure bug spray when I'm not using the mosguito halt. It really keeps the bugs off her. I love that it lasts for up to 2 weeks without spraying it on her all the time. I will be buying theses two great products again when I run out. And it's cheaper buying it through smartpak than going to store to get it. And free shipping to the farm is really great to use too. I get all my stuff from smartpak for my horse. She and I are both very very happy!!! U will be too!!
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly spray that actually works This product really keeps the insects off your horse. I tried all the others and just bought a gallon of this at a great price.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Mosquito Halt really protects my horse from the Louisiana Mosquitos and other pests!!! It works!! My Joe turned 20 May 8, 2014!! He deserves to be protected.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used this for years I really like this product and was delighted to find out that SmartPak was offering them in a 4-pack. I'm a bargain shopper, and this is the best deal I've found.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works!! Great product - smells good and works really well in buggy Florida!
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing special The mosquitoes here in TX are the worst I've ever experienced. I was desperately hoping this would work better than my other 3 sprays that I've been rotating through. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to work any better or last any longer. Why can't there be a mosquito spray for horses that works as well as Off does for people!? I know it stinks, but man, the mosquitoes don't come within 10 feet of me!
    Date published: 2013-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product Only horse approved product that works for FL mosquito control
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mosquito Halt works I've been using Mosquito Halt for three "fly seasons" now. Because we use Spaulding Labs Fly Preditors, we don't have a fly issue at my stable, but we still have mosquitos and gnats, and M.H. appears to work very well for repelling the bloodsucking insects. I use the product for my 33 horse boarding and lesson stable. Good product.
    Date published: 2013-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly and mosquito spray! This is a great product and I have been using it since it was first introduced years ago. Here in the mosquito-infested South, I rely on this product daily to HELP protect my horses from disease-spreading mosquitoes. As an equine veterinarian, I also recommend this product by name to clients to HELP protect their own horses. It's a good one! (Be sure to have your horses examined and vaccinated by your veterinarian, though!!)
    Date published: 2013-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray...it doesn't go away with the sweat and it has a very pleasant scent.
    Date published: 2013-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Fly/mosquito Repellant This is the only fly spray I've tried that works on all kinds of insects and lasts. It is the only one I use and my horse is free from bug bite welts.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually works Keeps the bugs at bay long after product has dried, unlike a lot of fly sprays that only work for 5 or so minutes. Has a strong odor when first applied, but within minutes mellows out to a very pleasant scent. We live near a swamp, and after trying many different sprays over the years, this is the only stuff I use now.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from There is no perfect fly spray but ... While all of us know that the perfect fly spray does not exist - Mosquito Halt comes pretty close. My OTTB is sensitive to bug bites and this seems to help him the most. Now that it is becoming warmer, overnight turnout will occur, and I like having the assurance of a mosquito repellent as well.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but doesn't last against texas Mosquitos I've tried so many products to help my horse against the terrible Mosquitos we get in the marshlands of coastal texas, and this one by far has been the best. However, I find that it only really works for the first 20-30 mins, when the smell is still very strong, then my horse is covered in Mosquitos again. We really get awful Mosquitos here, and this is the first product that has really done much to hold them off, even for a short while. I had tried a citronella neck collar too, with no luck at all, but when I spray the neck collar with mosquito halt - jackpot! It keeps my horse mosquito free for almost a full day!
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Performance I expected more than average performance based on the majority of positive reviews. My experience with the product is that flies seem to land right back on the horse not long after spraying. I sprayed my horse during grooming, after saddling up and two times during the ride in the ring. I know that fly sprays are not 100% effective as advertised, but I will not repurchase as I found myself reapplying this product more frequently then with the other ones that I have used.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I purchased it based upon review by Horse Journal. It works on flies and gnats.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff This is the only spray that I've tried (and I've tried many) that will keep flies and biting insects off the horses. The downside of it is that is only works for a few hours and then needs reapplied and it is expensive. But at least it does work.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing to Keep Ticks Off! I have been using this product twice a week from March thru November in New England for 4 years, and none of my 3 horses have had Lyme since (they did previously). I rarely find a tick on them. Many in my area find dozens of ticks on their horses every week. I am exceptionally pleased with the product. It even repels horse flies!
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray! Great fly spray. Works better than most. Nice smell as well.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well No fly spray really does an outstanding job, but this one is pretty good. I bought it as a fly spray, not a mosquito spray, and it works well to repell and hopefully kill the flies. Your best bet is always a good manure disposal plan, however. Unfortunately, our barn does not have one.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Long lasting and smells great! Trigger on bottle holds up well to daily use. Great value!
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tick Repellent I have been using this product for several years, and have found it to be very effective for repelling of flies and ticks.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops Mosquitos + I find this spray to be the most effective one I use. With WNV rampant in Texas, this has been a life saver for us. I living by a lake as well, this works! I think it kills just about every other annoying insect my horses encounter, too!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray This the only fly spray I've found that actually works. With the mild winter last year our fly population was awful this spring, summer and fall. I won't say it provides protection for 2 weeks but it does provide instant relief which lasts for several hours. Any other products I've used, flies reappeared and were biting within minutes.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Spray Works well for all types of biting insects, not just mosquitoes.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked better than other fly sprays This summer, the mosquitoes were a problem for my horse. The usual fly sprays were just not getting the job done and giving him relief from mosquito bites. After reading reviews, I decided to give the Mosquito Halt a try. It definitely did help to repel the bugs initially and gave him more relief but didn't last as long as the product's labeling stated. Still, I'd recommend it, as it worked better than most other insect repellants. The fragrance isn't too bad but be careful to stand clear of the spray vapor when using the product. It is strong!
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    • 2015-03-06T08:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_1540, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.